We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding of the Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Stirling
Kincardine, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding of the Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Golden Lion Hotel was the perfect location for our wedding on 24th August 2013. Steeped in Scottish history, great food, great staff, very warm and inviting with June and Harold in full control making the whole process so easy. Our guests all loved the experience the hotel offered with quick service, attention to detail and general friendliness. The Regency Suite was perfect for our needs, spacious and comfortable with a cracking sized dance floor and a good stage for the band, with very reasonable prices behind the bar too. We can highly recommend the hotel as it certainly did us proud for a beautiful venue with great atmosphere and hospitality.

Room Tip: As we got married here our stay was in the Bridal Sweet, very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    158
    110
    58
    52
See reviews for
75
197
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The service on arrival and throughout my stay was prompt and friendly. The food both for breakfast and dinner was enjoyable. The room was the perfect size for one person and extremely clean. I would stay again and recommend to others visiting Stirling and the local area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was disappointed with the room allocated to me whilst attending a wedding at The Golden Lion. The manager offered me a return stay. We stayed last night and the room allocated was totally average. It stated on the website that all rooms have recently been refurbished I think they should update the website. Bathroom was clean and it looked smart with fresh towels, toiletries minimal. Room was very warm, aircon unit didn't do much and window was old and looked like it might fall out!! Breakfast was average, porridge lumpy watery scrambled egg. I would not recommend this hotel as there are far nicer hotels in the centre of Stirling.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had our wedding reception here on 18th August 2013. June and Harold were fantastic in their organisation and help both with the planning of the day and on the day itself. The food and service for the reception was great and very quick. The bar prices were also very reasonable.

The regency suite is a perfect reception venue - it is a great size and has a good sized dance floor.

For a three star hotel they really excelled themselves with the day and my husband and I will never forget it.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Golden Lion for a wedding venue.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors have been renovated but some of the upper floors are still awaiting being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel was run down condition. The room smelt like boiled vegetables and was extremely noisy - a lot of street noise and a pigeons seemed to be nesting outside the window making a lot of noise in the early morning. Voices from other guests carried through the halls and doors squeaked and slamed throughout the night. On the Saturday there was also a wedding which played loud music all night and this was clearly not considered when allocating my room. WiFi did not work in the room and to use it you needed to sit in the bar.
The location was great and was good to have off street parking.
At £89 per night this was certainly not worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am disappointed to hear of your findings during your recent stay with us, we are currently refurbishing certain areas of the hotel at this time where hopefully you will find a marked improvement should you return in the foreseeable future

WiFI is only advertised in all public areas FREE of charge to guests and not available in bedrooms due to the age and thickness of original parts of the building which dates back to 1786
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We Enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant last night. The menu offered both value for money and an extensive choice of food. Food was delicious and service was excellent. Very impressed with meal we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your knid comments I will pass these on to all concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Having read the reviews, I can't say I wasn't pre-warned. But we were attending a function in the hotel and plus as I've often had much more positive experiences than reviews on here would have lead to expect, we gave it a go anyway.

On arrival we were initially hopefully as the building is very attractive from the front and nicely central. Indeed the bar and reception area were lovely - modernised but still retaining a nice feel for the proud history of the building. The function rooms also looked brilliant and that indeed that part of our trip went off very well. I'd say that functions such as weddings are its main priority, perhaps explaining some of the below.

So that was pretty much the end of the positives. As soon as we stepped into the rickety lift and left the foyer, we knew what we were in for. The corridors to the rooms were just dingy and didn't smell the best. The room itself was just generally shabby. It looked like, other than the odd poor repair job, nothing much had changed for 30 years or so. In its defence, the bathroom had been modernised and was ok. The bed visibly sagged and looked very worn. Such a shame also was that you were left with no feel for the history of the building you were in, it was like a questionable, grim motel room.

Final little positive note is that the staff were polite and friendly enough so no complaints there. The room also, while shabby and not enjoyable, didn't feel actually dirty.

So I'd say if you are attending a function or wedding here, perhaps prepare to be tolerant and stay for convenience's sake. That's what we did. If you aren't, the way in which weddings just take over the hotel and the noise from them won't make you a happy bunny so look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments, we have just commenced refurbishment in those areas this week where hopefully you will mind a marked improvement on your next visit should you return to Stirling
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.