We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on May Bank holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Stirling
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lunch on May Bank holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want to beat the usual haunts and like to sit back in comfort for a cosy lunch then The Golden Lion is the place to go. Friendly waiter service to boot. They also were running a 2 for 1 deal at £11.99 ? which had the usual steakpie , battered fish etc. The main menu was on offer also but you can pay £8 or more for a burger meal. Steak was about £16 -£18.. We opted for the 2 for one menu which was a little disappointing as the portions were small and all came with garden peas which were hard and chips which were a bit too crispy and over cooked. Could do better but sometimes you get what you pay for.. The burger meals etc looked good that other people were getting so maybe try off the main menu the next time..
A relaxing lunch all the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    158
    110
    58
    52
See reviews for
75
197
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel right in the centre of Stirling is great for a weekend away. The castle is only a short walk away and the big shopping centre is right across the road. The rooms vary in size but are all comforatable. The food all weekend was excellent. The function room is spacious though can get a bit warm at times. Would be a lovely location for a wedding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, Bucks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Arrived without a booking in the early evening. I tried to haggle with the receptionist but she wasn't having it. Public rooms and bedroom were stylish and I really wanted to like this hotel but little things niggled. Poor TV reception, luke warm water, the pigeon outside the window who wanted to be friends from 5.30am. Still, the bar staff were chatty.

Room Tip: Avoid the pigeon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed for one night in a really nice single room - larger than standard single bed, very comfy. Nice slanted window and lovely little bathroom. I've knocked half a mark off for a poor shower - not enough pressure and very difficult to get it properly warm! I guess as it's an old building (which adds to it's charm), there are bound to be problems with plumbing and pressure but I still think the shower should have been better. I've also knocked half a mark off for the breakfast, which was fine, but could have been better (both in choice and quality).

Overall very nice and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay , the hotel is warm and inviting and the staff couldn't be more helpful .
The food is great and our bedroom was neat and clean .
We were worried with a wedding on at the hotel we would be in for a disturbed night but we heard nothing all night and slept soundly !
I noticed theres a few bad comments about the buffet breakfast but we found it was really good , choice for everyones taste and appetite!
We are definitely planning to stay here again when we come back to Stirling , see you soon , many thanks .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed for 1 night whilst up in bonny Scotland for work , the room was not very large but all was clean , and most importantly you can get a quiet nights kip here .
I agree with others views about the buffet breakfast , it ought to be better for this quality of hotel , but overall for £60 B&B this was good value .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Location - excelllent for shops and sight seeing. Rooms, spacious clean and modern. My room was located at the rear and was very quiet. The hotel itself has obviously undergone recent redecoration and refit...the appearance is modern classic and very restful...plenty of space in the public area's with nice semi-private conversation nooks.

Food served in the restaurant and in the bar/coffee house was very good quality and plentiful. The breakfast menu was varied, but since both the hot & cold items are served buffet style there the usual issues with freshness and tempreature. I did have an issue with my evening meal on Saturday which although perfectly tastey was a bit on the cool side for my liking, when I mentionned this to the waiting staff they immediately replaced it and appologised

The staff at this hotel are very professional and friendly .......overall I enjoyed my stay and would use this hotel again.

Price wise i though the standard of the rooms, free car park (smallish, but has a good security system), food quality and location were properly reflected in the price I paid.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel don't have much of a view but they are quiet...also ask for a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.