We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grander than I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Stirling
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Grander than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Hidden behind the crumbly exterior, the hotel is sumptuous and comfortable, with open areas on each floor for residents to relax and catch the free wifi. Access is a bit restricted up a few stairs to reception and a big glass door on the right, but the welcome was very warm. I was given my room key and went up in the lift, but upon exiting into aforementioned open area, I turned to the right as I could see a glass door. This is not the right way yo go, but there were no instructions. That led to some conference rooms. Left took you to more stairs and another door and then the rooms. The room was lovely and comfy, and the bathroom well decorated. Breakfast was in a stunning room on the ground floor, actually the formal restaurant. I'd stay again for its location and comfort.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    157
    109
    58
    52
See reviews for
75
196
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The Golden Lion was a short walk from the Station, was a bit worried that it was going to be a pub B&B from the name. The reception and public rooms were very nice, the check in was very quick and there seemed to be plenty of staff, who were all very friendly.

The room itself was small, but there was only one of me so that was OK, the bed was comfy and the en-suite immaculate. There is free WiFi in the public rooms, but this didn't extend into bedrooms so you have to sit in one of the well appointed public areas if you want to use the Internet wirelessly.

The menu was good, the food was lovely, and the prices quite reasonable for a hotel, the food came quickly, although this may have been due to the restaurant being quiet. Breakfast was nice with a standard buffet for full English and continental.

All in all a really nice night, will stay here again when in the area....

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed three nights on a bed/breakfast/evening dinner basis had a very relaxing break lovely room, good food and service excellant value would go back .If the table d` hote menu didn`t tickle your pallette an allowance of £33 per couple was allowed against the A`La Carte menu
plus a free bottle of wine on the first night great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed overnight for an anniversary dinner. Staff were helpful and friendly, rooms acceptable for a 3 star. However the hotel let themselves down badly by their pub menu for the anniversary dinner. Starters, tomato soup, made by liquidising a tin of tomatoes?, even if they had added some herbs that would have been a bit more exciting, or melon (one melon served 16 people by the size of the portions) or pate, which looked very unexciting with fine? it said on the menu, but really very rough oatcakes. Now for the mains, Roast beef which needed a steak knife to cut it and vegetables which were never 'al dente' more like raw. Ordinary knife would not go into them. I noticed that most plates were returned with the vegetables on them. or salmon which did look ok, or mushroom risotto (Not much thought there then, vegetarians can get that anywhere at anytime), And the sweets, more like school dinners, apple pie and custard, apples were tinned puree style, or black forest gateau (went out about 30 years ago)(and don't say it is now in fashion, this hotel wouldn't know fashion if it hit it in the face and finally - wait for it - ice cream !! And this was an anniversary dinner??. The tea/coffe was served in small cups with PLASTIC, no you have not read this wrong, plactic spoons, albeit they were made to look like chrome !! (or silver if you wish). And as for the wine on the table, if the hotel paid any more than £1.99 per bottle, they were done, even although they charged £15.95 to the consumer. Both wines had no information of origin on bottle, the white was vinegary and the red 10 times worse. And I know my wines. Horrible, doesn't even begin to describe it. As I live fairly near this hotel and I dine out often, I was looking forward to the experience to enable me to make a return visit with friends. No way, I won't be back and I won't be recommending it to anyone. But I will pass on everything that was bad.

Room Tip: Only book here if you wish a town centre hotel with good parking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellshill
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for family wedding (not at Hotel) although rooms were of good standard, bar and reception areas are lovely, but how tired are lifts and corridors. It spoils overall feeling of a class hotel, but surely the days of a buffet breakfast unless more attention is paid to refurbishing empty hot plates and removing dried up food can be addressed all in all hotel gave us a good deal on rooms and is a central area of stirling just needs a bit of paint and fresh breakfast food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Feeling tired and weiry, we stepped inside this lovely historical Hotel in the middle of town in Stirling and immediately felt very comfortable. Welcomed by Harold, the Hotel manager (who had directed us to the premises by phone!); nothing was too much trouble for him and his staff. Beautifully decorated Foyer, bar and restaurant, wonderful atmosphere, great for relaxing after a visit to the "old town" and Stirling Castle & the Thistle Shopping centre (large shopping centre with unique shops and Department Stores). Amazing buffet breakfast each day. We had "High Tea" for my birthday dinner whilst there, which was beautifully presented. Dinner in the bar, nice and cosy. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, one staff member told us that she felt like the rest of the staff were her family. We extended our stay twice because of Harold and his team. We decided to base ourselves there and travelled to nearby towns, Edinburgh and attractions by train and bus ( the stations are within walking distace of the Hotel).

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in an executive room. This was much more spacious than the room we were given on our last visit. It was warm and tastefully decorated and furnished. Breakfast was excellent. This hotel is ideally situated for visiting the castle and jail. Bus and railway stations are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.