We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stirling Highland Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Stirling Highland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Stirling
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday this year. An old Scottish Building so quite aged yet classy place.

The restaurant food was excellent - high street restaurant standard and the breakfast was excellent.

Good sized pool with a sauna and steem room available within the price too. Within walking distance of town too.

Great deal, would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    325
    172
    94
    52
See reviews for
105
457
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great hotel although a little cold in parts but this is due to it being an old building with old windows great location for tourist destinatiomns and right next to shopping only 5 mins walk to stirling castle excellent great selection for breakfast anything you could want staff very nice and helpful to

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Second time we've stayed here. Hotel is walking distance to town and castle. Parking free.
Rooms seem to have improved since last visit - bigger and nicer furnishings. Double bed and table/chair area so we were able to sit and have a drink with friends in the room. We got the 5pm BIG deal for DB&B. Good value for a night away. The spa was included too but we didn't get back from the pubs in time to use it!
Dinner was good - be prepared to pay supplements for the steak (£11 extra), cheese platters (£4 extra) etc. But the menu is good enough to chose something without having to pay more if you are watching the pennies. We got good wine starting at £17/bottle. Nice restaurant area - this building is the old school.
Overall - good location, clean, unique place, friendly staff. Its not major luxury, but you get waht you pay for don't you? Fancy upgrade then you can always pay more!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on valentines day,meal was excellent though i thought they may have had a valentines theme on.Staff are very friendly and great service,breakfast was also very good with a varied selection.The room was nice just a bit noisy from the building work outside room 200.The pool was nice,and the location is great for shops, the castle, and things to do in the area. Would recommend to friends and family and visit again ourselves.

Room Tip: Would ask if its possible not to be near the building work outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I can answer my own question...to The Stirling Highland Hotel!

I had a really comfortable 2 days at The Stirling Highland Hotel in Stirling.
My room was comfortable and clean, although not as modern as my colleagues in another part of the hotel (upgraded or recently refurbished??), but being away from home on business, a second trip in as many weeks, I felt comfortable resting my head in a spotless room, on a comfortable clean bed.

The staff here are amongst the best....professional, polite and courteous, with an eye for detail and a consistency which can only be guaranteed in some of the worlds top hotels.
They are an asset to this business and their warmth and friendliness has guaranteed my stay when I am back in Stirling in April.

The bar had a good compliment of drinks and friendly staff.
Breakfast had friendly staff, an excellent cooked breakfast, excellent in flavour and quick in arriving.
The check in and out....a dream, staff that are worth their weight in gold!

Only advice I could offer the owners....hurry up and complet your refurb and fit some brighter lighting in my room until you do....oh yes, pay rises for your staff...they are amongst the best!

Thank you and see you again soon.

Room Tip: Rock up and enjoy...great place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed many times at this Hotel and have always enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The location is ideal and only minutes from the main Stirling shopping centre.
I always like the hearty breakfast in the morning. I would not hesitate to recommend visiting this unique hotel which was formerly an old school that has managed to retain some of the original features.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned yesterday from an overnight stay at the Stirling Highland Hotel. I booked 4 rooms through 5pm as a surprise for my daughter's 30th birthday. Perfect location. Hotel had booked our rooms all together and opened adjoining doors to rooms so we could mingle quite freely with our friends. They provided complimentary sparkling wine and chocolates for my daughter which was a lovely thought. The rooms were very comfortable and dinner exceeded my expectations for the price we paid. The food choice was wonderful and beautifully presented and, again, they served a complimentary glass of bubbly to the birthday girl!! All staff, without exception, were very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. On hindsight, we should have prebooked treatments in the spa as they were fully booked over the time of our stay. We also had the pleasure of being taken up to the roof to the 150 year old Observatory complete with telescope but, unfortunately, it was quite cloudy and we could not see the moon as hoped. I would definitely go back to the hotel and could thoroughly recommend a visit here for any occasion

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Address: Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stirling Highland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.