We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanstastic stay, amazing host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravenswood Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ravenswood Guest House to your Saves list
Ravenswood Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   94 Causewayhead Road, Stirling FK9 5HJ, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double / twin from �45
Ranked #4 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fanstastic stay, amazing host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Criteria:
• Facilities: Good, free range of dvds and magazines/books. Also a dining room to sit in if you didn’t want to sit in your room. Free carparking at the front of the property (however, spaces are limited)
• Bathroom: Good, very clean and we were lucky enough to have a bath tub in ours
• Room: A large, comfortable room with a TV
• Breakfast: Very good, Stuart takes your breakfast order the night before so you have plenty of choice and a freshly cooked breakfast
• Internet: Free wifi which worked well
• Location: Ok – would have been a bit hard without a car, but buses are readily available at the front door. However, there aren’t many restaurants or pubs within close walking distance
• Cleanliness: Excellent
• Service: Excellent – Stuart was such a welcoming host and would do anything to ensure his guest’s comfort.
• Security: Very good
Summary: This is excellent value for money. For 50 pounds a night you cannot beat this. Also, Stuart was the perfect host for a B&B – was happy enough to give you your space, but once we discovered similar interests he loved to have a chat. He was more than happy for us to use his printer to print our flight boarding passes which was very kind of him and greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello Jess H
Wow, what can I say, apart from many thanks for the fantastic comprehensive review and rating.
I'm really glad you enjoyed staying here and I hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
111
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this lovely well located B&B to anyone, the owner has vast local knowledge & is extremely polite. Having never stayed in a B&B before, usually hotels I will gladly use Ravenswood Guest House without a doubt, top marks from me..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello Bdl1980
Thank you for the great review and rating. Hope to see you both again soon.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed for one night during a weekend trip to Stirling. Found the location of the guest house to be ideal, very easy to find even if you don't know the town and has free parking available to guests.
Stuart is extremely friendly and welcoming, and was very helpful providing taxi numbers, a map of the town and recommendations on places to eat and drink.
There is free WiFi in the rooms which was a real bonus, you don't always get this even in big hotels. The information in the room also said that use of a drying room was available for guests who'd been out walking etc. and had wet gear - although we didn't need it on this occasion it's something we'll remember for future trips.
Our room and en-suite were very clean, with nice fresh linen and towels. We found the bed to be extremely comfortable, the mattress was so comfy we even asked where he'd bought it from!
The breakfast was lovely with a good selection of fruit / cereal / yoghurt etc available in addition to a hot breakfast cooked to order. Quality of the food was great, couldn't fault it.
We only stayed for one night but would have happily stayed longer and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello Macr46, many thanks for the brilliant review on Trip Advisor.
I have just replaced all the mattresses in the rooms and they are definitely a hit with my guests, getting lots of comments about how comfortable they are.
The house has superfast broadband and its good to see you appreciated the free Wi-Fi.
I hope you can stay again in the future, it was really nice meeting you both.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great B & B in Stirling. Only a few minutes from town center and the William Wallace Monument. Stuart the owner couldn't have been more helpful. Serves a plentiful breakfast and the rooms are great. Can't wait for a return visit. Thanks for everything Stuart.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello TD1122, thank you for staying here and for completing a great review / rating of my guest house, hope you are enjoying being back home in Florida.
it would be great to meet you both again and I hope you can stay in the future.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Ravenswood Guest House on a couple of different occasions now and always find it to be very clean and comfortable. Stuart the owner is always very friendly and welcoming and the room we stayed in is well appointed with a very nice en-suite bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities etc. The bed is extreemely comfortable and it is quiet at night which always ensures a great nights sleep before a very good breakfast with a great selection of cooked or continental breakfast, my wife is vegetarian and is always well catered for at breakfast also.

A very pleasant place to stay of reliabley good quality with a friendly welcome, we'll be back again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello Andrew M, it was great to see you both again, always good when guests return for another stay.
I have just upgraded all the mattresses and everyone is commenting how comfortable they are to sleep on.
Glad you both enjoyed the breakfast choice and I hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I spent 1 night at Ravenswood Guesr House.
On arrival I was welcomed by Stuart, the welcome is friendly and welcoming.
I was then shown to my room room 2 a twin on the first floor.
The room is clean and cosy with nice furniture and a comfortable single bed with good bedding which made for a good nights sleep.
Tv with a good selection of channels and fast wifi.
Tea and coffee with caramel wafers is provided.
The bath room was next to the room a good warm shower with nice soft towels and toiletries provided.
Breakfast in the morning is fantastic you have a good choice from continental to cooked.
I had posh porridge and the vegetarian breakfast with toast, tea and orange juice delicious.
There is a fridge on the landing and books to read and dvds to watch.
Stuart has a cracking guest house nothing but postiive comments.

Room Tip: All rooms would be to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Cheers saltire_10, what a great review and rating you have given me and guest house, really appreciate this.
Always good to hear you found the room comfortable and had great nights sleep.
The posh porridge is a popular choice and glad you enjoyed it as well.
I hope the rest of your holiday went well and hope to see you again in Stirling soon.
Thanks
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Friendly relaxed short visit. Room was exceptionally clean with all the essentials for a comfortable stay. And even your own free Wi Fi in your room being a techy I appreciated that. Plenty to eat for breakfast and great choices. Would have no hesitation recommending Ravenswood to anyone and I'd go back anytime. Only minutes from Stirling Castle and the town centre and back on to the motorway. Very friendly host which is the welcome you want when you visit any B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hello neales2014, cheers for the great review / rating of my guest house, much appreciated. Really glad you liked the superfast Wi-Fi and found the rooms clean and comfortable.
I hope you can all stay again in the future, as always great to meet really nice people.
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravenswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenswood Guest House

Address: 94 Causewayhead Road, Stirling FK9 5HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenswood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stuart Wilson extends a warm, friendly welcome to all guests, whether you are in Stirling for business or pleasure. Ravenswood is a Victorian House which has been modernised and now offers bed and breakfast in comfortable surroundings. The Guest House is located close to the city centre/train station (5 minute car/bus journey or 15 / 20 minute walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Ravenswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenswood Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravenswood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.