We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch time meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shipley Bridge

Shipley Bridge
Shipley Bridge | Burstow, Horley RH6 9TE, England
01293 734 429
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 152 Restaurants in Horley
Price range: $31 - $42
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“lunch time meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

suggested by a friend who had recently been to eat here. Varied menu and reasonable price. My friend had Fish and Chips and I had a 'fish finger' sandwich which was yummy and reminded me of my childhood.
We both had the 'millionaire shortbread' pudding it sounded yummy and was described by the waitress that it was served in a tall glass - well what a disappointment - a bowl of cream with a few bit of dried type apple and crumbled flake. The bowl was warm so the cream melted, tasted ok but not what we expected.
Service and waitress was good although we had to wait for our pudding but the waitress did explain that the kitchen was very busy and we would be served asap.
I would recommend this pub - good basic pub food and pleasant staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    44
    19
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We had a great meal there last night, an extensive menu well delivered with good service. £95 for 4 people with starters and drinks

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Pub Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

A little noisy near gatwick if you are outside but the food was great and staff friendly. The burgers my colleagues and I had were served quickly, hot and tasty. The bun was lightly toasted and chips chunky. I will certainly be heading back for another Friday lunchtime meal with the work team.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Shipley Bridge, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear inrepose

Many thanks for your recent review. Your feedback has been passed onto the Management team for further review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many Thanks

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Take ID if you look under the age of 25 !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Until we sat and down and the waiter asked us for our drinks order - to go with our meals - we were totally unaware that this restaurant operates a 'Challenge 25' policy.

We had dined here many times before on our own and with friends the same age as us or older. We are 60.

With our recent visit, we were with 2 friends the same age as us and their 30 year old daughter (she is an airline pilot).

Our friends' daughter asked for a small glass of white wine. The waiter asked her for ID as he didn't think that she looked 25 or over. She didn't want to cause a fuss so she ordered a glass of water instead.

So beware....take ID with you if you think there may be a quibble over your age!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Shipley Bridge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear The_Bajan_Bears

Mnay thanks for your recent review. Your feedback regarding our 'Challenge 25' policy was of concern to hear. I have passed this onto the Management team so that they can address your concerns & take appropriate action. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Shipley Bridge & thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Many Thanks

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Great Chef and Brewer experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We almost consider the Chef and Brewer at Shipley Bridge to be our local (even though it is nearly 4 miles away) - we love the atmosphere, excellent service and great quality and good value food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Shipley Bridge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Sue0513

Many thanks for your recent review. Your feedback was pleasing to hear and I am glad you enjoy your visits to the Shipley Bridge. I have passed your feedback onto the Management team for further investigation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many Thanks

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipley Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Shipley Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipley Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.