We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gatwick Cambridge Hotel to your Saves list
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Horley
cheshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We recently stayed over night at the Cambridge hotel and left our car there for 3 weeks. The room was very good with a lovely en suite bathroom. Very good prices available if you book directly with the hotel Everything was clean and well presented. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Everything was very well organised from the booking in, when you arrange your transfer to and collection from the airport, to the collection of the car on returning. We ate at the restaurant and that was a very enjoyable experience. The surroundings were pleasant and the staff both helpful and knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and would recommend eating there. The set menu was very good value and gave a good selection. The a la carte menu had some interesting dishes, would really recommend the mezzes starter if you like Turkish food. The trips to and from the airport were both quick and efficient and the driver really helpful. Would stay here again and would recommend this as an ideal stop over and parking venue for an overseas trip from Gatwick.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Glynis2 - Cheshire. Thank you for taking the time to write such a full and positive review on our Hotel and are pleased you had a pleasurable experience with us. It is good to see we are getting things right at 100%. We value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on service and standards where possible. If you travel again from Gatwick and choose us, please phone direct as we offer a loyalty discount to our regular guests. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    198
    112
    80
    103
See reviews for
131
354
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thetford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We regularly stay at the Cambridge Hotel when flying from Gatwick. The stay and park rates are reasonable, rooms are comfortable and staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is a bit pricey but there is a Harvester just down the road.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Public Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Martinigirl-Thetford. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, it is good to hear when we are getting things right. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on standards and service where possible. The prices in the restaurant are higher than some larger food chains locally. However that does reflect in the service, standard and fresh produce used. Ther is also the Six Bells locally, Second Oldest Pub (restaurant) in the UK. Another experience altogether. If you fly from Gatwick again and choose us, please call direct as we offer a loyalty discount to regular guests. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I needed to stay over either side of a holiday and leave my car in between and after looking at loads of hotels near Gatwick I luckily decided to go with this one. I paid around £125 for 2 nights stay and left my car for 8 days and I thought this was a good deal. The staff were very kind when we arrived back from our holiday at around 6am ( hours before check in time ). They let us have a family room straight away when it was originally booked as a double with no extra charge or early check in charge.
I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Hwarm815-Huddersfield. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our Hotel. It is good to hear we are getting it right. We value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on our service and standard where possible. If you travel from Gatwick again and choose to stay with us, please call direct and we will ensure that returning guests get a loyalty discount. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a brilliant stay after our hotel, we have stayed there many times before and had excellent service. we were picked up on time,the bedrooms are wonderful, lots of tea/coffee available, a surpise vouchure for a full English breakfast.
Many thanks

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Public Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Michael-Swindon. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our Hotel. It is good to see we are getting things right. We value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on our service and standards where possible. If you travel from Gatwick again and choose to stay with us, please book direct as we give a loyalty discount to our guests. We look forward to a familiar face again soon! Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our third visit to this hotel and it still is very good. Bedroom and bathroom are clean modern and roomy. We had an evening meal from the al-a-carte menu which was very good. Downside for me was breakfast. We were not given any choice and I was given a full English fry, which looked good, but I don't eat them. There was no one else in the room so it would not have been to difficult to ask what we would prefer. If you are looking for a room only and parking before a flight I would recommend this hotel. Just don't pay for a breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Silverbirch-Swindon Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. It is always good to know when we are getting things right. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on our service and standards where possible. With regards to breakfast we are proposing to introduce breakfast cards so guests are aware of the menu choices and if you would like to substitute any item, please ask the waiter on arrival, we would be happy to accommodate you with your choice. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Arrived quite late to stay over before an early morning flight. On my own so had a small single attic room; décor dated but clean and slept well. Didn't use dining room. Transfer to the airport at 5am the next morning was smooth and quick. Only downside was on my return to Gatwick and trying to contact the hotel for pick-up. Spent 20 min trying to call only for the phone to ring constantly and not be answered. In the end I got a lift back to the hotel with someone else I'd travelled with in order to collect my car. Would a minibus have turned up if I'd waited? I'll never know... Due to the time it took to get back to my car on the return I won't be using this service again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Jennifer-Swindon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on standards and service where possible. It is good to see you had a pleasant experience with us. We have had renovations carried out at our hotel recently and on the day of your return the phones were down for about half hour. However, on your return slip there are two numbers to call and the sister hotel were operating the same shuttle and your pick up would have been arranged immediately. It normally takes anything from 10 to 20 minutes for this service. We apologise for the inconvenience on that day. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant hotel, easily found. We were in the basement, but as we were only there for one night in winter, this was no problem. The restaurant was excellent, my only criticism is the t.v being on, which spoilt the atmosphere in an otherwise smart restaurant . The car was well looked after. Would stay again

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Jillieb-Wombourne. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased you felt you had a positive stay with us. We do value our customers and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on service and standard where possible. I have been looking in to have light music in the hotel and reception area, to create a better ambiance. Many guests like the TV for news updates in the morning for breakfast. However, I am looking to change the system for the evening, to again just pleasant music. If you travel with us again. Please call direct as we give a loyal discount. And indicate your room preference to us. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gatwick Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Address: 19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick Cambridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel is a Grade II listed characteristic hotel located near Gatwick Airport, built in 1858 By grand Prince George, with many Victorian features beautifully restored. We also offer bed and breakfast facilities with on-site Gatwick Airport parking at an excellent value. The hotel offers 24-hour transfers to and from Gatwick Airport the return cost is £2.50 per person. The hotel hosts highly acclaimed Kemal at the Cambridge Restaurant, which serves some of the finest Continental and Mediterranean cuisine at its best. Bookings are now being taken for the 2012 OLYMPICS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gatwick Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick Cambridge Horley
Hotel Gatwick Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.