We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambers Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambers Guest House to your Saves list
Ambers Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Vicarage Lane, Horley RH6 8AR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We ended up staying at the Ambers a extra few nights, staff could not be more accommodating. Totally surprised at how good the service was especially as we had to stay longer than expected, very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts are excellent. The ambers is as good as any hotel we have stayed at –excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddycharlie, Owner at Ambers Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We know this is long overdue but thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your kind review of The Ambers Gatwick. We always try our very best to give good service and value for money and really appreciate your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    33
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
66
89
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

collected from airport 11am - room very clean - Recomended best restrurants in town - Next morning good breakfast plenty variety- dropped back to airport 9.30am £70.00 all inclusive good value will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddycharlie, Owner at Ambers Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We know this is long overdue but thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your kind review of The Ambers Gatwick. We always try our very best to give good service and value for money and really appreciate your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent guesthouse. Host very helpful . Location very good. Near to airport with a number of good pubs nearby. Wasn`t that impressed with the breakfast , some items cold and they forgot ny request for eggs. Overall a good stay in a very good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the ambers while down for a friends Wedding, we wanted to keep our short stay as stress free and enjoyable as possible and were totally blown away by the Ambers and how nice it was for what we paid!! Our room was so lovely and clean and the fact we had a full hearty breakfast included was a great bonus. We had such a fantastic long weekend staying in Surrey and staying at the Ambers definitely contributed to making are trip away an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddycharlie, Owner at Ambers Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We know this is long overdue but thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your kind review of The Ambers Gatwick. We always try our very best to give good service and value for money and really appreciate your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Perfect way to end such a great trip over in the UK! Stayed at The Ambers for a few nights before flying back home to Sydney, perfect location as so close to the airport and local town. Service was amazing for our whole stay with transport to the airport being a definite bonus and stress free way to end our holiday. Rooms were great value for money compared to other places we had stayed at while over in England..so we were very pleasantly surprised! Could definitely have stayed a few extra nights!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddycharlie, Manager at Ambers Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We know this is long overdue but thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your kind review of The Ambers Gatwick. We always try our very best to give good service and value for money and really appreciate your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here overnight en route to Mexico and found the owner, Clive and his establishment fully met our needs. The requested cot for our grandchild was in place and the rooms were very clean and well decorated. Breakfast was comprehensive with eggs cooked to order to augment the buffet. Plenty of choice and good quality fare. The airport transfer arrangements worked extremely well and the local taxi and eatery recommended by Clive were also ideal for our needs. We would certainly stay here again and have already recommended Ambers to friends.

Room Tip: We were at the rear upstairs and our daughter front of house downstairs and there was no noise distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddycharlie, Owner at Ambers Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We know this is long overdue but thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your kind review of The Ambers Gatwick. We always try our very best to give good service and value for money and really appreciate your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Hotel is about a 30 minuted train ride from London. We walked from the Horley train station to the Ambers Guest House which took about 15 minutes. We had to check in late and Clive went above and beyond to make sure that we were able to check in easily and efficently after their front desk closed. He made arrangements for us to have a taxi to the airport the next morning and stopped by the room an hour before our departure to invite us down to breakfast. There we met Bob, he reminded me of someones fun loving easy going uncle. He was cooking the food that morning and made us eggs and had prepaired beans, ham, tomatoes, potatoes, and a few other options. Him and Clive we fun and high spirited. Great guys, we will stay with Ambers in the future. Clive said he would be happy to give us suggestions and an adgenda for our next stay if we'd like. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambers Guest House

Address: 7 Vicarage Lane, Horley RH6 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambers Guest House Gatwick is ideally located just 8 minutes' drive from London Gatwick airport, in the town of Horley. Central London is just 30 minutes away on the Gatwick Express or 45 minutes by commuter train from Horley.Although The Ambers Guest House is very close to Gatwick Airport, it is not under the flight path therefore aircraft noise is not a problem as the guest house is situated on a quiet side road.The guest house is situated near the centre of Horley with 15 guest rooms ranging from single, twin, double and family rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms.The guest house has recently been refurbished to an extremely high standard, and offers all the facilities you would expect including tea & coffee making facilities, confectioneries and colour televisions in all rooms. Free wi-fi connection is available. Ironing board, hair-dryers, cots and many other services are available on request. We pride ourselves on offering you a warm welcome, be it for one night or longer, and on making sure your stay with us is stress-free. A free full English breakfast (between 7.30-9.30Am/8-9.30Am at weekends) or a Continental breakfast for early departures are included in the price. The Ambers also provides free priority airport transfers to and from Gatwick Airport or Horley mainline BR station for your convenience. This complimentary guest service is available between 9am - 10.45Am and 4pm - 6.45Pm, by prior arrangement.When booking, please advise us of your arrival time and, if you are checking-in after 7pm, please telephone for our late check-in procedure before the day of your arrival - many thanks.The Ambers Guest House can also accommodate parking on-site for when you are away, at very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ambers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambers Guest House Hotel Horley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambers Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.