We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazzzing time hospitality done right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gable End Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gable End Guest House to your Saves list
Gable End Guest House
23 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ajax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazzzing time hospitality done right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Hey everyone, my family and i stayed here in october 2013 for a few days and absolutely loved it. From the minute we entered we were greeted by Mary, she greeted us with hugs and offered us tea as we were waiting for our rooms. If angels exist on this planet then this is one of them. The guest house was sooo clean, the decor was so modern and fresh, our room was spacious, big bay windows overlooking the street, nice clean shower. The breakfast was delicious. Mary even offered to drop us off at the train station as we were going into central london for sightseeing. I defintely recommend eating at the pub they suggest, it was so authentic and english just as pubs should be, they had an amazing assortment of pies so defo check it out....its a short walk away...i look forward to my return and can't wait to meet Mary and Joseph again...thanks xxxx Pam, Toronto

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Pamela thank you so much for your great review. It was lovely to meet you too and we look forward to your next visit which we hope will be soon !

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    53
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
150
268
88
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Clean, comfortable, reasonable sized room, very friendly and helpful owners, Couldn't fault Breakfast, Good value, 5 mins from terminal. Really good Pub/Reastaurant within 5 min walk. Will stay again
Not much more to say really

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you back at Gable End soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on New Years night and Mary and Joseph were very helpful and made a fuss of my four year old gruff. They gave us a welcome drink for new year and pop and crisps for gruff which was a really nice touch. They were full of local knowledge regarding eateries and gave us a great breakfast before we left.
I'll definitely be booking there again. Thanks again for a great start to the holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
It was lovely to meet you all and a pleasure to have you to stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Booked to stay here on the 23rd of December before flying out yo Mexico for Christmas, this was after finding this place on trip advisor.
I emailed the bed and breakfast and we agreed a rate for stay and parking, this also included joe the owner driving us to the airport and picking us up.
The bed and breakfast was really well maintenend and was really good. We were setting off to early to have the cooked breakfast but all the continental breakfasts stuff was there which was good before the flight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and hope you had an amazing holiday in Mexico.
We look forward to seeing you again soon we hope.

Kind regards
Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed at the Gable End Guest House back in November after my boyfriend needed emergency surgery and we had to cancel our holiday. This was just what I needed! Mary was an amazing host.
Homely rooms and awesome breakfast! Thank you again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Susan, lovely to hear from you and we hope that all is ok now. We also thank you for your lovely review and we hope that we will see you back again with us again and you take that holiday !!

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Once again my wife & I had a perfect stay at Gable End, being picked up by Joseph from Gatwick Airport very promptly, and then taken back the following morning for our onward flight. The room was good and comfortable. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Mike, thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you back again with us soon.

Wishing you a wonderful Christmas.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Six of us stayed pre our flight out to Toulon to watch Exeter Chiefs play Toulon in the Heineken cup. What a wonderful start to a fantastic weekend! Thank you Mary and Joseph for your superb hospitality, suggesting a great place to eat (Ye Old Six Bells), organising transfers to and from the airport and generally making us feel so welcome. The whole party agreed that Gable End is a must when flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review - we were delighted to meet you all and it was a pleasure to have you all to stay.

Hope to see you in 2014.

Happy Christmas !

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gable End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Guest House

Address: 23 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatwick Gable End Guest House is a beautiful Edwardian House that was originally opened for business in March 1995. Mary, Joseph and their girls acquired the business in August 2000 and offer a warm Irish welcome to their family run guesthouse, only five minutes from Gatwick airport.We provide courtesy transfers from 7am to 9pm, outside these hours a taxi will cost approximately £5.We have free Wi-Fi access which is for use with your own laptop throughout the house.We are a completely NON SMOKING guest house. All our rooms are ensuite with tea/coffee making faclities; TV, hairdryer and iron are available on request. We serve a hearty English / vegetarian cooked breakfast from 7.30am to 9am. Outside these hours we serve a substantial continental breakfast of cereals, juices, fresh fruits, yogurts, toast and tea or coffee.We offer car parking for Gatwick airport for our guests and also non guests at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gable End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable End Guest House Hotel Horley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gable End Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.