We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasenst surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springwood Guest House Gatwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Springwood Guest House Gatwick to your Saves list
Springwood Guest House Gatwick
58 Massetts Road | Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Home made cake
Ranked #5 of 29 Horley B&B and Inns
essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“pleasenst surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

what a pleasent surprise, an over nights stay before an early morning flight,rooms very nice and clean,came down to breakfast to this very retro dinning room,real china cups,how lovely it was not to have a mug in sight,then they take you to the airport for £5, that was for 2,and ithe airport is 5 mins away, would use this hotel again and recommend it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    76
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
75
138
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Landlady picked me up from Horley BR and took me to Gatwick the next morning to catch my flight on holiday. What a great service! The room was very nice and good value and I will recommend the Springwood to anyone who wants a comfortable bed before or after returning from a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here on 10th dec we stayed in the family room it was fantastic, so roomy for all of us, sue was wonderful, the Art Deco was brilliant my daughter loved it, nothing was to much trouble for sue, breakfast was plentiful there was lots on offer, thankyou for a fantastic stay see you next year
Our car was looked after for the 3 weeks we left it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrived at Springwood and had excellent service at check in. We were shown to our room (no. 12) and were pleased with what we had booked. The room has been recently refurbished and was modern and bright. The inside of the bathroom door had a thick layer of dust on it and sone of the bathroom was badly finished. ie tiles cut short, window surrounds not finshed.
We had a good night sleep but found the room very cold and ended up putting on the extra duvet which is supplied in the cupboard for a bed/settee for when the room is let to families.
We hadan early flight the next day so did not sample the breakfast service.
On return we arrived early morning and was alarmed to find that our car keys were not in the safe box placed outside the front door! We rang and was shocked when the proprietor after being told this, asked 'have you looked inside?' After looking in the hotel for about 10mins she emerged with our keys and an apology.
We felt that this was not the best experience we have had using a hotel of this type in this area..... There are better

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location, so close to gatwick airport. Reasonably priced. Transfer worked perfectly to airport and back. However, the attic room was awful. Unfortunately, as there was a new roof going up it was so noisy, like sleeping in a tent! Very dark and basic. It shouldn't of been let to guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Useful stop over before and after departing the UK. We arrived quite late, but had no trouble finding keys for room and instructions etc. Sue had been very helpful prior to our arrival and communicated well.

We stayed at Springwood in September before our flight to Antigua. The room was comfortable, we opted for the larger ground floor room (NO12, i think) recently renovated, clean & tidy. We had good nights sleep before checking out after a quick bite of breakfast.
Sue was ready to take us to the airport, and on our return we made a quick call to Springwood by time we had walked to the pickup/drop off point she pulled up to take us back to collect our car.

The local guest houses are by far the best way to stay close by Heathrow and park your car. There are so many in the local neighbourhood to choose from and all seem to provide a similar service.

For me the Art Deco was over done but that is purley a personnel thing. Other than that great price and service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Another great stay at Springwood. We arrived after 20:00 but found it easy to pick up our keys in the green box. The room was clean and comfortable. The transfer to the airport in the morning was lovely. Sue seemed genuinely happy to be giving us a lift. This will continue to be our pre holiday stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springwood Guest House Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwood Guest House Gatwick

Address: 58 Massetts Road | Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Art Deco themed accommodation 1.7 Miles from Gatwick with affordable holiday parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Springwood Guest House Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springwood Guest House Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.