We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to be the worst Gatwick airport hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gatwick White House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gatwick White House Hotel to your Saves list
Gatwick White House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 - 52 Church Rd, Horley RH6 7EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Horley
Cranfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Got to be the worst Gatwick airport hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Unfriendly, rooms scruffy, mouldy shower cubicles, smelly pillowcases, flavourless breakfast, surly staff1
There is nothing good about here-stayhere at your own risk. Absolutely awful and nothing would make me or my family and friends saty here again,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    35
    39
    35
    149
See reviews for
44
88
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

By far the worst place I have ever stayed. Dirty smelly and actually was afraid to go to sleep. Put my suitcases against the door. Bathroom was dirty and really outdated. Please stay somewhere else. Struggled to take our suitcases up the dark and smelly while their staff watched me do two runs. Thanks by the way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for one night as a last minute booking before flying to Dominican republic in April. After appearing at the hotel around 7/8am we were told we couldnt check in until after 11 - we were exhausted after having to travel from scotland. We put our luggage into the "luggage area" which was a little passage way in front of a cupboard! we went into horley town for food and a wander to kill time. When arriving back at the hotel around 12.30 1 ish, our room still was not ready. When they finally got round to checking us in they could not find the booking although i had a copy of our booking handy. The room, was basic, with a wash basin in the room and a toilet and shower in what could only be described as a cupboard. The was covered on mildew. To top everything off, where our room was, there was building work going on out side so we had absolutely no opportunity for an afternoon nap. We were like zombies!
The continental breakfast was very basic, nothing worth talking about. we did pay £7.50 for the breakfast.
We also paid around £6 for an airport transfer put on by the hotel, which i cant complain about as he drove his own vehicle and had us there in plenty of time.

Room Tip: Please choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there because we had an early flight.. Very basic but was clean and there was a double bed plus a single.. Tea coffee plus a flat screen tv.. There is a restuarant but we didn't use also there's a bar too.. Very cheap at only £40 a night plus for only an extra £6 there's a mini bus that takes you right to the airport which runs every 30 mins..The staff very polite.. Lovely couple of pubs
about 5 minute walk which do cheap meals and a pint.. Will defiantly use again..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked a superior twin room and got what appeared to be a store room for old beds out the back of the 'hotel'. The room was damp, curtains hanging off, holes in carpet. There was 3 mis-matched single beds and another single mattress (shoved down the side of one of the beds) in the room, all beds looked like they came from the tip and felt like it too!! Breakfast was supposed to be a full English but consisted of 1 slice of bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg and some beans, all of which were obviously the cheapest any supermarket would sell. Then top off our stay we've now been charged twice for the room!! Avoid this place at all costs, I wish I'd read the reviews on here before booking!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Old, poorly maintained rooms but if you are here for a short time between flights then you will be hard pressed to find anywhere cheaper or closer to the airport. For anything longer than a few hours I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Checked in with a friendly reception person. Got to room, telephone line was dead, and alarm clock radio was not working. Layed on the bed and about 10 min later noticed a bed bug on my shirt. Checked the pillow and there were many more. Avoid this place as the risk for infestation is too high!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gatwick White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick White House Hotel

Address: 50 - 52 Church Rd, Horley RH6 7EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gatwick White House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gatwick White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick White Hotel
Hotel Gatwick White

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatwick White House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.