We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now trading as Mali Thai” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Nights

Saigon Nights
167 Victoria Road | RH6 7AR, Horley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 150 Restaurants in Horley
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Horley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Now trading as Mali Thai”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We didn't get to try the food as we waited several minutes to get any attention on entering despite having phoned to book. The bar area had several single men sitting around waiting for takeaway or perhaps other menu options.
A woman appeared in a jogging outfit and pointed us to a seat. Only one other poor couple eating on a Friday night. The said server left us with menus and disappeared. After about 10 to 12 minutes we left.
My impression (IMHO) was that it is a knocking shop with a takeaway attached.

They claim to be under new management but nothing has changed. The van parked outside had "_aigon Nights". Just the "S" rubbed off. Shows about the level of interest by the supposed new owner.

A shame as we were looking forward to eating there, perhaps we went on the wrong night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horley,Surrey,UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small, pleasant and friendly,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've only been to this restaurant once but was welcomed like an old friend, the food was good as was the service. Not very busy, but I suspect that is because of the location, it's a bit tucked away unfortunately, just outside the town centre. Needs word of mouth recommendations. I will go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We ate lunch there and although we were the only ones in the place the food was delicious. Large portions of traditional Thai food. Very inexpensive. Definitely worth the walk away from the town center.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
1 review
“Worst Thai food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just moved to the area having returned from Thailand. This was without doubt the worst dining experince I have ever had.
The food was diabolical and expensive, the service was awful ( when ordering, the waitress interrupted my wife and told her "just give me the numbers, not the names!" )

There was no atmosphere as the restaurant was unsuprisingly empty apart from two other people.

Sticky rice was served up still in its plastic boil in the bag wrapper for us to open ourselves. (unless this is how they serve it in Vietnam as they certainly don't in Thailand) The waitress spilt drinks over the table and found that funny. It was getting to the point of amusement before we left for to pick up a takeaway...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great food, all very fresh and attentive service, shame it is not a bit busier as it can lack the 'dining experience' atmosphere. Fairly priced for the quality of the food

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Nights also viewed

 

Been to Saigon Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Nights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.