We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart room, comfortable bed, helpful staff, minor maintenance glitches & lousy Apcoa parking pay&display machine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 OBE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Horley
Holt
1 review
“Smart room, comfortable bed, helpful staff, minor maintenance glitches & lousy Apcoa parking pay&display machine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Advance booking made our stay very good value considering the convenience of the location for access to the airport, and the sleeping comfort. A loose toilet seat and slow shower waste were the only items upon which one could mark down Travelodge. Apcoa are responsible for the frustrating pay & display machine in the car park where one has to shine a torch on the ill lit shiny keypad & instructions to enter reg number and wait an age for it to process a debit card payment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    330
    306
    98
    35
    29
See reviews for
206
286
124
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I booked this particular travelodge as we were leaving from North terminal at 6am. So I booked another day for the long stay car park, expecting to get the shuttle bus to the Travelodge in the evening and then be able to walk to the North Terminal at 4am.

Wrong. Despite the title, this Travelodge IS NOT CENTRAL to Gatwick Airport. It is not within the perimeter of the airport, it is north of the North Terminal, and even further north of the South Terminal, and over a mile to walk there, no pavements, etc. The other Travelodge is definitely wrong, but this one is way out.

You then need to get a bus for £3 each person to the terminals. Useless, so we kept the car with us, had to pay APCOA a further £7.70 for the next 6 hours as well.

Well and truly stuffed.

On the plus side, the staff were good as always.
The room was ok, had air con as it is poorly ventilated. We booked 2 singles, but got a double a poor quality sofa for a second single.

The bathroom needs a refurb, the grouting was yellow, sink stained, etc.

The food is the usual poor microwaved product that Travelodge serve, ie, pre prepared bacon, scrambled egg, which generally offers poor value for money.
Have you ever asked for poached eggs?

So overall, a poor experience with this Travelodge.

Room Tip: The rooms are all in need of a refurb, so take your chance. No singles by look, just family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review Mike M. We are sorry to learn you were unhappy with the location of this hotel, our Gatwick Central hotel is within a mile of the airport and we do offer a shuttle bus service which runs from the hotel both to the North and South terminal 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. It is regrettable to learn you were unhappy with the standard of the bathroom, we do expect our rooms to be cleaned to a specific high standard. We would like the opportunity to investigate your concerns, to help us do this please can you visit our website and select the contact us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Large Hotel, worst thing is paying for car parking at £7.50 over night, or any part of the day. Large rooms, quiet, clean new comfy beds and pillows. Good value. Don't rely on the cafe bar for good food though, go into Crawley.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here for the first time pre flight in October 2013 for 1 night. We travelled as a family with a baby. We arrived by hopper bus from North Terminal (£4.50 per person). Check in was prompt, there was not already a cot in the room and we were advised to collect one from reception after we had gone up to the room. My Husband came down to collect the cot (travel cot) he was unable to assemble it as it was broken, he had to go down to reception again to take it back and collect another one (surely this would have been more simple if there was one in the room ready or if a member of staff had taken the cot up themselves). The room was average size and was comfortable.

We dined in the hotel restaurant during the late evening. The menu was overly extensive the basic burgers, fish & chips, lasagne, curry etc.. It is not waiter service, which is not a problem, but what makes it very canteen like is the cutlery / condiment station, it would perhaps be a bit of an improvement if the cutlery for instance was delivered with your meal rather than having to collect from a dumb waiter station, so again nothing to complain about but this is something that would improve your experience. The food itself was very nice which is the important thing and it is priced just about right for a budget hotel. The drink selection isn’t huge but acceptable.

We had a good night sleep and a fairly early start, we headed to the airport by hopper bus in the morning. It is only 3/4min drive from the North Terminal but it’s not really walk-able especially with luggage as it is along a main road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here because we were worried about getting to the airport on theMonday am because of the storm. We were checked in quickly, went to our room, made a cup of tea, then went to bed as we had an early morning flight.
The room was clean, bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. We didn't have breakfast, we got the bus to the airport at about 4.20 am, it also stopped at the Hilton and Best western, it also stops at the south terminal and north. Will use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Ideal place to stay for the airport only 10min drive if that to the north terminal. We got a taxi instead of the shuttle bus as it works out the same price £6 / £7.

They do not have hairdryers in the room. We arrived at about 9pm and there were no hairdryers to take from reception, luckily when we was up at 6am they had some hairdryers available then.

Breakfast was quiet at 6am and lots of tables to eat at if it was busy.

All in all a nice modern and comfy bedroom would stay again but take a hairdryer this time :-)










Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here in this hotel on 28th October 2013. Rooms nice and clean but they could do more with having more staff at the restaurant. They need to be more quick and efficient. Transport to and from the airport was very good and will definitely stay there again. Annie

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 OBE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.