We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel plus parking - good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Chequers Gatwick

Save Saved
You added Menzies Chequers Gatwick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Menzies Chequers Gatwick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brighton Road, Horley RH6 8PH, England (Formerly Thistle London Gatwick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Horley
Ryde, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel plus parking - good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed the night before our holiday - and had a holiday extras hotel plus parking deal
We parked at the long stay north car park after the night at the hotel
Staff were friendly, Room was spacious and clean
Wake up call worked
We would use again for the same purpose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    132
    97
    47
    37
See reviews for
56
187
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here in early Oct for 1 night stay before flight (at a good rate for location). Room was modern clean and well presented; towels, toiletries, etc (clearly refurbished recently). Reception staff polite and helpful. Had a meal in on-site pub (ok for pub food). Car park was busy but we managed to find a space. No reason not to stay here - would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Checkers for an early flight, booked through Airparks, the Hotel offered fairly reasonable accommodation, and the overall package was competively priced. The room was ok, fairly functional, but with a rather noisy air condition unit. On mentioning this to the duty Manger, we were immediately given an electric fan heater. We were particularly disappointed with the selection of wines in the bar, and when we mentioned, we're not happy with one, it took some time to summon the Bar Manager who was kind enough to change it. This somewhat took the, edge of our stay. Otherwise generally it met our requirements, although not a place we would recommend for a romantic weekend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited this hotel the night before our flights and found on arrival the reception was welcoming.
On check in the booking could not be found for two rooms but the receptionist took complete control advised that we could leave our luggage whilst we went for something to eat in the restaurant.
We took her up on the offer and went to eat in the restaurant . The food was nice and there was a small hiccup but the staff resolved this immediately.
On return to the reception not only had the receptionist secured the additional room she had also upgraded us!
We had only paid a small amount for the room think it was 39 and the service was really professional.
The room was modern and very comfortable there was tea and coffee making facilities and a trouser press also.
We were not in the rooms for a long period of time due to the flight times but I can honestly say I believe this to be one of the best value stays I have ever had.
Thank you for a great stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Menzies Chequers, it was fine for 1 night, however our room was definitely not of a 4* hotel. If you get a good rate then you should have no complaints.
Our room was very hot, the very small bed was not at all comfortable. The barrier to the car park stayed up all the time and I would question this if we had chosen parking at the hotel.
Plus points....free wifi, good shower and 10 minutes drive to Gatwick,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where the 4 stars come from? Surely only 3! As a 1 night stay and park package, the deal was good. Room only and parking at airport was great price. Would have been very disappointed if had paid more. Clean, small rooms, dated and bashed about. Poor bar/eating facilities at night. Busy but quiet enough for pre-flight sleep. Reception staff friendly but not exuberant.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Having read some of the reviews I feel having stayed at this hotel that some comments are a little harsh however, I respect they are others opinions. If this hotel has set itself up for its major business to come from overnight pre-flight clientele then quite honestly it is fitting the bill. We paid a total of £117 for an overnight stay and 2 weeks parking meet & greet so I was not actually expecting 5* Facilities unlike some possibly? I have to admit when we first walked into the bar area it was a little shabby and in need of some fresh decoration however, our room was more than adequate, as spacious as most other budget hotels and clean. My only other comment on the room is the same as another reviewer, there was nowhere to control the temperature and it was stiffling hot! We decided due the time of night to eat in the bar area. Having reviewed the brassiere menu we opted for the bar menu. They also served real ale in the bar which is a big tick with me as many others do not. The food was again edible and adequate, certainly not Michelin Star however we were not paying Michelin Star prices. The bar area was full by 9pm with many people eating. I did not see one person make any complaint about their food and as all plates were cleaned I took it that people were satisfied. My view is if you do not like something and do not wish to pay then don't actually eat everything on the plate.
In summary, I agree with others, a very good place to stay for a pre-flight stopover due to its close location to the airport. I would not stay for leisure but would have no hesitation recommending it for overnight and will consider using again when next flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Menzies Chequers Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Chequers Gatwick

Address: Brighton Road, Horley RH6 8PH, England (Formerly Thistle London Gatwick)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Chequers Gatwick 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Menzies Chequers Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Chequers Gatwick Horley
Menzies Chequers Gatwick Hotel Horley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Chequers Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.