We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a stop over.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Inn Gatwick

Save Saved
You added Airport Inn Gatwick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Inn Gatwick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longbridge Roundabout | Gatwick, Horley RH6 0AB, England (Formerly Gatwick Moat House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Horley
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for a stop over.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed one night as I was catching an early flight. Room was clean and big (I was expecting a single but ended up in a double and with a bath too which was a bonus), very quiet considering the proximity to the airport. Excellent and fast room service. The buses that get there leave from bus stop 9. Most signs in UK are not so user friendly and I only found out mainly where to go by reading reviews on this site. However if you proceed to bus stop 9 following the hotel buses sign the shuttle you need is the G3 and it takes about 10 mins. Overall I would stay there again and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    256
    132
    41
    39
See reviews for
96
256
60
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I had an early flight out of Gatwick and wanted a room close. The Best Western Moat House was £54 a night with the B&B rate (for a single). The tv was kind of tricky to use, but maybe I'm just not that well versed in antiquated television sets these days.

Was it amazing? No. But I slept with a roof over my head and had breakfast before my shuttle the next day. Good enough for me.

Note: I couldn't get the free internet to work on my phone so I paid to upgrade. It worked then, but I was kind of disappointed since the hotel claimed to have free WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

we stayed here last night. the price was about £68 and is well worth the money if your only requirement is to find somewhere that is clean, with a restaurant, and somewhere to lay your head before heading off from Gatwick. Check in was smooth, room was small but very clean and the restaurant was surprisingly good although lacking atmosphere but the staff were pleasant and efficient. My only gripe was the wifi advertised is only free for one hour after that you have to pay. For this I was going to really mark down the hotel but not being able to sleep this morning I got up at about 2 and went downstairs with lap top to work and in search of a coffee and the receptionist both made me a coffee (with biscuits) and gave me enough vouchers to have free internet. Therefore worth asking the receptionist for more vouchers if one hour isn't enough. The guy on reception on the night of 27 February was therefore the reason for changing the star rating from mediocre to excellent - and hope he gets recognised for his great customer service!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

As someone who travels regularly on a very early flight from Gatwick, this hotel is proving to be an excellent choice. Great staff, good food, FREE wireless internet (yay! when will other hotels realise that this is as essential as TV, it's not a luxury any more). And incredible value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just imagine ..... you've just missed your flight at Gatwick and can't get another flight out until tomorrow and now you're inTesco Gatwick carpark calling airlines, hotels, etc and working out what to do. A quick online hotel search tells you that Gatwick Moat House has rooms at a reasonable rate ... you collect Best Western rewards .... so rather than book online, you just pop over and see if they can help out .....

They can, it's £59 for the room, sounds good, we're in! Staff very helpful offering to print out new flight confirmations, car hire docs etc. Get to the room - beds are comfy, we even have a proper size bath, not just a shower, it's looking good and we're starting to calm down. We take a walk into Horley to work off the tension and then come back for a drink & snack in the hotel bar, all good. Lovely bar staff and a special mention to Magda who went off and got my son a colouring book and crayons pack which was really appreciated and then we were off to collapse in our comfy beds.

Up and out at 6am to make sure we didn't miss the new flight and onto the bus which does the rounds around all the local hotels and I guess this would be my only grump - £6 and it stops at the travel-inn next door, then over to the Holiday Inn and when it does finally get to North Terminal (having also stopped at South Terminal) you are dropped a fair way from departures - far from ideal with luggage and a 5 year old. I reckon a taxi from the hotel would be a good plan another time, and I am sure there will be another time because this hotel is what it is - an airport hotel, but not entirely faceless, as ever it is down to the staff who were charming.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I arrived after midnight exhausted after a long flight but check in took only a few minutes and I was soon in my comfortable room enjoying a cup of tea. The bed was very soft and comfortable just what I needed after hours of airplane seat! The bathroom had toiletries and a soak in the bath was wonderful after my long trip. The breakfast buffet was really good with lots of choice of hot or cold items to give you a good start to the day.
A shuttle bus stops outside the door every 15 minutes to return you to the airport and takes only a few minutes. Cost is £3.00 each way.
This hotel is a good stopover if you have an early flight or as I did a late arriving flight. I will use it again when I need a hotel near Gatwick

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We really weren't expecting much from this hotel given some of the other reviews, but found it to be exactly what we wanted for the night before our flight. Big, comfy room, AMAZING shower, friendly staff, fresh and tasty breakfast. I didn't think the hotel appeared tired as others had said, they seemed to be keeping up the decor and maintenance quite nicely. The staff seemed genuinely interested in keeping the hotel running nicely. The only surprise is that you can't walk there from North Terminal. On Google Maps it looks like it's right adjacent, which is pretty much is, but a load of fences and dual carriageway with no footpath stands in between. A taxi from the North Terminal on arrival was 9GBP (rip off!) but the hotel had a fixed rate taxi service of 6GBP for return to the terminal. Otherwise the shuttle bus is every 15 mins from the hotel and is 3GBP per person. It's a couple of minutes drive in the taxi (may be longer on the bus with stops). Anyway, altogether very happy campers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Airport Inn Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Inn Gatwick

Address: Longbridge Roundabout | Gatwick, Horley RH6 0AB, England (Formerly Gatwick Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Inn Gatwick 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a mile from Gatwick Airport and train station, the hotel has had a complete refurbishment and transformation in 2006 and in 2013 the public area was refurbished. Offering 125 non-smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, all with wireless internet access. The hotel also benefits from having a new range of family bedrooms sleeping between two and seven guests. A shuttle service to the airport is available 24-hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Airport Inn Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gatwick Moat House Hotel Horley
Best Western Horley
Horley Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Inn Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.