We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Horley
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I've stayed here a few times and really like this hotel. It is a typical Holiday Inn, not luxurious but practical and has everything I need for a good night's sleep. I've found the rooms at this particular one to be of a better than average size. The bathrooms are tiled in a strange water droplet tile which is a little dated but they are spotless and free of mouldy grouting amd silicone like so many hotels.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear craigpatt

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport following your recent stay with us.

It was very nice to read that you had stayed with us before and we look forward to you coming back again.

Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    429
    239
    71
    45
See reviews for
209
429
78
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Holiday Inn at Gatwick Airport due to having an early morning flight the following day. The staff were welcoming and friendly from there moment we walked in the door. The prepaid parking was even partially refunded but the receptionist as the parking was cheaper paying when leaving the car park then the prepaid. I would not have notice that we had been overcharged for the parking.

Despite being next to the airport the hotel is very quiet.

The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

My only dislike about Holiday Inn is that I could have been in any Holiday Inn anywhere in the World. The corporate image of the holt is that they furnish every hotel in the same way. Perhaps a little more Individuality would not come a miss.


Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Paul M

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport.

We were very pleased you found the staff friendly and welcoming from the moment you arrived and you found the hotel room to be spotless and clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Used this hotel for park stay & fly on 15 nights package in April 13.
Service was good, staff very polite & helpful. Rooms were slightly larger than usual holiday inn type and were clean. Bathroom was spotless and modern. Dinner was good, no problems found by us, kids get to eat free with paying adults. Breakfast was expensive but excellent and again kids eat free with paying adults. Pricess are in general same as any airport hotel. Bus service to and from gatwick was prompt, every 15 mins with the tickets purchased at reception. Car was looked after and was waiting for us when we returned. Will use again. Great value as cost less than £150 for all the above

Room Tip: pre purchase the bus transfer tickets when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear ianShropshire

Thank you for taking the time to write your very nice review of the Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport and for all your positive comments regarding the room and breakfast.

It was very nice to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us
.
We do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Gatwick overnight late April 2014 and also made us of their car parking while on holiday. First of all, its fair to say that pretty much all Holiday Inn hotels look the same – large concrete ‘slabs’ that resemble 1970s council flats. However, its equally fair to say that you know what you are getting – a reasonably priced, well maintained and above all CLEAN room to get you head down for a nights sleep.
We were greeted upon arrival by a very warm and welcoming receptionist who promptly checked us in and also sorted our tickets to the shuttle bus which runs from the hotel to Gatwick every 10mins from right outside the hotel door (note: prices are £3 per adult). A nice touch was the chilled fruit juice and water in reception for guests arriving which was a welcome thirst quencher after a long drive.
Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped with the standard fare of mini-kettle for tea & coffee making. We had a cot in our room as we requested which was immaculately clean and made up for our baby and also had a double bed and a sofa bed made up (I’m not sure how many guests they were expecting!).
We handed our car key in that evening and were told it would be moved to the long stay car park. I was a little uneasy about leaving our car key with the hotel but upon return a week later the car was safe and sound. I handed the receipt in to reception (and was greeted by the same warm and welcoming receptionist to checked us in, and amazingly remembered us!!) and collected our car for our journey home.

As with all hotels its about expectations. I wasn't expecting a lavish five star luxury hotel with oodles of facilities. I was expecting a convenient hotel, located a stones throw from Gatwick with well priced parking and a clean room for the night. That is exactly what I received and for that reason there’s nothing I can fault.

Five-out-of-five.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear LeeDJones

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport.

We are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the night before a trip to the USA for our wedding anniversary and had booked a parking and evening meal package.
In conversation with the receptionist our anniversary was mentioned and she immediately upgraded our room, what an unexpected and welcome bonus. The room was excellent, clean well appointed and most importantly had a very comfortable bed.
Our evening meal was a very pleasant surprise, the quality of the food was outstanding, the staff were attentive and polite and the menu varied. We opted for a bottle of wine to accompany the meal and I don't think I touched the bottle once, the staff ensured that our glasses were always topped up.
As far as the parking is concerned, I'm a bit of a fanatic regarding my car I know every inch of it, it took me a good while to build up to a new merc so I cherish it. No problem here the car was as good as the day I left it.
In short, the next time we need a pre flight hotel at Gatwick , this is where we wil stay, no question.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Phil S

Thank you for your very nice review of the Holiday Inn London Gatwick Airport.

We are really pleased we were able to make your stay enjoyable.

I will pass your compliments onto our Food & Beverage Manager regarding your meal and the staff in the restaurant.

It was also nice to hear that you were very happy with our car parking facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014


Just stayed here en route to airport. Really impressed! Extremely polite and professional service from reception. I don't usually name people but Aaron on reception was cheerful, fast, efficient, professional, had a smile and was a local. Everything you would expect but don't usually get. Room was modern, very clean, comfortable bed, large tv, fantastic red hot power shower and free tea at reception!! Was a refreshing change for an airport hotel. Room service sandwich was nice an again friendly staff! Great start to the holiday they have got it right. If this review is helpful please give it a thumbs up as I will continue writing others if they are useful. Thanks

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear SakeSake

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us and for positive comments regarding Aaron and the other members of staff, I will ensure these are passed onto them.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here one night prior to an early morning departure and am very impressed. Staff on check in were friendly and helpful and dealt with me swiftly but not in a way that made me feel rushed. Room was spacious and clean although needed a few touch ups (damaged lamp, peeling paint on radiator). The bathroom was modern and looked new so maybe they plan to do the bedrooms next. Had room service and the quality of the food was very good and special mention should be made about the room service staff member who was polite, courteous and a credit to the hotel. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Hartrix

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport.

We were delighted you found the staff friendly and helpful and your room to be clean and spacious. Thank you for mentioning our new bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.