We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and a good Gatwick airport shuttle service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Lodge to your Saves list
Castle Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   28 Massetts Rd, Horley RH6 7DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very clean and a good Gatwick airport shuttle service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here again in February. We were given the same room as last time (room 6 on the ground floor). It was very clean again. The check in is painless. The hotel is very close to Horley town centre so it a short walk to have a little lo round. The room cost £59 by booking direct ly with the hotel. The parking fee is £4 per night if you want to leave your car for your holiday period. The transfers to and from Gatwick all went very smoothly again. We have stayed in three hotels in Horley - this is the best yet.
p.s. the only slight downside was that the shower head was cracked.

Room Tip: We've only ever had room 6. So that one is alright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    69
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
74
97
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a little late as we stayed overnight in September with early flight from Gatwick. We had stayed the previous year so we knew what to expect. Good room, clean with tea and coffee facilities. Excellent help yourself breakfast, able to sit near window to watch for our taxi. Taxi as arranged, bang on time. Made the beginning of holiday a pleasure. We checked in our bags at gatwick before we checked in at castle lodge and then relaxed. We took a short walk into Horley which had plenty of places to eat and shop. We rang the number provided when we arrived back at gatwick and by the time we had walked the short distance to the pick up point, our taxi had arrived. Picked up our car from their car park and headed home. Great service. Excellent value, polite and efficient staff, Have booked again for this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

YES the castle lodge in our opinion is easily the best accomodation horley has to offer.As a couple we have stayed in various guest houses and hotels in the Horley and Crawley location some nice some not so nice as we frequently use Gatwick airport, therefore we are in a good position to give an honest opinion,firstly the castle lodge is spotless in cleansiness which is obviously important,then theres your hosts who are incredibly welcoming,freindly,and helpfull,and we stress they meet all your needs A-Z,anything you want or advise they will provide within their means with pleasure, truly wonderfull hosts,the location of the castle lodge is i beleive to be the nearest to the town so perfect in that respect,then you have in the price the included transfers to and from the airport,now then,many establishments offer thid facility but its within a time scale,so, as we have in the past, you actually pay for a taxi because its after or before a timescale,but not at the castle lodge as they provide a 24 hour transfer free in the booking price, so if you return late be assured with the castle lodge theres no hidden agenda and you get safely to your destination(casle lodge)with no extra costing,the breakfast is healthy and lovely with everything so well laid out and very fresh and a fab variety,the rooms are lovely,warm, clean ,,and spacious.So in conclusion having stayed in many establishments in the area we would put the castle lodge top of the league without hesitation. We as a couple are traveling from gatwick next in june so CASTLE LODGE ere we come again, simply because its the BEST without doubt.GARY AND CAROL.

Room Tip: ALL rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambridgeshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are two couples who stayed the night before our flight from Gatwick in January. We foumd Castle Lodge to be exceptionally efficient and clean. The morning self-service breakfast was left for us in the dining room which was exactly what we needed before Paul took us to the airport at 7 am as pre-arranged. Our collection from the airport at 7 am on our return was again very efficient and satisfactory when we were returned to Castle Lodge where our car was waiting for us,. It was great to be hassle free for our parking and staying at Gatwick. We will return again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just what you need for a stop over before flying off to the sun. Clean ,comfortable and with a great continental breakfast.The service to and from the airport was effiient and our car was well looked after.This is the best place we have stayed in Horley when using Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Pola
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and i sayed here for 2 nights. We were very disappointed..It's clean but old fashioned. There was no heating in the bathroom ,we stayed in Jan..The breakfast consisted of stale croissants packets of cereals cheap yoghurts all of which you had to serve yourself.. It wasn't cheap so I expected a much higher standard..I have travelled and stayed in many places all over the world but this did not meet expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeSurrey, Owner at Castle Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are very disappointed to read your comments, for the duration of your stay you certainly did not give us any indication that you were dissatisfied in any way . We would point out that we have central heating in all of our rooms which can be regulated by guests and in addition we have free standing heaters in all the guest rooms which are perfectly safe to warm either the bedrooms or bathrooms. We cannot understand your criticism of the quality of continental breakfast, we provide a selection of various individual cereals, the croissants are freshly replenished each day and we certainly have not had any complaints about the yogurts. We are the only guest house in the Gatwick area that provides 24 hour unrestricted transfers to and from the airport and that is the reason why we provide a self service continental breakfast so that guests who are leaving early in the morning are able to have something to eat and drink at any time prior to leaving.
Paul & Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a guest house that caters for travellers using Gatwick Airport. We had tea/coffee-making facilities and a TV and there was a nice en suite with a basin, toilet and shower. Beware the water is very hot (there is a warning notice). The room was nice and warm, it could perhaps do with a little retouching the paintwork, but everything worked. There may have been a laundry machine or similar on downstairs as we could hear a rumbling noise late at night.

There was a self-serve continental breakfast included. Nice choice of cereals and spreads including honey, etc. The bread needs upgrading though as it was own-brand.

The owners looked after our car and gave us a complimentary lift to and from the airport, arriving quickly when called.

The overall price was similar to other b&b’s in the area. We enjoyed our stay and would book again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge

Address: 28 Massetts Rd, Horley RH6 7DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.