We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick to your Saves list
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ladbroke Road, Horley RH6 9LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Horley
Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Half Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to stay here for a Saturday night a week ago, we found a decent deal online. Afternoon tea was excellent and the service perfect. In the evening however the 5 course tasting menu was very average, the fifty extra pounds for the wine course was a complete disaster. A quarter of a glass and a poor explanation from a makeshift sommelier was not really what I expected.

The room (Catherine Parr Suite) was great to be fair, nice size, good bathroom and a really comfy bed. Wouldn't rush back, mixed feelings about this place to be honest.
Drinks are overpriced and service with the exception of afternoon tea very average indeed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    118
    41
    23
    9
See reviews for
50
300
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is amazing - you should stop reading now and book it!

The staff were brilliant - a special mention must go to Nicola and Amber on front desk who made sure that our every need was catered for and even though I booked at 8:45pm the night before our arrival they took the time to explain everything, put my mind at ease and generally make us feel very special.

We stayed in the Leeds suite in the main house which was excellent - very clean with some modern touches (iPod dock) but also all the period features one would expect. We particularly liked the very cool four poster bath - the TempleSpa products together with the bathrobe, slippers etc were an excellent touch.

We had the 5 course tasting menu as part of our deal and I can honestly say it is some of the best food I've ever tasted - I know that because I wouldnt normally order a single dish that was on it yet every plate went back cleaner than when it came out of the dishwasher! Breakfast was also delicious and rounded off an amazing stay.

This is actually my first review, on any website, ever! I felt compelled to give these guys the credit they deserve. An excellent hotel all round - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The Leeds Suite is amazing if you are looking for something tucked away and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for a night on the indulge package. A luxury room, three course dinner and breakfast included (£258) When we initially rang up the reception staff said it would be £358 but we mentioned we had seen the rate on their website and they relented. A bit of difference there. Not sure if this was just a genuine mistake or an attempt relieve me of another £100. Anyhow, we arrived. The local area isn't really a rural retreat as therer is a new housing estate very close by which spoils it a bit. On entering our room the initial impressions were excellent. Lovely decor and facilities. However, we noted that the bathroom smelt very bad. This was because some lovely person had recently used the toilet and not cleaned up after themselves. So we informed reception who promptly sent up housekeeping. Sorted! I then discovered a collection of dried insects on the window. Nice.

There isn't bar to speak of and everything is lounge based service. The house itself is very old and an absolute treat to look around including the gardens. Our meal was absolutely fantastic, I would recommend the restaurant. The service is painfully slow and whilst the staff are pleasant and attentive when they actually appear! they need to work on their confidence and customer focus. We sat in the dining room earlier in the day and waited twenty minutes for a drinks menu. Followed by another wait for the actual drinks.

Wine list was expensive. The mark up on some alcohol is absurd. We expect to pay more when dining out but £12.50 for 50ml of lagavulin is day light robbery.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay but found myself annoyed by the waiting, dirty bathroom and expensive drinks. Would I stay there again....probably....for the food.

Management.....you could have a perfect establishment if you improved the speed of service, lowered drinks prices and cleaned up a little better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Went there for afternoon tea. The building was really charming and rooms were cosy. Food was very average. Choice of teas was not great, and Assam tea came in teabags. Sandwiches were overall tasty but the scones were very dry. We also struggled to find staff to pay our bill. There wasn't anyone in any of the dining rooms. We had to get up and find them ourselves. The guy at the front desk said someone should be in the dining room but nobody was there. It took us over 20 minutes to find somebody. I certainly wasn't impressed by the overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for a weekend birthday treat with a voucher deal online. The price was certainly right and although the room we were given looked a bit tired, it was clean, bright, had period features and absolutely amazing bathroom with a large jacuzzi tub.

Unfortunately, there was a funny noise from some pipes running above the room's ceiling. Probably just temporary issue resolvable easily with maintenance. We mentioned this to reception, and they immediately moved us to a much better room with a four poster bed, private patio on lake, and a fireplace!

Dinner was delicious, and breakfast also impressively large and tasty.

Overall, an excellent weekend away and we felt well looked after.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Langshott Manor on Sunday 19 January. We had a special offer which was a 5 course dinner, bed and breakfast - we paid extra to upgrade to the Wisley Suite (worth every penny). Langshott Manor is a gorgeous hotel. Our room wasn't in the main building, it was a short stroll through the gardens. The room was lovely, spacious lounge with patio doors to private patio and garden, decent sized bedroom and lovely bathroom with Temple Spa toiletries. There isn't a bar in the hotel but there are a couple of lounges with open fireplaces where you can have drinks which is really nice - service in the lounge could have been better but it was ok. Dinner in the Mulberry restaurant was devine. Unfortunately we didn't have a great nights sleep - the bedroom isn't very well soundproofed so we could hear people in the room next door and also in the room upstairs. Also - the room is right on the hotel entrance so traffic is heard all through the night (people leaving to catch flights I suspect). We were also woken around 7am to the noise and orange flashing lights of the dustcart parked right outside the bedroom window - not ideal. I noticed that the dustcart was from a private firm rather than from the council so surely this should be agreed to be done after at least 8am? Anyway - we had a lovely breakfast in our room (although no salt, pepper, jams etc were provided). Apart from the lack of sleep we had a really lovely time at Langshott Manor.

Room Tip: I suspect a room in the main building would be preferable in order to have a good nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as we celebrated our wedding and my birthday, and were not disappointed in our choice of hotel. We were upgraded to the Leeds suite, an upstairs room in the historic and charming main house, quiet with garden views. The room was not large, but looked well presented with a (not huge) four poster bed. The bathroom was a good size, with a four poster bath, twin sinks and shower. The service in the hotel was excellent, there seemed to be plenty of staff in the hotel and restaurant, and they were attentive but discreet. The food in the restaurant was exceptional, room service was efficient. The afternoon tea we had on arrival was disappointing (scones overcooked & no sandwiches or cake, but we did get champagne which we were not expecting) The hotel is currently an oasis in the middle of a building site; but the gardens are pretty, even in January, and once inside the grounds, the proximity to either the builders or the airport was totally forgotten. I hope we will return.

Room Tip: We were pleased with Leeds- upstairs in main house. It is a victorian bedroom with 4 poster bed &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Address: Ladbroke Road, Horley RH6 9LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langshott Manor is an exquisite four red-star hotel in Surrey. This remarkable venue blends classic character with contemporary and well-thought design. Luxury is fragrant throughout the 16th Century Hotel with rooms and dining options designed to spoil you. Just minutes from Gatwick Airport, Langshott Manor is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and undisturbed setting. As one of the most distinctive and truly welcoming hotels outside of London, Langshott Manor is the perfect choice for a weekend break, relaxing escape or a refreshing stopover before or after your flight from Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langshott Manor Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Horley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.