We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk, food and a nice pint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Half Moon

The Half Moon
73 The Street | Charlwood, Horley RH6 0DS, England
+44 1293 863414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 150 Restaurants in Horley
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Walk, food and a nice pint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Called in after a local walk which starts and finishes at the pub. Made to feel very welcome, a good meal and a well kept pint of hobgoblin.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    46
    4
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Pub in all of Surrey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great food, fantastic service! Very accommodating and friendly staff, cannot rate this place enough on their warm, welcoming atmosphere. First visited in September where I was flying out of Gatwick and have been back for dinner and relaxing afternoons by the log fire whenever I'm in the area since. I highly recommend any of the pies and also the roast lamb on a Sunday. Already thinking about my next visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place, let down by one staff member”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

On the back of the reviews on here we decided to go to the Half Moon for a belated birthday celebration with dinner. The welcome was ok, the service at the table was polite, It was until our waitress changed!
We had a very good night, the food was lovely and after enjoying it really didn't care about the price. It was definitely worth it.
The only bad parts of the evening were the attitude of one of the waitresses, I never really felt welcome. The only other minor a noying thing was having to wait a long time for drinks as the waitresses were really busy even though the barman was not.
I would recommend this place as I hope the waitress was just having a bad day (as we all do) but they seem to have something very special here.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Quaint and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

great pub, great food (but pricey) real ale a plenty. Closes from 3 until 6 pm sign posted from the main road, regulars type of pub, friendly the type of place you want to stay all night.
Hotel transfer bus will stop and let you off/on if you cannot find the bus stop, priced at £1 each way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The half Moon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Half Moon was recomended to us by the owner of the Tundles - good call - food as good - fair price - good service by the land lady - the young man who was also serving was a little over powering but meant well !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Half Moon also viewed

 

Been to The Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Half Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.