We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in northern Vermont!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WilloughVale Inn and Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added WilloughVale Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   793 Vermont Rte 5A, Westmore, VT 05860   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off on rooms & cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Westmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plainville, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem in northern Vermont!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It's all the little things that make this inn a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in the Governor Aiken Room (quite a large room for 2). Although our room was right off the front lobby, it was surprisingly quiet and private. Aside from the fabulous view of the lake (with a porch), there was a large jacuzzi tub and a working wood-burning fireplace. Roy, the innkeeper, brought us some duraflame logs -- so it couldn't have been any easier to get a fire started!

If you want to see an inn where they go the extra mile for their guests, this is it. When we awoke after a night of snow, all the cars in the parking lot had been cleared off. Seriously! Now THAT is taking care of your guests. A very welcome surprise!

Our room was very well-equipped. There was a small, separate kitchen area complete with a Keurig coffee maker (and coffee supplies), a refrigerator, a sink, and dishes/silverware complete with wine glasses and a corkscrew! Other very nice additions to the room included complementary bottled water, binoculars, and a flashlight -- all nice unexpected touches. I also was very pleased with the several lamps/lights in our room -- all with either 3-way bulbs or dimmer switches. A brightness level for every taste!

Another great surprise was the free continental breakfast each morning. The breakfast at this inn not only offered the typical coffee/tea/juices and toast/muffins...but there were also 3 or 4 kinds of cereal (hot and cold), pancakes, two different types of eggs, a variety of yogurts and fresh fruits. Nothing fancy -- but all very good and fresh...and included with your stay! And to top it off, there is a great view of the lake from the dining areas!

If you're looking for a quiet, unspoiled place to relax and unwind, this is the place for you. If you're someone who likes to be in the center of all kinds of activity, you will probably find this location a bit remote. To get to any hub of a town/shopping/restaurants, it is probably a 1/2 hour ride or so. That being said, there is a restaurant on site. I'm not sure how the hours are year-round, but in March, I believe it is only open Fri-Sat-Sun (which was fine for our needs). There is also a bar area on site.

One thing to note is that cell phone service is limited in this neck of the woods. My cell phone didn't work the entire stay, but thankfully, my husband's did. I guess that's to be expected when you visit the mountains! To compensate for the lack of cell service, the inn offers free land-line phone usage. There is also free wi-fi for those of us who need to stay connected.

Would I stay here again: YES! Would I recommend this inn to friends: I ALREADY HAVE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
My apologies for not responding to your kind words sooner. At the Willoughvale we try to give our guests the best possible experience. Please always remember you can click availability on our home page to see what openings are available in the coming months. As we move from April to May you may find a number of rooms and cottages unavailable. This is our time give some attention to our facilities for the coming summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    43
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Central Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a very relaxing night at the WilloughVale Inn. We stayed in the Osprey room which was very clean and comfortable, and had a great TV for watching the Oscars. I really liked how the sheets didn't feel all starchy and chemically, the way sheets at hotels often do. They were very soft and cuddly. The room had a lovely view of the lake as well. Lake Willoughby is gorgeous!

Our only minor disappointment with the room was that there was no bathtub, but this was clearly stated on the website -- no surprise.

The area around the inn is made up of mostly summer camps and cabins, and was completely deserted in February. The inn also only had a handful of guests. All of which made the night almost perfectly quiet, which was wonderful! We really enjoy going to places off-season. However, I have to say the place felt a bit too deserted even for my taste, and I'm not a high-maintenance guest. There was no one staffing the front desk when we checked in, and the restaurant was closed (and there is nowhere within 20 miles or so to get dinner). The breakfast was delivered to our room in the morning on a tray, which is kind of fun, but the water for tea was cold by the time we got up (they brought it earlier than we had asked for). We didn't see anyone who worked there until we checked out in the morning, and then only for a second.

As I said, our stay was very nice. But it does seem to me that as they subtract amenities in the winter, the rates should be lower. Right before we went, there was a special rate on the website that was not there when I had booked the room. So that was a little extra annoyance.

All-in-all, a very nice place and I would like to visit again in the warmer months. The cabins look very comfortable and all have waterfront porches and their own stairs down to the water. Nice!

Room Tip: I would expect second floor room would be quieter than first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed yourself. Allow me to explain that in the winter and side seasons we do not staff the front desk with 2 shifts except when the restaurant is open Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Consequently, there may not be a front desk person on duty with an arrival after 4 to 5 pm. Guests will find a welcome letter with the name of the room or cottage they are staying in with their initials only for privacy reasons. If the Inn, rather than the cottages, has only a few guests, we provide a breakfast menu to select from the night before. It requests a time between 8 and 10 am for the breakfast to be delivered outside their door. We give the door a few knocks to let the guest know it's been delivered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had rented a house at Jay Peak for 4 days during winter break for a much anticipated family vacation for 6 adults, two kids and one infant. We arrived to find a nice house but infused with cigarette smoke, somehting that had not been disclosed to us, We could not stay there due to allergies and health concerns, so scrambled to find a place to stay where we could all be together. After calling around in the Jay area with no luck, I rememberd we had stayed at The Willoughvale Inn in the past and thought maybe they could help. Well, they went out of their way to rearrange their schedule and put us all in two of the delightful lake view cabins for two nights and then moving us to an Inn room and the Birches cabin on the lake for a third night. What a wonderful stay we had. The cabins were perfect for us and when one of the kids got sick the final day, they went out of their way to make soop for her to deliver meals to the room. Roy and his staff were real life savers for us, and we had a great vacation after all. We loved the cabins and ill definitely be back again. This is such a georgeous spot, and although maybe a little remote, still close enough to Burke and Jay Peak, and x-country skiing, to be convenient. The dinner we had there was excellent also. Thanks Willoughvale Inn for your outstanding Vermont hospilarity.

Room Tip: The Lakeview Cabins are new, large and immaculate...and the view is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We were pleased that we could accommodate our last minute guests given the situation they were confronted with. My compliments to our Inn staff. We look forward their return. We thank them very much for the kind remarks about the Inn and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We actually have our own summer camps near here, but stay at the Willoughvale when visiting in the winter. It seems like Lake Willoughby is a well kept secret outside of the state, but the Willoughvale cabins and lodge rooms have the best views of it from any angle and for any season. The facility has good food and also good wireless, which you can't take for granted in the Northeast Kingdom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. The ice fishing is becoming active again and some ice climbers stayed with us for about 10 days prior to your return. See you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Suffield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our son was on leave from assignments in the Navy & we wanted to get the family together for a unique get-a-way. He had never been to VT in the winter, just Whitecaps Campground in the summer. We booked xmas weekend in the hope that there would be some snow, since Connecticut didn't have any.
We booked the Robert Frost cottage right on the lake & it was the best decision we ever made. The cottage boasts a master bedroom w/queen bed, 2nd bedroom w/twins & we had a roll-a-way brought in. Full kitchen, flat screen tv's, so many windows overlooking the lake and a gas fired fireplace! The temp got down in the teens Saturday night into Sunday & it was still nice & cozy! We got our wish for snow Saturday into Sunday, but not enough to hamper driving. The lake is full of life with different kinds of waterfowl floating by the cottages at any time.
When they said it was full equipped that means everything including cheese grater, corkscrew, etc. The Willoughvale is a must visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We appreciate your kind thoughts about the Willoughvale. Having the snow for a white Christmas is great. We are getting some more today. Keep it coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We were visiting friends for a surprise birthday/weekend and didn't get to completely explore everything the Inn has to offer. There are not many places to stay in the area, and this was about a 30 minute drive from our destination.However, it was worth the extra travel and we will be back. The views of the lake are amazing. The staff were very friendly when we arrived and throughout our stay. The room was clean and comfortable.

I would give 5 stars but we weren't there long enough to truly experience the Inn. The continental breakfast was mediocre at best. The pastries and bagels were pretty stale. Our first morning there were no hot options at all. Our second morning there were some pancakes and what looked like squares of cooked eggs. I would suggest a do it yourself waffle maker, maybe some fruit, muffins etc. They have their own restaurant on the premises, I would have even paid for a hot breakfast since there is not much else in the area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I couldn't have asked for a more relaxing,beautiful stay to respark our marriage. When we arrived at the willoughvale we were greeted by a sweet woman named Gwen. Her smile and tone of voice just lit up the room and I knew from that moment we were going to have a great time! We stayed at the lake front cottage pisgah. The cottage has a breath taking view of willoughby lake and the mnts surrounding it. Very clean n well kept cottage that gave us a wonderful vibe. We had a nice fireplace that worked very good at keeping the cottage warm (we stayed in November) and a jucuzzi that you can just get into and let your thoughts be worry free. The young lady Ashley who did our housekeeping was a very enthusiastic hard working girl. She was very knowledgeable about lake willoughby and the surrounding areas, she gave us some ideas on what things we could do on our stay(went horse back riding and to a movie) we had a wonderful time that made us feel young again! That young lady has a very bright future in hospitality! She made us feel right at home and not uncomfortable when she came to clean up our cottage we accually enjoyed seeing her! We could not have asked for a better time. We enjoyed every second of our stay and will return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WilloughVale Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WilloughVale Inn and Cottages

Address: 793 Vermont Rte 5A, Westmore, VT 05860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Westmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WilloughVale Inn and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality awaits you at the WilloughVale Inn, situated in an exquisite natural setting on the shores of Lake Willoughby. Lodging at the WilloughVale is gracious and informal, providing a perfectly relaxed atmosphere for vacationing in all four seasons. Accommodations and Vermont cottage rentals at our WilloughVale Inn include eleven unique guest rooms, four cozy lakefront cottages and four lakeview cottages with all the comforts of home with none of the distractions! Vermont's Northeast Kingdom is truly a wilderness jewel, offering outstanding recreational activities year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your WilloughVale Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willoughvale Inn And Cottages Hotel Westmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.