We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, filthy but value for money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heathrow Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heathrow Lodge to your Saves list
Heathrow Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   556 Old Bath Road | Heathrow, West Drayton UB7 0EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Dirty, filthy but value for money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place really needs some upgrade. There was a long waiting for check-in, filthy rooms, no signs of cleaning at all. No toilet tissues in the toilet, no lights in the corridor, etc. However, I must say that it is a great value for money especially if you are traveling to/from Heathrow airport. Terminal 5 is just 15 mins walk from this lodge and the lodge offers free shuttle to and from the airport. There is also a free bus (no 423) available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    44
    63
    64
    136
See reviews for
42
88
74
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I guess what do you expect for 32quid? Probably a little more than we got. Room was really smelly, disgusting actually, we aired it out for a couple of hours after we walked in only problem being it was -2celsius outside so airing out was a pretty cold experience, shared bathrooms were disgusting ill let you use your imagination there, we were rudely awoken at 0730 when the guy who run the airport shuttle service got our room mixed up and knocked on the door telling us we were late for our shuttle pick up then at 0900 another knock at the door this time being the cleaner asking us what time we were leaving cause he wanted to clean the room, WTF? Website clearly states checkout is 1200. Bed mattresses are worn and uncomfortable.

Upside is the hotel across the road, under new management, friendly staff, good hearty meals around 4-7pounds, cheap pints, and a massive 5pound full english bfast with GOOD coffee and free wifi, there is a free bus going to Heathrow from across the road leaving every 15 or so minutes.

Room Tip: BYO Air freshener and/or nose peg, eat at the pub across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have been staying at heathrow lodge on and off for the past 8 years and I have been happy with the service on every occassion. The rooms are basic, but clean. I was lucky enough to be upgarded to a premium room which offered a flat screen plasma, brand new shower en suite, a clean refurbished room, which was lovely. Heathrow lodge cannot be beaten on price, and its at an excellent location. The free shuttle bus is also a surpurb addition at very useful. Im looking forward to my next stay in the new year!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed during November as i was flying off next morning from Terminal 4. Very close to heathrow and a very quiet area. Staffs were very friendly and the room was clean and neatly done.

Since, this was the only budget hotel close to heathrow area i had booked ensuite and i would say no one would be disappointed with ensuite rooms with little extra budget. You get what you pay for :-) Courtesy bus for pick up and drop off an added advantage!!

Room Tip: Go for ensuite room you won;t be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol. England.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Really, where do I start. If you want to actually have a good start to your holiday then please avoid this place at all costs.

Upon arrival we were allocated a 'basic' room- which was basic, no tv etc which we didn't mind as just wanted to get our heads down. One of the beds was practically broken. To escape, my partner and I walked to the grim pub opposite the lodge; no atmosphere and expected to pay a minimum of 10 by card. We didn't stay and instead headed to the coaching inn which was two minutes walk away. Lovely little inn, friendly atmosphere, cosy and good drinks prices.
We made the walk back to our 'house' (we were allocated an outside room in one of the houses outside the hotel)where we found our key wouldn't work. Went back to reception and a friendly gentleman managed to open it and switched us to what we thought was an improved room... No chance, handle on window was broken so it could not ber closed, leaving us to a restless nights sleep hearing traffic and planes throughout the night. Highlight of this place is the staff who are friendly, not anything positive to say about the rest...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in October. Good value for money. Basic and offered a nearby bus service (bus 423) which is free. Requested a 5am wake up call, which I got. So great service. The quality of the bathrooms needs to be improved. Nevertheless I plan to use this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Bring your own food and ask for an ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

One night in this lodge is enough. Good grief. This Lodge is near the Heathrow on the map but if you are using a terminal on the opposite site of the airport you are a good 20 mins drive from the Lodge. Their website infers everyone is a few minutes away - not true. We arrived at Terminal 3 and contacted the Lodge for a van pickup. The courtesy van operates only certain hours of the day so we chose to wait for the evening pickup to commence. Were told by reception to wait in the level 4 carpark of the short-term parking building, terminal 3 and van should be there at 6:15PM. It was a cold evening. No van appeared so we rang two more times. The Lodge has a policy that it does not ring mobile phones. Van eventually arrived at 6:45PM. The van driver thinks he is in the grand prix race. Speeding, breaking suddenly, swerving in and out of lanes. Reckless driving at its best. The Lodge does not have a lift and the stairs are very narrow. The Lodge website states two pubs are close by for meals. The pub opposite is permanently closed. The other pub, a 10 min walk down a narrow, dark street, and is very small. A tent has been erected in the front yard to cater for people eating meals. The pub has a captive audience - no food is available anywhere else so prices are high and the food quality is poor. Anything you save on accommodation costs will be lost with meals at this pub. It is very expensive. It would not be suitable for children. It is a pub for drinking adults. Our room was OK. Tea and coffee facilities, clean bed linen. But the bathroom - again, good grief. I should have taken a photo. The shower curtain had about 10 inches of orange dirt at the bottom. It was so narrow it did not prevent the bathroom floor from getting wet. The shower tiles had not been cleaned for ages. Many rooms share communal bathrooms so people are opening and closing doors often. We repeatedly heard a family yelling during our stay. In the morning the courtesy van driver started making belittling comments to me and family member about me being unhappy about the airport pickup delay the previous evening. He continued commenting all the way to Heathrow in front of other van passengers about us wanting to return to Heathrow three hours before our flight. We wanted breakfast and the only way to get breakfast if you stay at Heathrow Lodge is to go back to the airport. There is no food available anywhere in the morning. A family with children was also returning to the airport early. The verbal harassment continued even when we were taking our cases out of the van. I said nothing to the driver that morning. If he wanted an argument he did not get one. I travel a lot and never have I seen such a rude individual working in the tourist industry. Stay away from Heathrow Lodge and if you must stay there take a good selection of your own food. You will need it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heathrow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathrow Lodge

Address: 556 Old Bath Road | Heathrow, West Drayton UB7 0EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > West Drayton
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heathrow Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heathrow Lodge has recently been renovated under new management; an ideal choice of quality and convenience for leisure, business travellers and airline crews,Wide Selection of Rooms: From basic to En-suite, We offer the widest range of accommodation, ranging from family, triple, double, single through to basic double and single occupancy budget rooms. Only en-suite rooms have tea / coffee making facilities, TV with satellite channels,Ideal Location Situated just west of Heathrow Airport in Longford Village, Heathrow Lodge is a local hotel away from the hustle and bustle where our guests can enjoy the perfect relaxation time before flying off Free Shuttle Bus.Courtesy shuttle service runs to and from the airport included in the room rate. Our free courtesy bus service collects and drops guests off between 0600am - 10:00am (Mon -Saturday) . There is no service available in the Evening and Sunday. How to come to lodge from Heathrow airport? 1.From Heathrow Terminal 5: The nearest tube station is Heathrow Terminal 5. Following direction will help you to find Heathrow Lodge: (a)In Terminal 5, Please go to the Bus Stop No 6 (outside Arrival)and Catch the free public transportation bus no: 423 then, Get off at the first stop ( Stop Name: The Square. Please Walk back few minutes and you will see the Heathrow Lodge on your right hand side (2) From Heathrow Terminal 1,2 and 3: Please take the interchange train: Heathrow express (free of charge) from Heathrow terminal 123 to Heathrow Terminal 5 and then follow the guideline of Heathrow Terminal 5 (Point No: 1) 3. From Central Bus station: Please take the Bus U3 from central bus station and get off in stop Pinglestone close. Then take the bus 423 and get off in the stop: Heathrow Close and cross the road. 4.From Heathrow Terminal 4: Please take the bus: 490 or 482 from stop no: 7 of Heathrow Terminal 4 then follow the guideline of Heathrow Terminal 5 (Point No:1) 5.From Central London: (a)Please take the Piccadilly line (Underground) of Heathrow Terminal 5 from Central London and then follow the guideline of Heathrow Terminal 5 ((Point No: 1) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heathrow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathrow Hotel West Drayton
Heathrow Lodge West Drayton, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heathrow Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.