We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is nothing wrong with this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“There is nothing wrong with this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2005

I stayed in this hotel prior to christmas. It was ideally placed for the airport and the rooms were excellent.

Room service was reasonabe and good quality.

I paid for the onsite parking for 3 weeks and had no problems at all.

The hoppa-bus to the terminals stops at the hotel and is good value for money.

good value for money in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    269
    326
    218
    227
See reviews for
116
355
191
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2005

I travel all over the UK as part of my job so stay at various hotels however, on the past 4 occassions to London I have stayed at the Thistle Heathrow because the staff and Management make you feel welcome. The rooms are clean, tidy and offer all that you need to make your stay comfortable such as room service, tea coffee facilities, trouser press, iron, hairdrier, TV etc . The restuarant is well presented and recommend the Steaks. The location, although out of London is only 15 mins away via the train so you can visit London before you go on holiday. You can leave your car in the large secure carpark which has CCTV and security personal looking after it. I would have no problems in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2004

was warned about this hotel but I thought that was what I could expect for the rate I paid (agents rate of £36.50 room only). Check in staff okay but had to wait a while (even at 9.30pm!) to be served. Bar staff did'nt seem to know what a hot chocolate was as they questioned me twice and when it arrived it was basically a cup of lukewarm milk. charged me £2.20 for it too!
See what you mean with the lack of lifts-okay arriving as a porter took our cases up but bringing them down the following morning was a nightmare-especially with the long creaky corridors!
Had an economy room which was okay-very dated and cold. Our shower had no hot water water at all-last thing at night or first thing in the morning. It was 2 degrees when we woke up at 5.30am so a warm shower could only be expected but all I got was a quck blast of freezing water. Bedding clean, tv okay with good range of channels and tea/coffee making facilities. Small electric radiator for warmth but it kept clicking in the night so it had to be turned off.
Taxi to airport was a lovely Merc driven by a pleasant middle aged man. Cost £10 to terminal 3 and journey took around 15 mins.
As a Travel consultant I will not recommend this hotel to my clients-especially as the standard rate through our suppliers is £65 pp with 7 days parking. Go to the Travelodge if you want a good, cheap clean hotel close to the airport!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2004

I stayed here in September, 2004 primarily because I was attending a business function that happened here. I wish I hadn't.

I've stayed in a lot of hotels and, to be honest, the exterior of this one is about the worst I've ever seen. I took photos to show back at home.

Firstly, it's hard to find this hotel. Secondly, it looks like a prison block. Thirdly, the check-in and breakfast staff seem pretty lost and I decided it was smarter not to eat here based on what I'd seen of it.

The room itself wasn't too bad but then it wasn't too great either - I'd recommend picking somewhere else, pretty much _anywhere_ else as there's no shortage around Heathrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2004

Stayed at this hotel for one night prior to an early morning flight to the US. Check in was good, the staff were pleasant. The room was in a block situated over the car park on the ground floor.

The building smelt a bit, despite requesting non smoking we had a smoking room which was a shame. The room was large, bed nice although the decor & bathroom was a little tired. We could not control the air-conditioning, the instructions did not seem to resemble the unit.

The room was quiet. The reception were not able to sell tickets for the shuttle bus which was inconvenient.

We booked car parking, most of the parks were full but we eventually found a space. The reception admitted this was a problem as they sold too many spaces and we could park anywhere as long as we did not block anyone in, consequently people were parked on the grass and in restricted areas!

Did not try restaurant, it was empty when we went up.

Overall OK, for a quick 1 night stop over, Parking needs to be sorted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2004

I was very disappointed in this hotel when I stayed there November 17, 2004. I have stayed in Thistle Hotels before and have found them to be exceptional, however, this one was below average. I scored it 2 stars but it only deserved 1 1/2 stars. This place is a convention center and one would think that it would be up to date. We had to drag our luggage up stairs as there is not an elevator in the place. Unbelievable!!!!!!! We then had to walk down a very long hall to another wing to find our room. Our room was small but typical of an European hotel. My bedspread had a cigarette burn in it and overall, the furnishings were quite shabby. The bathroom was small with not much free room to move about. I am glad that I was only there for overnight as I was leaving for home the next morning.
In summary, I can definitely say that if I had read the trip advisor reviews before making this booking, I would have never chosen this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2004

Booked the hotel at Heathrow on our way through to Spain at Terminal One Hotel Booking. Stayed in Spain in all Paradore chain hotels for about $120.00 CDN ($95 USD) and loved them. Arrived at Thistle in London at about midnight. We were given a dirty room, toilet was full, soap was used and there were hairs in the bed. Asked to be moved and waited 20 mintues without hearing from anyone. Went to the front desk and asked again to be moved. Waited another twenty minutes, now it was almost 1 AM. We asked to get our money back and for the hotel to pay for a cab back to Heathrow but since we had booked through and agency they couldn't do anything. I finally just asked to be given clean sheets, and some soap. I was given a new room but the key didn't work, down to the desk AGAIN, the manager finally took us up to a new room and offered us breakfast but since we had to leave at 6 AM we wanted the extra time to sleep so he promised us a box breakfast in the morning. It never showed up. The hotel was dirty, the staff were nice but very confused and disorganized. The shuttle was overcrowded and unreliable. Would not choose to stay at Thistle again. RNM

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.