We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's everyone moaning about” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
liverpool
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What's everyone moaning about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This was our second stay here and once again good. The bathroom has been upgraded and we were in room 201. Yes we did hear the planes but it stopped at 2230. Good nights sleep and very comfy bed. Small room but it was only for one night. Took the pod very good and better than the hoppa. I think the hotel is cashing in on the pod as its free to ride but they charge five pounds a person to get through their gate!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    267
    326
    218
    228
See reviews for
116
355
191
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I booked a room here via LastMinute.com, as I was looking for somewhere convenient for Heathrow t5 and a red eye flight. As this was connected via the pod system, this worked - £50 for a Friday night stay.

The hotel itself is very tired looking, needs a lick of paint and new carpets.

I arrived late evening and staff were more interested in chatting than checking me in. Had booked a twin room and was asked how much luggage I had. A rather large red suitcase which I then had to lug to the first floor. No offer of help. I'm quite a fit youngster but this really wouldn't be on if you had a lot of baggage or had mobility problems.

Room itself dated, marks on the carpet etc. room was clean though, and had facilities for tea and coffee. Nice warm shower in the morning.

The pod thing was useful but on arrival no one was answering my calls, and as a lone female traveller wasn't ideal late at night.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here before our flight from T5. Very easy to access from M25, a good restaurant overlooking the runway and very friendly staff. We were very happy. They even coped with my need for gluten-free food!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinsobres
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I flew in from Marseille and easily found a bus to the hotel from terminal 5. It costs 9 pounds return. Reception was courteous and efficient . My room was clean, modern with comfortable bed, good quality towels and quiet. No noise from next door rooms! I had supper in the bar extension to the restaurant and it was inexpensive, hot and tasty for me. The view from the restaurant area is over the airport to Terminal 5 and the flight path..very impressive by night ! Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent and again the service really good. I would highly recommend this hotel for all the above and value for money

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here before leaving from T5. No architectural prizes and the inside is a little dated. The room was fine, comfortable bed, clean . We used the restaurant which had a good menu with fresh cooked food and helpful staff. We got there from the terminal by the POD system from the terminal. It's £5 each per journey. We would use it again !!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel through Booking.com and the printout advised that VAT was included in the price. This was also confirmed on the hotel's booking conditions page. When I got to the hotel I was advised that this was not the case and they would "never do this". I was therefore charged an additional amount representing VAT.

Since the hotel is the one providing Booking.com with the information, I find their explanation hard to believe.

On my return home I raised the matter with Booking.com who politely brought it to the hotel's attention. The hotel was dismissive saying that the extra charges represented meals etc.

I had brought the matter up twice at the hotel and the staff behind the check-in desk were either incompetent, ignorant or plain dismissive. They were not in the least bit helpful. Even trying to get the manager's name so that I could write a letter was like pulling teeth as they were obviously reluctant to provide it.

The hotel itself boasts a terrace view of the airport, including a bar etc. It was always closed when I was there so why bother mentioning it as a "selling" point for aviation enthusiasts.

The hotel is tired, there are no lifts, there is a dank smell in the corridors and it is badly in need of a refurbishment. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the airport - although there is no guarantee you will get one. On my ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stopped at the Thistle T5 for one night last week in advance of a business trip, booking parking and the Hoppa to T2 as part of the package.

Everything was 'as it says on the tin' - just without much charm and a degree of hassle. I would definitely re-book if there was a package as part of a family holiday but for a short business trip arriving back very late on a Friday night, it didn't really work.

There was plenty of parking but the process of getting the parking ticket re-authorized on return at reception was a bit of hassle. The room was fine - a little tired and worn out in places and the hotel overall wont win any beauty prizes as it's classic 70's concrete (but then it's an overnight airport hotel so what do you expect!). Breakfast was nice and the waitress was really friendly and helpful. The Hoppa takes forever - about 45 mins as it picks up at lots of hotels and T2 was the last drop off. Coming back, a very long wait - 30 mins.

So if you're looking for value and have the time for the Hoppa, it's good.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.