We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Two day business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I booked into this hotel during a two day meeting at Waterside. The location and Pod transfer to T5 were just perfect. Staff were helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Discount breakfast was available if purchased the day before in the lovely runway view restaurant. Rooms are reasonably large though a bit tired. Comfortable beds. Complementary WiFi was super fast and reliable. Would definitely recommend this hotel if only for its location.

Room Tip: Rooms are all ideally located
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for your great comments.

Glad you had the chance to watch the planes land from the restaurant and found the POD useful. We constantly check to ensure the wifi remains "superfast!" so thanks for noticing.

If you book with us online you can take advantage of online check in and our best rate guarantee.

Thank you for choosing the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    266
    325
    218
    228
See reviews for
115
354
190
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Overnight stay before a work conference the following day. Great parking, nice reception area and helpful staff. My room, whilst clean, was very dated. Noisy too. Had a meal and a few drinks in the bar the evening I was there and it was pretty good. A generally tired hotel but to be fair the rate reflects this.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for you comments.

I am glad you found your stay to represent good value for money. But I am sorry you found the room noisy we work hard to ensure the rooms are kept as quiet as possible. By checking decibel levels and changing windows. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and will pass you comments onto the kitchen brigade.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed Friday night March 7th. Booked via LastMinute and couldn't believe how cheap the single room was. With this in mind, if the hotel wasn't fully up to scratch I could have coped with it.

Quite the opposite; from the moment I arrived I found this hotel to be excellent. Check in was swift and professional staff at check in desk very helpful. Arranged my car parking which is only £10 overnight.

Ok the decor in the halls and corridors is tired but the room was very good. Spacious, immaculately clean with good shower/ bath TV and comfortable bed. The decor in the rooms is modern enough.

The lobby areas and restaurant/ bars are very good and every time I passed a member of staff all had a smile for me and said hello. There's a nice feeling about this place.

The bar opens at 5pm and there's a half decent selection of beer and snacks. These were quite expensive but probably typical for a hotel and the beer was cheaper than the local pub!

The breakfast on Saturday morning has to be the best I have experienced. Spacious room with plenty tables even on a busy morning makes for a relaxed atmosphere while the food on offer from salads, cheese, cereal, fruit, hot breakfast and pastries was far more than I was expecting for the price I paid.

However the best feature of this hotel is the open area in front of the restaurant/ bar which affords superb views over the runway at Heathrow and Terminal 5. If you're an aviation enthusiast you will be in your element. Warm sunshine on Saturday helped make the experience even more pleasant and I decided to spend part of the afternoon just watching the airport activities.

The location of the hotel is very good being just off the A4 and 10 mins from the M25.

Overall, based on my experience 5 stars and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for the fantastic review.

I am so glad we exceeded your expectations and you had the opportunity to watch the planes from the terrace in the sunshine! If you are travelling to the airport next time you must try the POD these eco friendly driverless vehicles are available on demand and will transfer you directly to Terminal 5 in about 7 minutes.

I appreciate your comments about breakfast we have put a lot of hard work into getting the offering right for our guests and am especially proud of the live omelette station.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Good service at the check in very helpful and prompt rooms clean tidy and well equipped restaurant food above average and service good ... If you need a base for working around London or a hotel for travelling would highly recommend. Parking easy and only 10 for one night.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

I am glad you found the service prompt and your stay represented value for money. Your parking doesn’t have to stop at one night if your travelling from Heathrow you can leave your car with us as well.

We hope to welcome you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

OK, so it was cheap, so I can cope with the decor being very tired, the uncomfortable bed, the whine of a motor outside my room keeping me up. But charging £5 to give me the code to a gate. You need this code to use their much vaunted access to the Heathrow Pods. That's just taking the piss. Next time I'll pay a little extra and stay somewhere I can actually get a good nights sleep and that doesn't try and rip me off.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks you for your comments.

The access via the Pod to Heathrow Airport is a 5 minute ride without any waiting time. The £5 is collected by the hotel on behalf of Heathrow Pod and the fee is for the actual ride and not for the opening of the gate. The hotel has no financial gain in collecting the £5 per ride. There is also the Hoppa buses which is £4.50 each way and takes about 20 minutes to terminal 1,2,3 and 5 and 25 minutes to terminal 4. These buses leave every 30 minutes.

We are disappointed that Tripadvisor allowed your review to remain. We feel the profanity it contains breaches their family friendly guidelines. The hotel is constantly being re-decorated to ensure consistency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Usual early morning flight calls for a hotel at Heathrow. The requirements are cheapness and shuttle bus to the terminal and Thistle on this occasion came up trumps. Yes it is an airport hotel so not meant to be a holiday hotel but the room was clean and location quiet.
I had very pleasant fish and chips in the restaurant and the staff were efficient, no complaints.
Will I use the hotel again? Yes if flying from T5 and the price is the lowest.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Value for money is important to us and we hope this demonstrates the value we have in our guests. Next time you stay consider using the POD to travel to the airport. These on demand eco friendly driverless vehicles go direct to Terminal five in minutes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Excellent value, convenient location- I've stayed at many airport hotels and this was one of the better experiences. Rooms are smallish but clean, the beds were very comfortable, it was quiet, and above all very convenient for Heathrow. Staff very pleasant and helpful. What's not to like?

Room Tip: There's no lift so a ground floor room makes sense if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for your great comments.

Next time you stay you will have to watch the planes land from the restaurant. The view is fantastic. If you book with us online you can take advantage of online check in and our best rate guarantee.

Thank you for choosing the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.