We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent service, poor hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Decent service, poor hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel badly in need of refurb, decor very dated and tired, room small, bed small (although comfy), shoddy finishes (tap in sink broken, water didn't drain away well. The rooms are very randomly numbered and it was easy to get lost in the rabbit warren of corridors. We ate a buffet style dinner in the Longford Suite at the adjacent conference centre, food not great at all. The dj at our after-dinner disco was very average and had an unfortunate habit of managing to put a record on to kill the atmosphere. Breakfast very disappointing too. The only redeeming feature of the stay (apart from the company!) was the service from many of the staff. They were friendly and tried hard to please. Location good for Heathrow and breakfast room looks out over T5.
No lift so difficult for people who are not so mobile or have lots of luggage.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay.

We are in the process of updating all of our public areas and bedrooms. Although this has been a long process, we are working through this as quickly as possible. I do hope that you will continue to use the Thistle brand and possibly give us the opportunity to welcome you back to experience some of the changes that you are helping to influence.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    322
    381
    235
    234
See reviews for
132
413
210
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

First of all this hotel is adjacent to the runway. Its catering for a certain client who needs a stopover before flying from Heathrow. Its cheap and you get what you pay for.

The rooms are tiny! It felt like a Travelodge and the rooms were basic with nothing special. You certainly would not want to stay here more than a night.
TV, small bathroom, not much else!
What you do get is Parking, we stayed for an overnight before our flight to Malta and the main reason was for a morning flight and 8 days parking which was on-site. No moving of your car, its parked where you leave it.

The Hotel Hoppa is run by National Express - its a £7.50 return to drop you off a the Terminal. The payment is done from machine which does except cards. The bus runs every 30 minutes.

I would say this hotel is more convenient if you are going out of Terminal 1 or Terminal 5.
We went from Terminal 4 and its the furthest away (although hotels located on Bath Road are even further).

The best part of this hotel for me was the bar and restaurant. Massive and plenty of tables.
London prices though for food and drink.

Its alright, its cheap, its an airport hotel. The main use was to get 8 days parking and not rush around negotiating M25 in the morning. To that end it did a job!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Thistle London Heathrow. As you mentioned, we are constantly improving our product and hope that you are able to return in the future to experience the changes that we are implementing.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Late decision to stay here so I could pick up family coming in from the USA on an early flight. I know deals can be got if bookings are made in good time but this was far too expensive for the average standard offered by this hotel. My room was clean enough and it was quiet but customer service throughout the hotel is clearly not their strongest point. Waited 2 hours for Housekeeping to supply towels and reception failed to take any action to make it happen. No duty manager was there to complain to (or so I was told) Quite frankly I have stayed in better Premier Inns.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay. Your positive comments are most welcome. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting all your expectations during your recent stay. Our customer service is normally an area of real strength and it is disappointing to hear your experience was so different. I will be addressing this with the guest relations team.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked as had early morning flight and needed parking too, price for this was good value.
Room was clean, though bed more like an occasional double, and very uncomfortable. Bathroom was clean though very small and showering for a 6 foot man was tricky!
Used restaurant but wished we had gone to local pub as was very expensive and poor quality, pork was like leather and suet pudding did not resemble any suet pudding I have ever seen!
If you eat before you arrive and are only 4 foot tall then hotel is fine for one night if you are a heavy sleeper!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTNJET
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are looking for a good hotel close to all the Heathrow Terminals with good transport connections then the Thistle is a good find.
We stayed there for two reasons other than using the Airport. We were going to be in the area and I like to watch aircraft !
Rooms are adequate if a little dated and small, but ours had all the facilities we needed [ free wi-fi], including an excellent view of the landing runway!
We opted for the 'special offer' three course dinner in the restaurant which was exceptional for the price, good variety and served hot. The view from our table was an ever changing view of the airport.
Be prepared to pay £10 to park overnight or if staying w/e or bank holiday parking is free on the road.
A most enjoyable Easter Sunday.

Room Tip: Didn't see a lift so if you have a lot of luggage, go for a ground floor near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times as it is very convenient for Heathrow Airport.
Our latest stay was at the beginning of March after we had arrived from the Far East and not wanting to drive directly home because of the late hour and the jet lag. The reception staff are always very pleasant and very helpful. The rooms are a reasonable size ( for an airport hotel ) and with comfortable beds.The bathroom is small but clean and perfectly adequate with plenty of nice hot water. The hotel is a bit of a maze and the restaurant is inadequately signposted (in my opinion) but we had stayed here in the past and so we knew where to go. The breakfast is OK with all the usual food choices with a good view of the planes arriving/departing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice in 2012 and found it to be a good place to stay,right next to terminal five and it is an experience to sit in the resturant and watch aircraft landing,they are so close its exciting.
I returned to this hotel in March this year and as I walked in the door the receptionist Prekash saw me came to me and took my luggage,he rememberd me from last year he was more than helpful.
The resturant is good as well the staff are most polite but are willing to chat to you and are a very friendly and helpful bunch,the breakfast is buffet style but the food is all fresh and they only cook enough so that it is always freshly cooked. Superb. i

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.