We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisiest hotel in the world?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Noisiest hotel in the world?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is convenient for the airport and the accomodation is adequate which is part of the reason I have used it several times. The other reason is that it is a short walk to the White Horse pub which is excellent. There can be a problem checking in if you don't have the card used to make the booking, as my daughter found out, but, the big problem is the early morning noise. The corridors are very long and very narrow, the walls are very thin and the doors are very heavy. This is not a good combination if you don't want to get up at 5.30 am, or, have an early night! There also seems to be a communication problem between the front desk and the chambermaids. I was woken twice by the chambermaid coming into the room before I had checked out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    264
    325
    218
    227
See reviews for
114
354
188
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here several times over the years. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms are now less tired than they once were. We stay here mainly because of the proximity to a great local pub called The Whitehorse, which is a 10 min walk from the hotel (left out of the front gates). Hotel itself is fine for an overnight stay with car parking for your time away. The hotel doesn't have a lift, but there are staff on hand to help you upstairs with your luggage. There is a Hotel Hoppa bus service which takes you to the various terminals, taking from 10 to 30 mins depending on which one.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Brill hotel
Friendly staff
Loved watching planes land with breaky
Good room
Very cheap
Only thing would say is toilet to close to wall
But had a great stay comfy all the things i needed
Breakfast catered for everyone offered me a room upgrade for free but i was in the hotel all of 8 hours so pointless

Would defo stay again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Myself and three friends stayed at this hotel for just one night. We found all the staff courteous and helpful. The rooms were a bit on the small side, but extremely comfortable and clean (comfy beds). Tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron and TV provided. The only downside was the half mile walk to the rooms, not suitable for people with walking difficulties. Had our evening meal in the restaurant, starters were wonderful, two of the main courses were also very good, but the other two consisted of inedible lamb shank - avoid this.
Breakfasts were good, extensive choice of everything you can think of.
The restaurant overlooks the runway at T.5 Heathrow, we could have sat there all morning watching the planes land. Have we become plane spotters?

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties and do not have a wheelchair, ask for a room near to Reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel because i had a flight connection next morning. Going there from terminal five, taking bus no 423 is free!! In the morning take the same bus and not the one the hotel offers, which costs 4,50! I booked through booking.com with my fathers card but they needed an authorisation to take payment otherwise they would still get the money but not allow me to check in and stay!! This is totally silly and i got so upset that in the end they ended up apologising and giving me an executive room instead of a single standard! That was good but there was nothing to drink in the room as the hotels usually have, tea or coffee to be self-served. I wouldn't choose to stay again there. I would preferred another one.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business and its not much. Room I was in had a view of a wall and you could not open the window. For reference it was room 451. The facilities are ok. Bar is set back in the hotel and you have to pass the restaurant to get to it. The bar has a very good view of heathrows runway and T5. Staff are very friendly. Food is expensive but very nice. I guess if your after a bed for the night and you not that bothered on luxury then this is a good value hotel right next to the airport and M25.

Needs an update, outside very dated and the signs for getting around the hotel are not very informative and you can get confusing with the long corridors.

It's worth 3 stars, the staff make it pleasant, rooms are clean and OK, bar and restarant although confusing to get to are clean and tidy, food is good. Big plus point is the free WiFi, which is excellentmbut considering its prime location I think thistle group need to invest in bringing it upto date.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next travelling through Heathrow.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Higgledy Piggledy is the best way to describe this hotel, getting from the rooms to the restaurant / bar is at best a mission, but don´t let this put you off. If you need an overnight at Heathrow especially if you are travelling from T5 then this is a good option.

The room was a little small but it was clean and welcoming. The wifi is about the best I have ever had in a hotel - super fast.

I didnt eat in the hotel but went to the bar, after I managed to get there, the prices were high even for a hotel at Heathrow. The best thing about the bar / restaurant was the view of T5 and the North runway.

If you get the right price it is worth a visit as the hotel does everything you need for a night over at the airport but dont expect luxury.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.