We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Thistle London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
1 review
“A pleasant surprise....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Rather tired of previous Heathrow hotel, with a series of less than satisfactory issues, so thought I would try The Thistle. Having read mixed reviews wasn't quite sure what to expect, but thought I would give it a go as price extremely reasonable. And what a pleasant surprise. Yes, some bits are a bit tatty and (bizarrely) no lift, but the staff are great and are making a real effort. The broadband is fantastic (a real treat, coming from rural Devon!!) and the desk large enough to work at comfortably. For one night stays at £60/night it is absolutely fine. Will be coming back and hoping same staff are still there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    246
    308
    211
    224
See reviews for
110
333
181
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight prior to an early morning flight cost £111.00 in total for hotel, hoppa bus return, four nights parking and pre booked dinner for two which was three courses. Great value! Dinner was tasty and well presemted, staff were very attentative and drinks were your average hotel prices. Room was comfortable with everything you need including a full sized iron board.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. Value for money is key to our business and ensuring guest satisfaction. I am very pleased you felt this was achieved. We are always looking for ways to improve the product and services we offer and it is only through feedback such as yours that we can continue to do so.

We are continually adding different packages and ensuring our prices are competitive and hope you get opportunity to take advantage of one of the these offers in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel before an early morning flight earlier this week. For once I didn't bother checking its tripadvisor rating, assuming it would be fine based on the brand and the photos on the company's website. Big mistake.
First, there is no lift, only stairs. The hallways are extremely scruffy, with stained carpets, and smell horrible, like stale smoke. The rooms are smaller than those that I have stayed in at other Heathrow hotels. My room also had the same smell as the hallways, although not quite as strong. The decor in the room was outdated, including some very beat-up furniture and old carpets. The bathroom was even worse. The mirror was so old that it had black and brown marks on it (including one directly in the centre of the glass). I had planned on having a bath but quickly changed my mind when I saw the state of it: ancient, with stains, mould in the grout and filthy looking anti-slip strips. The smell in the room was terrible and made it difficult to fall asleep. I considered asking to change to another room but by then I just wanted to get some rest before my flight.
There was one thing that was really great about this hotel - the service. Each and every staff member I encountered was pleasant, professional, helpful and friendly. The restaurant has a stunning view of the T5 runway, and my dinner was very good. Although these things were really appreciated, they couldn't make up for my unpleasant stay due to the sorry state of many parts of the hotel, in particular my room. This hotel needs a major overhaul to bring its physical environment on par with its service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay.

The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment in all of our public areas and also our bedrooms. At the outset, please accept my apologies for the poor experience you encountered during your stay. I have shared your review with the all relevant department heads to ensure that we provide genuine hospitality to all our guests.

We do hope that you give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us by visiting either ourselves or one of our sister properties throughout the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Due to forecast bad weather we decided at very short notice to stopover at a hotel near to T5. Everthing worked well. It was at very short notice but everthing was taken care of by the very helpful staff. The room was small but quite adequate and we slept very well. The Restaurent served good food in a pleasant environment overlooking the airport. The airport bus, running every half hour, was on time and took less than 15 minutes to reach the departures terminal. Overall very convenient and ver efficient.

Room Tip: Perfect for an early morning departure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow.

I am glad to know that your stopover was to a good standard. We are continually adding different packages and ensuring our prices are competitive and hope you get opportunity to take advantage of one of the these offers in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was tired, the rooms were small and there was no lift or ramp access to the restaurant for a buggy or disabled. Bathroom very small too. However, the Restaurant staff were friendly, reception friendly. Annoying overpowering air freshener in reception. Very difficult to find as is not visible from the Main Street. Restaurant food very good, beef rendang is rated with on site chefs cooking fresh food. If you are disabled, however, you wouldn't be able to eat as there are 2 levels of stairs to go up.......................... Would I stay here again? For the price, no. Although it was only one night prior to early morning flight.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for literally 15 hours so can't go into much detail. We arrived mid afternoon, where to park our car (we paid for hotel and parking) was a little confusing but once we got to reception we were told we could leave it in the main carpark for the duration of our trip which was 5 nights.

Check in was quick, rooms are pretty small, basic and out dated, bathroom was a little dirty with mould on the ceiling. Rooms come equipped with kettle, tv and hair dryer. Although you can hear every take off from terminal 5 (it's the closest off site hotel at heathrow) after a while it doesn't phase you and we certainly didn't lose any sleep from it.

One thing that struck me was how quiet the hotel was, it was a Saturday evening at 7.30pm and the bar had 1 other couple in it and the restaurant 3 other couples. Food was good but felt a little edgy with staff out numbering guests! View of the runway was a nice bonus though whilst we ate.

Bus service to Heathrow took only about 10 minutes, I would only recommend this hotel for one night stays for early or late arrivals and departures, spend any longer here and you'll be bored stiff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for a night before, and a night after, our holiday. And we left our car while we were away. (It was fine.)

Although the hotel could do with a facelift and is looking a bit tired, it is functional as a one night stopover before/after flying. It is very convenient indeed for Terminal 5. The staff were friendly and helpful (helped us with our luggage), and the meal we had was surprisingly excellent.

Our rooms were basic but served their purpose. The bathrooms need more shelves, and the showers are low quality and difficult to adjust. The beds were comfortable, but the rooms were small. Free wifi worked well.

The whole place is a bit of a weird warren, with many long corridors and twists and turns. I wouldn't want to stay here for long, but it's perfectly acceptable as an airport stopover, which is what it is.

We found it quite difficult to find the entrance, so allow extra time for this!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that your stay was adequate.

We are currently looking at ways to increase guest satisfaction and ensure everyone leaves feeling they have received genuine value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.