We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Save Saved
You added Thistle London Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in West Drayton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

£12 taxi trip from Heathrow. Quiet, clean and comfortable room. WiFi not free. Room included breakfast - usual fare but quite good. Staff very friendly and helpful (we arrived at 10:30pm and they helped us confirm our next-day car rental). £4 shuttle bus to Heathrow leaves every 20 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay.

It is always nice to read such positive comments about your overall stay. We are pleased to announce to all our guests that wifi is now free at the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle London Heathrow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    203
    248
    187
    197
See reviews for
80
280
145
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Reading this you will think its a good hotel. To be honest its just average and a decent stopover for the Airport. Rooms are nothing special and the hotel is quite nondescript. So why so highly starred? 3 reasons. Staff were brilliant - nothing to much trouble. Food, surprisingly good - I has tiger prawn linguine in a chilli sauce and it was excellent and beers were well prices too. Finally, the view from the Bar lounge - stunning. T5 in the background and planes landing at Heathrow from the west, totally sound proofed. Incredible and the best view in the area.

Room Tip: Overlook the Car park - its away from the Runway as this hotel is on the Runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will continue to use the hotel in the future.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle London Heathrow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed for two nights and it was ok, I suppose. The fact that there's no lift to the 1st floor was a bit strange. I had to lug my heavy bag up 2 flights of stairs, which I must say, felt a bit strange in the 21st century. I was also, annoyed by their internet policy. Why do you have to pay extortionate prices for simple access to the internet. I know, this is common place in UK and US hotels and airports but it really gets on my nerves! I ended up paying 10 pounds just to send one email and another 7 pounds to pay for a plug adapter because my laptop had died. Aside from these points, the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here overnight for which the hotel is good. It's close to the airport with ample parking space. The rooms are well appointed though small and aligned along long closed corridors. Food is moderately ok.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, General Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Ideal Overnighter

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay.

It made a pleasing read, I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next travelling through Heathrow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, Essex
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I last used this hotel over two years ago and must say that it has improved greatly since then. Although it appears pretty ordinary from the outside and the rooms are still very compact, the interior has been refurbished and is now comfortable, clean and well equipped. Also, the staff are very pleasant and helpful. I have used this hotel primarily because of its proximity to Heathrow and the 14 day car parking facility, which makes it highly convenient and good value for money.
Just one thing- it's fine during the night, when there are no flights from the adjacent runway, but the noise level during the day might prove a bit much for anyone other than a keen aircraft enthusiast!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Hector 03
Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay. It was with great pleasure I read your recent review. I will ensure that your detailed feedback of facilities and staff mentions are passed down through the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Aycliffe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

First the positives; if you're going to or coming home from a holiday this hotel is really well situated. The restaurant looks out over Terminal 5, so is quite spectacular. So is the fact that there is a runway between you and T5. The food was generally very good although service tended to be with a sneer rather than a smile (some staff were very good).
The negatives: I stayed here for two weeks with work 29/11/12 to 9/12/12 so I sampled several rooms. The weather at that time was very cold and the heating systems varied from poor to awful, barely heating the room. The noise! Aircraft were taking off from 6.00am to 11.30pm and the glazing is not good enough to supress the noise. However, when you turned the heating system on it was so noisy you couldn't hear aircraft or anything else. Then there was the shuttle bus which starts about 4.00am and rattles its way around the car park dropping off and picking up passengers. Lastly many guests were travelling early or arriving late, so the noise in the corridors was not good.

Room Tip: Ask for an uprated room not facing the main car park. Tell them you want a quiet room. Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgras, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Peter H
Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle London Heathrow following your recent stay. Thank you for the positive comments and please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. We do as much as possible to ensure all guests have a quiet night sleep, including ensuring all rooms have triple glazed windows.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel, while looking positively hideous from the outside, is very modern and of a reasonably good quality within. Its literally a stones throw away from one of the major runways, and the restaurant looks over this. So anyone who loves planes will not be disappointed by this hotel. Watching a 747 whizz past you as your eating a full English breakfast is certainly memorable.

Surprisingly, sleep quality is good, considering how loud the bigger planes can be, they stop flying out at around 11ish, and start again early morning, but the sound proofing is good.

Access to London city centre is also good, albeit takes roughly an hour. There is a free shuttle bus every 30 minutes that takes you directly from outside the hotel to Terminal 5. And from there you can get the underground to the city centre on a day pass for roughly £8.

Room Tip: I would ask to not have a room with a window facing the runway, just to make sure your less likely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle London Heathrow
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Middlesex
Address: Bath Road - Longford, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.