We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adequate airport hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Heathrow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colnbrook Bypass, Heathrow Airport, West Drayton UB7 0HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
East Neuk of Fife
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An adequate airport hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We had two brief stopovers in October, one on our way out and on our way back from holiday.
Knowing our dates were firm, we booked ahead and pre-paid so that we could take advantage of we felt were excellent advance room only (weekend?) rates of GBP45.
The hotel was clean throughout, and though the decoration was a little tired in some areas, it was nothing worthy of complaint.
The room and en-suite were rather small, but their lay out was excellent and so didn't feel squashed.
Buffet breakfast, though expensive, was superb and we didn't feel the price was a rip-off.
The biggest downside was the Hoppa bus to and from the airport. This added GBP5 per person each way - for us a total of GBP20 - to the cost of the stay. I know that it would have been the same for any Heathrow hotel, but that doesn't make it any less annoying.
Overall, two happy stays - though had we been paying the 'walk-in' room rate I would have expected much, much more.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Airport shuttle bus
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    525
    550
    288
    187
See reviews for
166
594
270
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I stayed at the Heathrow Sheraton a few nights ago before an 11AM flight the next morning from Terminal 5. I was coming from another city and needed to stay a night in order to get a flight the next day. I booked on priceline.com since I really didn't care which hotel I got as long as it was decent and a comfortable place to stay.

I arrived at the hotel at around midnight and checked in. The hotel was easy to reach from T5 by a free local bus route #350. It was the first stop. The front desk staff was helpful enough. I noticed that the lobby could use a touchup. Same goes for the hallways on the way to my room. My room was large enough and had a comfortable queen size bed. Shower was good too.

Checkout the next morning at 7:30AM was quite crowded. Took the free bus once again to T5 which took less than 5 minutes. All in all a decent enough stay especially when considering I paid only $75 on priceline and it could be had for even less.

  • Liked — Easy access to T5, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Needs touchups to make it nicer
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

Stayed one night at the Sheraton to catch an early flight. Got quite a good deal on hotel with parking. Thought the room was ok, good for a stopover with all the necessary amenities. Comfortable and clean. Thought the staff at the hotel were quite rude and unhelpful (particularly when we returned from a 2 week trip to find a flat battery, nobody was willing to help) but other than that was an ok stay, although I think there are better hotels in the area for the same price.

  • Liked — distance to airport and ease of getting there
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

Quite possibly one of the worst Sheraton Hotels I have ever stayed in! There was a significant build up of soap scum in both the tub and sink, and the toilet could have used a good cleaning. Bed was so badly made up that I had to remake the bed so that my head wouldn't be resting on the 3 inches of exposed mattress.
Room service food arrived cold, and the long distance charges for international calls are pricey for terrible phone lines which cut in and out and make it virtually impossible to have a coherent conversation.
Can't recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Not up to Sheraton standards overall (as better shown at the Frankfurt Airport Hotel). Food and drink are so expensive that our family of three walked down the road to a McDonald's and were satisfied with that--after all, it's just an adjunct to Heathrow and nothing else.

  • Liked — Convenience to Heathrow
  • Disliked — Astonomical prices on incidentals
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

As I made my way down the narrow corridor to my ground floor bedroom, a kind of sickly feeling grabbed me right at the pit of my stomach. The carpet was stained, the walls were adorned with paper which had obviously been there from the times when wall paper was fashionable, wooden doors were bashed and scored and, above all, there was a musty, damp odour rising from the unheated corridor. It was the kind of standard that would have a Travel Lodge hanging its head in shame, never mind a Sheraton. The bedroom however offered fresh hope. It was small, the bathroom tiny but it was comfortable and offered tea/coffee making facilities and a TV with a good selection of channels including Sky Sports. However, the mixer tap in the bathroom sink produced only warm water regardless of the setting so a trip up the notorious corridor was necessary to obtain drinkable water from the fitness center. I also discovered there was a sizeable gap between the bedroom door and the door frame, large enough to let in a constant stream of light and facilitating the constant noise of adjoining bedroom doors being opened and shut as well as the chatter of other guests using the corridor.
On check out I discovered I had been charged a 1.75 UK Pound connection charge fee for making a 1 minute 2 second 0800 free phone telephone call. They also generously charged me a 1 UK pound subscription to a charity of their choice! Surprise, surprise, I was not asked if I had enjoyed my stay. Starwood Hotels should be ashamed of themselves as should the ETB or whoever else it is that awarded this delapidated property a 4 star classification. I have , I believe very generously, given it two.

  • Liked — Availability of Sky Sports
  • Disliked — Grubby feeling generally
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

The only thing going for this hotel is that it's convenient for Heathrow, and even then it's not very convenient. The building is a shabby, rundown 80's structure which has obviously been patched up in the 90's. Everything the hotel offers apart from the bed is extra, and expensively priced. Wifi Internet access was an unbelievable 15UKP for 24 hours. Even then, it barely worked. Breakfast was about 13UKP and consisted of a buffet with soggy scrambled eggs. The bar was ok, but expensive.

Our room was comfortable, but had a "view" of a concrete wall with air conditioning fixtures on it. As is usual for London hotels, the bathroom was cramped, but clean. Outside, the hall was a cartoon of a bad british hotel, it was dark, the carpet was icky, the walls were grimy in places, and had streaks where service carts had rubbed the wallpaper away. The hotel is located next to an immigration removal centre (ie where they put foreigners before deportation) and some of that institution seemed to be rubbing off.

I'm not sure what Sheraton were smoking when they rated this place, maybe they only thought about the reception desk.

  • Liked — The cleaning staff were friendly
  • Disliked — Nickel and Diming of everthing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Heathrow Hotel

Address: Colnbrook Bypass, Heathrow Airport, West Drayton UB7 0HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Heathrow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Heathrow Hotel is located less than a mile from Heathrow Terminal 5 and is only minutes away from any of the terminals. The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, The Link at Sheraton, Sheraton Club and Sheraton Fitness powered by Core Performance make it a comfortable choice where guests find a home away from home. A welcoming team of talent always strives to make guests feel special and to create a warm sense of community to be enjoyed by all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Drayton
West Drayton Sheraton
Sheraton Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.