We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Heathrow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colnbrook Bypass, Heathrow Airport, West Drayton UB7 0HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK for one night stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night before catching a flight from Heathrow. We were second in line to check-in but it took forever for the reception person to find our reservation and check us into the hotel. The rooms are OK with a nice bathroom. The breakfast buffet was average in a not very busy restaurant. The main problem that we had was a "wake-up" automated telephone call at 4:30 in the morning that would not cancel.
On checking out I complained to the receptionist who was very apologetic and cancelled our car park charge as recompense.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations-SH, Manager at Sheraton Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Woolas,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are sorry to read your comments about the check-in, breakfast and the wake-up call. Your observations help us to improve. We have reviewed them with our operational team. We trust we will prove to be better hosts next time you stay with us for a stopover.

Warm regards,

Antoni
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    524
    549
    288
    187
See reviews for
165
593
270
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barreiro, Portugal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I choose this hotel since i had a 7am flight back home, so arriving at 6am at Heathrow meant that i needed an hotel nearby the airport.
The Sheraton was chosen because of location and brand.
The brand was as expected, room quite big, comfy and very clean, but the "location" is a bit of a odd thing since even "just across the airport", the Shuttle meant almost a 20/30 wait until you actually arrive on the terminal.

Room Tip: rooms not facing the airport are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antopla, Manager at Sheraton Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear AlfredoTrips,

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Sheraton Heathrow Hotel. Great to read you enjoyed our facilites. We are sorry you had to wait for the Hoppa Bus. It runs more frequently at certain times than others. An excellent alternative are the free public busses, which stop a few minutes away from the hotel. You can find exact information about them on the Transport for London website. Or don't hesitate to contact our concierge team or myself directly before or during you stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you at soon again at the Sheraton Heathrow.

Warm regards,

Antoni
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel's "shuttle" is actually just a stop on two of the several metro bus lines that serve many of the hotels around Heathrow. You must wait without rain cover or heat for up to 30 minutes and pay $10+ for the pleasure.

The remodel of lobby spaces into the new comfortable living room style only partially offsets the plain vanilla rooms. The restaurant has not kept up with the dining revolution in London, except for the prices ($30 for a inedible hamburger with red slime meat). All a weird British take on standard bland 3-Star US hotel food. Overall a disappointment even for a Heathrow stop over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations-SH, Manager at Sheraton Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Baker_John,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately there is no complimentary shuttle service available from the airport to any of the Heathrow hotels. The Airport Authorities prohibits the hotels from providing their own service. The main link between the airport and the local hotels is the Hoppa Bus service which comes at a cost of GBP4.50 each way, when the tickets arebought in the bus and GBP4.00, when bought at our front desk. There are some public busses that stop nearby and they are free of charge in the vicinity. We apologise for any misunderstanding regarding the fares you had to pay, unfortunately we don’t have any control over this service.

We are sorry to read your feedback about our restaurant. The dishes served are as you might find them traditionally in England. Our aim however is to use the best fresh and local produce, such as the Hereford Beef steaks, arguably the best beef in the UK or the Wagyu beef burger. The Wagyu meet has an intense marbling and high percentage of unsaturated fats, which makes it feel softer and tender. This is why we still do serve our traditional beef burger in the bar or in room service. It is firmer, but still extremely tasty. We would love you could experience the difference, when you stay next time at the Sheraton Heathrow Hotel. Don’t hesitate to reach out to our Head Chef or to me directly.

Warm regards,

Antoni
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed one night for a flight from Heathrow. We checked in on a Sunday at 5.00 pm, which wasn't busy and there were only 2 people in front of us, but it took a long time to process. The reception area is quite dark but not unpleasant. Corridors and rooms are dated and hotel is obviously well-used. It looks grubby in places. Our rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. Rooms are well- insulated for noise and we weren't disturbed by others arriving late at night or leaving for early flights.
There are very few choices of restaurants in the area and the hotel restaurant was expensive with a limited selection of meals on the menu. Food was decent, but not good value for money possibly reflecting the fact that the hotel has a captive audience. Modern, pleasant decor in the restaurant and staff were courteous and attentive.
We paid £54 for the room (from a comparison website) and it was fine for a stop over. However, would have expected more from a recognised hotel chain - needs some TLC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations-SH, Manager at Sheraton Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear GandTNinja,

Thank you for your honest feedback about our hotel on TripAdvisor. Great to see you found the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed comfortable and your room very clean. Thank you also for your comments about our restaurant. We prepare our dishes with local and fresh produce. To be able to offer this quality of ingredients at its highest level of freshness, we unfortunately do have to limit the choice on the menu. We try to offer a selection of dishes, as they would have been traditionally prepared in the area. Should you however have any special wish, our team of chefs will be happy to cook it for you.

Warm regards,

Antoni
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed the just the one night at this hotel. For a Sheraton, it is indeed just average. It is a big hotel with nothing around it, except a McDonalds, so you are out of luck unless you have a vehicle, and we had just dropped off our rental car. The Reception area in terms of its design is not welcoming ,it is dark and tucked off to one side as you come in. No one steps up and greets you. No porter offered initially to help us with our luggage. There is only a fitness room, nothing else in the ay of facilities.
However in all fairness our room was fine, not a great TV selection, but OK.
What was outrageous was that they wanted 15 pounds a day for in room WiFi.....for doing what?! However they did have a section in the main area where there were computers and although I had a hassle with the password, I could at least check my e-mails and some of my favorite sites for free.
My biggest complaint is with the restaurant....not with the food, that was good. But they advertisied some specials on posters in the elevators, which looked to be pretty good deals. However, when we got to the restaurant we were told that these specials were not available....some weak answer about supply or something. To me it spoke of bait and switch and I really should have called in the Manager and complained.I sort of felt manipulated.
Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations-SH, Manager at Sheraton Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear PC138,

Thank you for your honest feedback about your experience at the Sheraton Heathrow Hotel. We are sorry to read about your valuation, but thank you for your comments and observation. We apologise for the confusion regarding the special menus. Don’t hesitate to reach out to one of our Duty Manager on shift 24 hours a day. We will honour what we advertise. Regarding the WiFi, as you mentioned, we do offer it for free at the Link@Sheraton, in all our public areas. It is also complimentary for our Starwood Preferred Guest Platinum and Gold members or, if you upgrade to a Club Room. There you will also be able to access the Sheraton Club Lounge, where we serve snacks and drinks during the day, hors d’oeuvres, wine and beer in the evening and Club breakfast in the morning.

Thank you again for your time. Your feedback helps us to improve and we trust next time you stay with us we will prove to be better hosts.

Warm regards,

Antoni
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I love Starwood and have stayed in all sorts of Sheratons over the years, but this would be near the bottom of my list of Sheratons to revisit. There wasn’t anything incredibly wrong with the place, we didn’t have an overly negative experience, it just struck me as very average.

Service: Great, as always. The only issue we had was that we arrived around 10:45 pm and were told that the bar would serve food until 11:30 pm, only to get there at 11:10 and be told that they stopped serving food at 11. No biggie, we settled for room service – limited menu but served quickly and the food we ordered was pretty good after a long day of traveling!

Cleanliness: This is a huge one and the hotel met the standard here.

Overall feel of the hotel: This is what put the hotel in the average category for us. While the lobby and bar had a great feel to them, those renovations didn’t make it to the rest of the hotel. Beyond just being outdated, the hallways had visible cracks, a bit of a smell, old paint, old carpet, etc. The rooms were much better, although the bathrooms look like they missed the renovations as well. Overall, the feel was just that we were in an old, outdated hotel that had spotty renovations and just needed some time for the older patches to get the facelift that the rest of the hotel did.

Additional Note: One nice thing about this hotel is that you can catch the Hoppa bus from the terminal to the hotel for only a few pounds. The buses run regularly and the front desk staff can provide a schedule if needed.

If we were connecting through London again, I would probably spring a few more points for a different hotel. But if this is your best option, it won’t hurt you for one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations-SH, Manager at Sheraton Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Rachel E,

Thank you for your thorough review of our hotel. Great to see you enjoyed the public areas, which we renovated about one year ago. We are working on a project to improve our guest floors, rooms and corridors. We trust this will definitely make the difference and you will want to come back to see how we did.
Thank you for the great comments about the service and the cleanliness. We apologize for the confusion with the bar closing hour. We have reviewed this with our bar team and will make sure this does not happened again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sheraton Heathrow Hotel.

Warm regards,

Antoni
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is an embarrassment to the Starwood brand. Its guests and employees all deserve better from the management team.

1. The physical condition of the hotel is shameful. The hallway carpets are stained and threadbare. The rooms are worn and the bathroom fixtures badly in need of renovation. I had an SPG preferred room and it was still substandard. The lighting is grim and the entire physical structure beyond the lobby badly in need of investment.

2. The ground floor area is passable; but don't be lured in by the renovated lobby!

3. That said, the employees and staff are a delight to work with - they are putting a brave face on a structure that is clearly past its prime. Management should do the right thing and give them a facility they can be proud of. Until that happens, I'd recommend the Sheraton Skyline.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations-SH, Manager at Sheraton Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear alphabetsoup2010,

Thank you for your honest feedback about the Sheraton Heathrow. We are sorry to read your comments about the state of the hotel. We are working on a project to renovate all our guest floors. We trust with will make the difference and you will want to stay with us again.

Thank you for your very friendly review about our team. Our aim is to offer a warm welcome and high level of service. Don’t hesitate to reach out to one of our Duty Managers on shift 24 hours a day or to myself directly, should there be anything we can do to improve your stay.

Warm regards,

Antoni
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Heathrow Hotel

Address: Colnbrook Bypass, Heathrow Airport, West Drayton UB7 0HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Heathrow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Heathrow Hotel is located less than a mile from Heathrow Terminal 5 and is only minutes away from any of the terminals. The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, The Link at Sheraton, Sheraton Club and Sheraton Fitness powered by Core Performance make it a comfortable choice where guests find a home away from home. A welcoming team of talent always strives to make guests feel special and to create a warm sense of community to be enjoyed by all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Drayton
West Drayton Sheraton
Sheraton Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.