We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child Friendly?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sipson Road, West Drayton UB7 0JU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
lincoln
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Child Friendly?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Having decided to take our 8 year old grandaughter to Legoland we looked around for a child friendly nearby hotel. The H.I. M4/J4 looked ideal as we could get a Hotel/Legoland package and it advertised a Childrens' Playroom, special children's check-in etc. During check-in there was no mention of child friendly facilities and the reception area seemed entirely populated by aircrew from numerous airlines.[ I note on the Legoland website that there is no reference to this being an airport hotel.] Later after wandering around searching for the childrens' playroom I enquired at reception to be told it was actually a " play area " and was usually set up in part of the lounge but as they didn't have many children staying they hadn't set it up. Bearing in mind we were staying during the school hols and there were other children staying in the hotel we were not impressed.
We made the mistake of booking a Quad room which for three adults and one child was verging on claustophobic and the aircon was struggling to keep the room temperature comfortable. We did appreciate the children's menu and the child eats free with an adult offer but would not have chosen the hotel if we had not been mislead by the "child friendly" advertising.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to learn that your stay was not to your expectations and would like to have the opportunity to apologise personally. I would ask that you kindly contact me via my e-mail address below at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards
Julie Smithers
Guest Relations
E-mail: Julie.smithers@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    494
    256
    124
    71
See reviews for
206
396
111
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to make a mid-day flight the next day. Some family came by to visit before we left and the bar area was quiet enough to visit with attentive service. We had a variety of food and everyone liked their dishes. Our guests parking was comped with having purchased food. This is our first choice for an over night stay -clean, large rooms with good service.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you chose to stay here and that we are your first choice hotel. We are delighted that your family were able to visit you and also enjoy our hotel and food. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Julie Smithers
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn M4 J4 the night before a 17-day holiday, and had booked via a 3rd party website that offered combined hotel and airport parking for a good price, which we had used before on many occasions.

The package included parking for the entire stay however the reception desk said their details only showed the parking booking covered the first 14 days, however this query was successfully resolved.

The accommodation was room only so we cannot comment on breakfast. As is usual with IHG hotels there was no free Wi-Fi in the rooms, which is a bit mean given the rate you pay for the hotel. Transport to the airport was via Hoppa Bus H1 which services the airport from early morning to late evening (book tickets from the machine at the hotel as it is cheaper than buying tickets on the bus!).

The only real negative comment is actually a big one...we were asked to leave our car keys so that the hotel could move our car to the back of the hotel if required whilst we were away on holiday. On our return to the hotel after the holiday I discovered the car had been moved to a different bay and my music player was missing from the car. The Police were informed and the hotel investigated the matter, but concluded no evidence of wrong doing, despite the fact the hotel had the only key to the car and it wasn't broken into. As a goodwill gesture the hotel have agreed to pay for a replacement music player. Would stay here again, but in future will refuse to leave my car keys, regardless of what the reception desk says. Once bitten...

Room Tip: Book via a third party for better rates and inclusive parking Pay for your Hoppa Bus from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. Further to our apology letter and goodwill gesture. I am pleased to say that a Satechi music player has been found in the car park. Unfortunately due to the time it has been there it does not work, we believe it may have fallen from your car by accident during the car parking procedures and again would offer our sincere apologies. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Julie Smithers
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I'm not a big fan of Holiday Inn, primarily because they charge for wifi (even in the lobby!) which I think is such a penny-pinching move. Today wifi is common-place in hotels around the world. We've come to expect it just like towels and blankets.
We were charged 5 pounds for 1 hour for 2 devices. I think it was something like 20 pounds (but I could be wrong - just quoting my memory) for 24 hours. And no free wifi in the lobby.
This Holiday Inn is much larger than those I've stayed at in the States - with 2+ restaurants. But I was disappointed with the rooms, and it's all in the details. Lamp shades that are dented-in, hair from a previous guest in the tub, etc.
Plus, beware: there are no hotel-sponsored buses to/from Heathrow. The airport runs the buses and they charge per person (although kids 15 and younger are free). I think it was 4 pounds per passenger 16 years old and above. On a positive note, the buses run very frequently and on-time which I appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your stay was not to your expectations. Free internet is available for Elite IHG reward members and for all IHG reward members from next year. We would like to have the opportunity to apologise personally and I would ask that you contact me via my e-mail below at your convenience. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards Julie Smithers
Guest Relations
E-mail: Julie.smithers@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Keeping up Appearances

Arriving at the hotel we (2 adults, one child) could not check in directly, because the booking system had collapsed, hence the complementary drink in one of the bars was most welcome.

After 15 mins we checked in and the 1. surprise was that we had to pay 12 pounds for parking for this one night. What was even more annoying was the fact that they in general charge 5 pounds for WiFi per hour. We renounced.

Entering the room an evil smell welcomed us. Although the air-condition was running, it did not manage to cool down this tiny bit of a family room (thank God we are slim).

The room temperature remained unchanged 26.5° C throughout the night, really tropical . Was this high temperature the reason for the missing hair drier? (outside day temperature:30°C). Unfortunately the fridge did not work!

In the bathroom you could hardly turn around, with two of us in there it was overcrowded.

Not recommendable!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologise for the issues that you had during your stay. Free internet is available for Elite IHG reward members and for all IHG reward members from next year. I would ask that you contact me via my e-mail below, so that we may apologise personally. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards
Julie Smithers
Guest Relations
E-mail: Julie.smithers@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hi ,

I always stay here(for last 2 years) during my business trips....It is conveniently located near Heathrow....The hotel is one of very few with good open space all around and located in less congested part of heathrow..The entrance and lobby is good. Its executive rooms are very spacious.

There is no market or shop nearby except for a pub nearby. There is a very good Indian food restaurant nearby at a walking distance of 7-10 mins called "Zayani"...For those travelling to Heathrow , there is a national express bus every 20 mins from hotel.

All in all it is a good hotel near Heathrow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that you have found our hotel to be conveniently located and that you have had the opportunity to enjoy the open space around the hotel grounds. Thank you once again for your review and look forward to continuing to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Julie Smithers
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here this week as part of a business conference and was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is ideally located close to Heathrow and suitable for those who have early flights to catch or need to get into London for an early meeting or appointment.

Times to Heathrow T1,2,3 : Approx 5 mins T4 Approx 20 mins (depending on time of day and traffic); T5 : Approx 10 mins.

It has great amenities - a good gym with plenty of cardio equipment and it's open 24 hours., a good choice of restaurants, a large bar and outside terrace (not that London has many days to enjoy it) and plenty of room for socialising so ideal for families or groups looking to kill the time (the immediate surrounding areas offer little in terms of drinking and drinking so this is quite important).

The rooms are basic but clean and maybe just short in need of a refresh but not a big deal as this hotel should be used for short stopovers and not a place to relax in. The bathroom is ok - but wouldn't like to have to stay there for more than a few days as the shower was, at best, adequate. Basic bathroom toiletries are provided.

They charge (rather extortionately ) for WIFI - why hotels still do this is beyond me as they are utterly ripping customers off.

I happened to stay on a rather hot night and my room's air con was broken so they supplied me with a portable air con unit. It was useless - I complained and asked to move rooms but the duty manager was not answering the phone every time they put me through. Frustrating. Other than this the stay was good and all the staff I met were very accommodation and helpful.

The breakfast buffet was very good with a good choice for the healthy and the hungry.

I'd stay here again if I had to but have not tried the other nearby hotels. (Novotel, Crown Plaza, and Premier Inn)

Room Tip: Make sure your air con is working and your room temperature is bearable. Oh and that WiFi charge is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you will stay with us again. Free internet is available for Elite IHG reward members and for all IHG reward members from next year. I am sorry to learn that you had an issue with your bedroom and would like to apologise personally and would ask that you kindly contact me via my e-mail below, thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards
Julie Smithers
Guest Relations
E-mail: Julie.smithers@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4

Address: Sipson Road, West Drayton UB7 0JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > West Drayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Drayton
#5 Luxury Hotel in West Drayton
#5 Business Hotel in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary and convenient, the Holiday Inn London Heathrow M4 J4 Hotel is just off the M4 motorway at Junction 4, minutes from Heathrow Airport, Terminal 5 and close to Stockley Business Park and Bedfont Lakes. Holiday Inn Heathrow M4 J4 is an ideal base to explore Central London, Legoland Windsor, Wembley and Twickenham. Holiday Inn London Heathrow M4 J4 offers Park, Stay & Go packages including one night's accommodations and car parking for up to 15days. Click hereAll bedrooms are spacious and equipped with air conditioning and high speed internet and wireless access throughout public areas.Our airport hotel is an ideal location for your meetings and conferences at Heathrow. 15 state of the art Academy meeting rooms are self-contained with dedicated and professional support. HSIA and WIFI available with unlimited Starbucks coffee.Workout & unwind in our complimentary Spirit Gym or indulge at one of the best Chinese and Thai restaurants at Heathrow Airport. Try our traditional Irish Pub or our lounge where refreshments are available 24 hours a day. The airport shuttle is 4 p/p each way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London-Heathrow m4, Jct 4 Hotel West Drayton
Holiday Inn West Drayton
West Drayton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4 West Drayton, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, JCT 4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.