We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POO on my bathroom floor!!! GROSS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Heathrow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London - Heathrow to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sipson Way - Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0DP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“POO on my bathroom floor!!! GROSS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Please avoid this place.
I am a platinum member with Intercontinental hotels and used to love this hotel. It was one of the best at Heathrow until recently. I have read on here about the hotels service level decline, and frankly I just expect bad service (I mean it IS in England...a place not known for its quality hotels and service) however, the lack of service never bothered me until my last stay. The rooms are generally clean and smart but small (however they WERE new, but are now showing their age - mold in bathrooms, scuffed carpet etc). Big issue here was hygiene.
My room literally had 3 or 4 of what can only be described as SKID MARKS on the bathroom floor....Human or Animal thats blatantly wrong and shows me they dont clean rooms adequately.
Called manager, was ignored multiple times. Went to bed as had EARLY flight - didnt use bathroom again. Checked out in the morning and demanded to speak with the GM. He basically told me he did not care that I was a platinum and prided himself on "never offering a refund to a customer" Slightly odd and not helpful in the least. In fact he blamed me for checking in late.... Indian run hotel with near 100% indian staff. Not impressed. Was offered Breakfast but frankly I question the cleanliness of the kitchen and the staff if poo is considered acceptable and "not refundable". Appalled. Will be appealing to corporate to beg the franchise to be pulled. Disgusting treatment. Also on checkout told they made a mistake and had used my credit card to secure another guests room....WTF!
avoid at all costs. I used to love this place, but now its literally just gross.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSTU, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear RichardCL
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor. It is comments like this that enable us to best improve our service and standards and you have our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that was caused during your recent stay with us.
However I would like to address certain points that you have made in your review which are not entirely accurate and are a distortion of the truth. Firstly you never spoke to me at anytime during your stay although you make clear and certain mention of that fact as well as a misguided opinion that I pride myself on never offering a discount. We are not an “Indian run” hotel but a wholly owned British Company that embraces diversity and employs people from all over the world. I fail to see why a particular race has any bearing on a perception of service and standards.
Finally I wish to make it quite clear that what you describe was certainly not human or animal excretion. A cracked tile on your bathroom floor allowed water to seep underneath the grouting and the mixture of glue on wood over a period of time has created a brown watery substance which could have lead you to believe this. On the question of compensation I do believe that you were awarded this without hesitation as a gesture of goodwill and without prejudice and with the hope that you would continue to use Intercontinental Hotels in the future.
Yours sincerely
Greg Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    406
    208
    74
    44
See reviews for
121
295
149
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
353 helpful votes 353 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights. The room was pleasant and the staff very friendly. What can you say about an airport hotel?? This one is nice, the public areas are well kept, the rooms are comfortable (too hot when I was there, see further on) and the window can open which is a bonus. When I stayed here the weather was very muggy so the room always felt too hot. I asked houskeeping for a sheet for the bed to use in place of the duvet. This was brought promptly and the lady also brought me a large electric fan as she realised I was struggling with the heat. I hadn't asked for it so I felt this was v.good customer service. The area around the hotel is rubbish though, there is really not much to do or see within walking distance, not even a decent shop for snacks. There is a good pub - The Pheasant about a 15 min walk away - which is really worth going to if you are staying for a while. I'll probably post a separate review about that. I have one gripe about this hotel, like I always have about hotels, THE PRICE OF DRINKS!!! this drives me nuts. Why do hotels find it acceptable to charge upwards of £7.00 for a glass of wine that can be bought in a supermarket for £5.00 per bottle. Grrrrr......will the major chains ever get this sorted? Anyway, I digress. If you have to stay at a Heathrow hotel you will do ok here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSTU, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Mary1967

Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn London-Heathrow, United Kingdom. We realise you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. It is always enlightening when a guest makes positive mention about the service they have received. With respect to bar prices, I assure you that the hotel remains competitive with other hotels in the area but we take your comments on board. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Stuart,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel, for the second time this year, in July. Unusually, my husband was also on business in the area so he stayed with me for the first night. We had dinner in the Wings restaurant and were pleasantly surprised. The food, from the buffet, was good and plentiful, and the chefs, Summet and Ali, did a great job both back and front of house. Our server, Amit, got the balance between being attentive and leaving us alone just right, and his wine suggestion was also an excellent choice.

There was an event taking over most of the bar area and the staff rallied to make sure that nobody was kept waiting for a drink.

The room was perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable.

I will stay here again next time I'm on business in the area, and would also consider using it for any departures from Heathrow airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSTU, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn London-Heathrow, United Kingdom. We realise you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. It is always enlightening when a guest makes positive mention about the service they have received and your comments will be passed on to Ali, Summit and Amit. We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Greg Stuart,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is a comfortable hotel with the potential to be excellent. I stayed one night in a standard room and one in an executive room. The latter especially was excellent, spacious and well equipped. The bar was pleasant and the restaurant buffet very good. When I asked for a couple of bin liners (garbage bags to Americans) to cover my friend's suitcase on the baggage rack of an old MG, they were produced with a smile.
But, but. The problem with the hotel -- and I have seen the same problem mentioned in reviews of other HIE hotels -- is that they will not spend the money on proper staffing. The reception is grossly understaffed: people wait in queues; the phone is not answered when you call them from the room, there is a concierge desk but I've not once seen anyone staffing it, and even in the restaurant there is one lone hostess/waitress for the whole place plus one kitchen staffer replenishing the buffet. There is no help available with luggage. A shame, because in all other ways it's pleasant, and useful for Heathrow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSTU, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are always happy when a guest raises certain issues with respect to their stay as it gives us the opportunity to improve on elements of our service that may need addressing. We realise that you may have many choices when it comes to lodging, hence we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused due to us not fulfilling your requirements on this occassion.

Your sincerely,

Greg Stuart,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I arrived in here, very tired after a long flight. I couldnt really fault the hotel. There was a lovely bar there. Plenty of channels on the TV. Room was reasonably clean. Ensuite was clean. A short but pleasent enough stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSTU, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn London-Heathrow, United Kingdom. We realise you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. It is always enlightening when a guest makes positive mention about the service they have received and your comments will be passed on to our staff. We look forward to your return. Regards, Greg Stuart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The first indication that this wasn't going to be a good experience was the front desk. The people working acted like it was a chore to check me in. There was no help with the luggage and we had to find a cart, and go through about 6 fire doors with the cart to get to our room on the third floor. The halls were dark and dingy and when we got to the room, the bathroom smelled like stale urine. The A/C didn't work well in the room, and we had to open the window which faced the runway at Heathrow, so the noise and the jet fumes were horrible. The internet was very expensive, but they do provide a half hour free, which was just enough to check emails and check in for the flight the following morning. Our flight was early the next morning and we really couldn't get much sleep. The location was great, but I would probably never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSTU, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are always happy when a guest raises certain issues with respect to their stay as it gives us the opportunity to improve on elements of our service that may need addressing. We realise that you may have many choices when it comes to lodging, hence we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused due to us not fulfilling your requirements on this occassion.

Your sincerely,

Greg Stuart,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We loved this hotel, even though our stay was about 7 hours. We arrived into London from Cairo late and took the local bus to the hotel. I had booked this hotel and prepaid the fantastic rate of 50 usd for the night and the room was lush, the bedding inviting, the shower relaxing and the hated wake up call, on time! It was worth every penny and we will use this hotel at Heathrow when needed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSTU, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn London-Heathrow, United Kingdom. We realise you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. It is always enlightening when a guest makes positive mention about the service they have received and your comments will be passed on to our staff. We look forward to your return. Regards, Greg Stuart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London - Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Heathrow

Address: Sipson Way - Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Drayton
#4 Business Hotel in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Holiday Inn London - Heathrow hotel for all the convenience of the airport with excellent transport links to central London. We are just 5 minutes from Heathrow Airport by Hoppa bus or taxi so staying with us is a great way to relax in a fresh and modern hotel. With our triple-glazed windows, flat screen TVs, air conditioning and high-speed wireless internet (free for the 1st half an hour of usage) in every non smoking guest guest room we aim to make your stay as productive and refreshing as you require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Hotel West Drayton
Holiday Inn West Drayton
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow West Drayton, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.