We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes

Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes
140 Bath Road, Hayes UB3 5AW, England
+44 20 8817 2607
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 68 Restaurants in Hayes
Price range: $24 - $48
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: With its handsome wood panelling and antique oil paintings, The Oceanic is a refined and elegant restaurant set within the Radisson Edwardian Heathrow Hotel in Hayes. Relax in the chic black and white striped chairs and savour a cosmopolitan menu of seasonal modern British cuisine, accompanied by a restrained international wine list. The chic salon offers private dining for up to 50 guests.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was expecting very expensive but mediocre food. Instead, it was reasonably priced and halfway decent. The service was awful (the meal took more than two hours), but we were just hanging out, waiting for our morning flight. Eating here was certainly better than wandering around (without a car), looking for something better. (There's a McDonald's around the corner, but we just couldn't do that.) They try to be a little fancy with the food, but they don't charge fancy prices. We paid more or less the same as we paid at many pubs out in Cornwall.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigRadBluEd, Manager at Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear taggartb,

Thank you for the lovely review, i hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Craig Lawson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    45
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The full English breakfast was plentiful in choice, needed to be refreshed a little more often, the food seemed to be overcooked (especially the eggs) and stale.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigRadBluEd, Manager at Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear teejay666,

Thank you for the review, i'll look into the breakfast comments, it won't happen again.

Regards

Craig Lawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“oasis in an otherwise mediocre hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Adequate wine list; prompt and efficient service by cheerful wiat staff and good value for the price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigRadBluEd, Manager at Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear barryid,

Thank you for the review, we will soon be completing our refurbishment, so you will see a big difference.

I hope to see you again soon.

Regards


Craig Lawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,254 reviews 1,254 reviews
694 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
3,618 helpful votes 3,618 helpful votes
“Poor!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for a stopover before off to NYC. The place looks upmarket, but the service is slow & amateur! Service at bar was bordering on rude!!
My company were paying as on sales incentive trip. Wine list cheap but poor quality with all the good stuff sold out. Food overpriced, well presented, but terrible. Either over seasoned or under seasoned, over cooked & bland! Served with a rediculous swirl of sauce on a big plate, much like
Michelin star in presentation but Spar in taste & quality!!
Shame on Radison Hotel Group, really need to sort this shambles out! Avoid!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigRadBluEd, Manager at Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for the review, I am sorry about your experience, however if you had of said something on the night, we could have put it right, rather than you leaving with a "sour taste inthe mouth" , so to speak.

Please contact me.

Regards


Craig Lawson.

Lawsonc@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great restaurant just terribly slow service let it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As per my title. I loved the set up of this restaurant. Prices are expensive for what the food is - but no suprises there.

This is a great place to catch a bite to eat before settling down for a good nights sleep ready for a early morning flight.

I think the food was so slow as we went in quite late (too busy enjoyin ght edrinks in bjou bar!). With two teenagers with us- it is not good to have to wait a hour between courses?! The were vitually asleep by the time their deserts rolled up.

I would proabably try it again but would be cautious to make sure there wouldn't be any major delays.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigRadBluEd, Manager at Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Kir321,

Thank you for the review, i will be speaking to the Restaurant Manager about this.

I do hope to see you back soon, where the service will be upto scratch.

Regards

Craig Lawson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes also viewed

 

Been to Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trunk Bar and Restaurant - Hayes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.