We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashion and not very good service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Bath Road, Hayes UB3 5AJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hayes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old fashion and not very good service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel just for one night as I had an early flight. The room is quite small but I can understand it as we're in London. The room decoration is from 30 years ago. You can easily hear you neighbours talking or having a shower. Finally, I had a problem with the toilet, it didn't flush properly, they sent someone to have a look and she mentioned there was nobody from maintenance (that was at 8 p m) and I should wait until next day (not very useful). I've been in many Holiday Inn, this has been the worse one.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    354
    198
    84
    42
See reviews for
93
209
161
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Conway, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was originally booked to fly out of Birmingham to Boston, but the 23 hour aerial tour of Europe got less and less desirable. I was able to check out of Birmingham a day early and arranged a stay over at the Ariel, flying out 1 December directly out of Heathrow. I was greeted at the front desk by friendly yet efficient staff. All amenities were explained thoroughly and they took over taking my case to my room for me. Although the hotel is at the edge of Heathrow (one can see planes when going out the front door), it was well insulated and quiet. The room was clean and comfortable. There was some kind of party or disco downstairs Saturday night but not a disturbance. The people next door were a bit boisterous returning to their room but did not carry on. I had elected to have dinner served in my room. It arrived promptly, hot and well done. Front desk staff set up my early morning wake up call and a car to take me to Heathrow and both were prompt. Although on holiday, I would probably stay at a more centrally located hotel but if I need to stay at a Heathrow hotel, my first choice would be at the Ariel. It was clean, comfortable, convenient, friendly, and efficient.

Room Tip: A second floor or above will be quieter if there are functions. Also as the hotel is circular, a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here, as many do, for one night before an early flight the next day. Having stayed at many HI's in my time this one is fairly average and typical of larger city locations. Bus dropped me off outside hotel which was good and free from airport. When I arrived there was a coach party arriving so I joined a long queue however I was soon hauled out and taken to the empty check-in desk which was good. Very quick and efficient process. My Gold priority status was recognised which was nice.
Room was on the inside, so quiet but small but okay otherwise, clean and functional, a tad cold to be honest. The air blowers are not the best heating system really.
I ate in the hotel, not much option really although MacDonald's is close by. The food was okay, just, but quick in coming and the service was attentive.
Free wifi is good for Gold members but it should be free in all hotels in this day, when traveling in Indo-China it is free in all hotels and most public places.
I was a bit surprised to see so many glasses int he walkways, these need to be cleared more regularly.
I had to leave at 5.30am, the bus picks up at the hotel, small charge £4 I think it was. The hotel puts on tea and coffee in reception which is good however I think a hotel that is so close to an airport should offer breakfast much earlier, from 4.30 at least, continental would suffice.
Overall it does the job, I would say again for the convenience.

Room Tip: Inside is quiet but small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Newquaygreen

Thank you for your detailed review and its great to see that there were elements of your stay, especially in the service that you appreciated.

We value your feedback and hope to see you again soon on your next visit.

Many thanks

Robert Galway
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very close to Heathrow terminals. The inside rooms are quieter but very very tight, the outer rooms larger but noisier. The amenities are good for a tight place. The desk staff are very nice and quite accommodating. I would recommend booking ahead.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura E, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thanks for your review of our uniquely circular hotel- its great isn't it?!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Eggleton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel really nice staff really friendly and helpful, had a nice breakfast. Only downfall is the parking charges, seems to be a lot of money staying in the hotel. Would use the hotel again if up that way, nice meals in the bar of an evening.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura E, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thanks for your review- looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Wishes

Laura Eggleton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just arrived late from overseas and figured staying by the airport made since before my train trip in the morning.

The price was great. And the Hoppa Bus does really add to the price that much.
I walked into the disco.. I mean hotel about 11pm. When I talked to the clerk I literally could not hear her replies as the music was so loud.
She gave me a free drink coupon (YEAH!!) but the music was so loud I did not avail myself.
I could hear the music pumping when I got to my room as I was on the 2nd floor almost above the bar. I decided to check email before going to bed. Couldn't get on the internet.. there is no 'complimentary' button on the site. I go back downstairs and there is a queue at reception (not that they would have heard me anyway).... I returned back to my room. I was up at 4am... and went downstairs to see if I could get internet access. I was given a special code.. which is fine.. but why have all papers say 'click' here?.. just give out the codes to begin with.

I checked out at 7am and went to the train station without having really slept. Miserable day. The whole reason I flew over in the day was to avoid jet lag.... and get a good night's sleep.

I am all for loud parties.
I am all for hotels making money.
But does the Ariel really want to rent out their bar for a holiday party? The hotel seems to cater to the airport crowd.... which typically involves sleeping and odd hours.

The person who checked me out saw that I was tired (I didn't complain). ..and gave me 1000 points for my troubles. It was a nice gesture and she should be commended.

Room Tip: High floors not near the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura E, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your review, I was obviously disappointed to see that you have left our hotel unhappy. Please contact me direct using laura.eggleton@ihg.com so that I can make good your impression of our hotel and ensure that you want to return.

Kind Regards

Laura Eggleton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived late for a one night stay before leaving London the next day. I had flown in from Paris, caught the Hoppa right to the hotel, got checked in quickly, and had a drink. The staff was friendly and helpful with my next day's Hoppa schedule. It is a convenience location to the airport and I would definitely stay there again. I had the buffet breakfast which was good with plenty of food before boarding a flight to the US.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Beth H

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with the trip advisor community. I am delighted you had a short but sweet stay and we set you up nicely for your flight.

Hope to see you again soon on your next travels in or out of Heathrow.

Many thanks

Robert Galway
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel

Address: 118 Bath Road, Hayes UB3 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hayes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hayes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London Heathrow Ariel is located conveniently just minutes away from London Heathrow Airport with the new Terminal 5. We are a short ride on the Heathrow Express from Central London. Being the first Airport Hotel at Heathrow we know what it takes to make it feel 'home from home'. We offer our guest's designed blackout rooms with double glazed windows to help with a good nights sleep and a fresh start before your meeting or a long flight. The Holiday Inn London Heathrow Ariel offers Airport Parking at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Fly package All the bedrooms and the public area have Air Conditioning and HSIA (High Speed Internet Access) The Holiday Inn London Heathrow Ariel offers a fully equipped, purpose built conference centre for your meeting and training needs. The Airport Shuttle operated by BAA & National Express, Hotel Hoppa H6 runs to & from the hotel and Heathrow Airport terminals 1, 2 & 3 and Hotel Hoppa H56 runs to & from the hotel and Heathrow Airport terminals 5 every 15 minutes everyday. Adult price is 4.00 per person one way. From Terminal 4, take the Heathrow Express (Free) to T1, 2 & 3 and then take the Airport Shuttle as above. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel Hotel Hayes
Holiday Inn Hayes
Hayes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel Hayes, UK - Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Heathrow Ariel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.