We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Bath Road, Hayes UB3 5AW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book No & Save Up To 20%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hayes
Worcester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

Stayed overnight on 3rd October, 2008. Special rate of £150 p.night including 15 days parking which was a great bonus as we were flying out to Australia the following day. Room was horrible: outdated and gloomy but in fairness the 2nd floor was being refurbished which is probably completed by now. Excellent meal in the restaurant. Hotel is very well located for Terminal 3.
Staff were not interested in my adverse comments about our room. I complained to a member of staff about the state of our room - he said 'sorry about that, sir' and walked away leaving me in the middle of reception !! When we returned from our holiday we were offered 10% discount by our agents for our next booking which we declined as all we wanted was an explanation and an apology. Might stay again when refurbishment is completed especially at the reasonable rate offered but only for the purpose of access to Heathrow - at least we'll be prepared for their idea of a 5 star hotel !!

  • Liked — Proximity to Heathrow T3
  • Disliked — Grubby, outdated, smelly, gloomy otherwise brilliant !!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinHeathrow, Gavin Sanders HOTEL MANAGER at Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our food , and would like to remind everyone once again that we are currently refurbishing our bedrooms to a very high standard . We currently have completed over 120 rooms .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    818
    388
    191
    130
See reviews for
273
814
284
818
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

Checking in was OK. The service from the staff was not what one would expect for 116 pounds per night. The again, nothing justified the price. The heating didn't seem to work. It was set to 26 degrees celsius but it was freezing. I had no hot water in the shower. I tried all dials and buttons but it just seemed they had run out. When I mentioned this at the reception they just shrugged.
By the way, did I mention that breakfast wasn't even included in the 116 pounds? Well, it wasn't. That would have set me back another 17 pounds! Needless to say I declined.
I was very disappointed. I had the impression they weren't too bothered about their customers being satisfied. Maybe they think their location is enough?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The price to quality/service ratio.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinHeathrow, Gavin Sanders HOTEL MANAGER at Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
I assure you we are deeply concerned about all our customers, and their comments , hense why I respond to everey trip advisor review .

We ddi have an isolated heating problem on that night which effected a small section of the Hotel , and i am sorry that this was not communicated to you , nor your complaint , once raised was handled as I would have liked .
We will try to learn from this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

Since I only stayed in this hotel on a stop-over, I didn't have a chance to use most of the facilities of this hotel (fitness club, restaurants, etc.)

So this review is based soly on
The check-in experience
The room and hallways
The business center and parking

This is a massive hotel. You really have to watch the signs or you can get lost

The check-in was ok. You see many different theme restaurants on the way to your room.

The hallways on my 4th floor are quite dark (dark color scheme and not too bright lighting) The carpet look a bit dirty.

My room was very compact. I saw bigger rooms with flat screen TVs posted by other reviewers. My room decor was quite brown.

The GOOD
- Bed was comfortable
- Heating/Ventilation worked well
- The wireless signal was weak, however when I called the concierge, within 5 minutes, they were at my door with a free booster hub (deposit required)
- Kettle with free hot drinks
- Room safe
- Concierge staff is very friendly and helpful

Okay, but some problems
- Wireless signal weak in my room, but corrected quickly
- TV is very small with few channels, and the pay channels are strategically placed in between the free channels
- Sparse amenities in the bathroom
- I needed to make a scan, but it was a Saturday and the business center was closed
- Housekeeping staff had a loud conversation in the halway at 7:30AM outside my door

CONCLUSION
- An OK hotel for a quick stop-over. The rooms and hallways
could be re-decorated in lighter colors and more modern styles to make them feel more spacious (instead of feeling cramped)

  • Liked — The concierge staff
  • Disliked — Cramped room needs a makeover
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinHeathrow, Gavin Sanders HOTEL MANAGER at Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2008
thank you for the review ,

I would like you to know that on 13th December a new pay TV service is being installed in our newly refurbished rooms , dramatically increasing the Quality and variety of Movies and in room entertainment facilities available .

Our corridors are dark , but deliberatley so , as many of our customers need to sleep at all hours , and they find this helps , for those customers not so keen on the corridor decor , please bear in mind it is only a corridor , not your room .I can assure you whilst the carpets are dark , they certainly are not dirty.

I am realy gald they liked the free internet service , and we are currently updating the system which will boost the signal even further , and when finished eradicate any weak signal issues , even though these comments are quite rare .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Stayed one night in a newly refurbished room in November, while on business in the London-area. Arrived late and check-in was fast and very efficient. Staff seemed professional and truly helpful. Have to admit that I didn’t have very high thoughts of Radisson Edwardian, after reading some of the rather awful reviews here on TA. Was therefor very surprised when I check-in and found my room to be stylish and actually pretty excellent! Huge heavenly bed (almost like Westin and Sheraton) with good, comfortable pillows, flat screen-TV, quality towels, proper sized bathroom and working A/C. Came from an overnight layover in Kiev, Ukraine – with no hot water in the entire hotel-building…so Radisson Edwardian was a pleasant surprise. Have never had a more delightful hot shower in my entire life! Also tried the room-service, which was efficient and pretty good. Nothing extraordinaire. Overall a good stay. 4 stars to Radisson Edwardian Heathrow Hotel. I’ll be back!

  • Liked — Heavenly bed and room-design
  • Disliked — Distance to Heahtrow - taxi cost £11
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigRadBluEd, Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Thank you for this review, now we are in 2014, This Hotel has been transformed, We now have state of the art Audio Visual equipment in lovely new Conference Rooms.

The Bedrooms are refurbished & the Restaurants & bars are new.

We are planning to open a Fish & Chip Shop in 2015 too.

You will be surprised at the difference.. Come and see the changes for yourself.

Regards

Craig Lawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

Good hotel with nice restaurant and friendly staff ideally situated for Heathrow - 2 vodka and tonics £20 though so beware !

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinHeathrow, Gavin Sanders HOTEL MANAGER at Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2008
Our bar is a doubles bar , therefore the price of £10.00 is for a double Vodka and mixer.
Single measures are available on request at only £4.00 , plus the mixer, and we feel more than a fair price for a bar of this quality .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

I found this hotel when I was looking for airport parking deals for my holiday. The car parks were quoting about £250 for a 19 day stay. This hotel cost £138 for a twin room and 15 days parking, I think that this was a good deal.

The staff here are excellent, from the desk staff at check in, to the conceirge team, to the waiters at breakfast.

The room was a little on the tired side and the air conditioning packed up just before midnight, luckily we found someone who had the key to open the windows...

Extra days parking was £12 per day

  • Liked — Parking deal, staff
  • Disliked — room needed some TLC
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinHeathrow, Gavin Sanders HOTEL MANAGER at Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2008
we aknowlegde that a number of our rooms are still to be upgraded, but we do currently have 120 newly refurbished beautiful modern bedrooms available .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

Stayed at this hotel before flying out to the USA at the end of September 2008.

Check-in was efficient, and the hotel was generally clean and well-serviced. We went to the bar for a drink and snack, and ordered two burgers which, to be fair, were pretty good.

However - and be very vary of this - when I went to the bar to pay I was amazed that 2 burgers and a pint cost over 30 pounds. When I queried this, and asked to see a copy of the bill, I was told that this total included a discretionary 18% tip. A supervisor was in earshot, who instructed the waiter to print the bill off to let me see it. Lo and behold the actual bill was around 25 pounds.

Breakfast was OK the following morning.

Overall, a good stay, although a warning to all about the addition of the tips to the tab - not a good thing.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinHeathrow, Gavin Sanders HOTEL MANAGER at Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2008
service charge is optional for all Food and beverage purchases , and is only charged to the customer if they agree to it .
Service charge is not charged to any customer who asks for it to be removed .
The service charge percentage is 12.5 % not 18% stated by the reviewer .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel

Address: 140 Bath Road, Hayes UB3 5AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hayes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hayes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hayes
#3 Business Hotel in Hayes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 459
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Hayes
Radisson Hayes
Hayes Radisson
Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel Hayes, UK - Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.