We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must for car enthusiasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London Motor Museum

London Motor Museum
3, Nestles Avenue | Hayes Middlesex, Hayes UB3 4SB, England
08001950777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Hayes
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: London Motor Museum. The London Motor Museum located in Hayes, Greater London, is home to one of the largest collections of both classic and custom automobiles in Europe (the number may have risen since you have read this paragraph); Home to over 200 of the finest collectables including a 1937 Auburn Speedster, a 1967 ‘Eleanor’ GT500, a 1937 Lincoln Zephyr with over £155,000 worth of customisation the London Motor Museum is truly remarkable.More than just classic cars the London Motor Museum boasts a wide range of unique vehicles and exhibitions, ranging from the 1930’s to the present day. Exhibits include The Movie Car Section, The Bat-Cave (home to both the 1966 and 1989 Batmobile), Muscle Car Alley, The Supercar Paddock (home to some of the fastest cars in the world), and much more…As well as boasting a diverse collection the museum also has fantastic facilities including a Coffee Bar which serves freshly ground coffee (Coffee Republic), and a gift shop. Or why not enjoy a film or documentary in our 24-seat cinema room. New for 2013 ‘The Super-Car Workshop’, a brand new state of the art custom car workshop home to TKO London* Mansory UK, wherein museum visitors can see the process of customisation, live, as it happens; a first for UK car museums and a truly unique visitor attraction. The London Motor Museum is a great day out and we promise that you will have great time. Prices Standard Online Price Annual Membership Adult £30.00 £22.50 £75.00Child £20.00 £15.00 £40.00Student £20.00 £15.00 £50.00Senior £20.00 £15.00 £50.00Family £75.00 £56.25 £110.00
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“must for car enthusiasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I am not a car enthusiast, but I found this to be a great private collection of cars, mainly American, spanning several decades. Starting from humble beginnings in 2001 with only seven cars to a very large collection today.The exhibition has a variety of themes such as film cars, exclusive cars and European cars. Most cars are labelled and information displayed. There is a small area where children can learn about road safety. There is a observation area of the workshop.The reception is small but staff are friendly. There is a small gift shop and cafeteria with an area to view the history of cars on film. 1- 1.5hrs is ample time to enjoy this museum with all exhibits on ground floor. The museum is located in a residential area so parking is very limited. Hayes and Harlington train station is about 3 minutes walk and Hayes Town car park is about 5 minutes walk away. All in all, a good place to visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    54
    35
    18
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“I liked it but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a great private collection, mainly focusing on BIG American cars (and I mean big – the biggest I have EVER SEEN). Modern cars there also – I loved the new 2 door, soft top RR and the original Hummer. However, this is not a place for the casual viewer. Set behind a housing estate on an industrial site, parking is limited to about 4 cars! The whole exhibition can be viewed in about 45 minutes, so the admission price is a bit steep. Not all exhibits are labelled. The entrance area is tired – coffee bar and shop need a bit of an update. I love cars, so this is a must-see-once –in-your-life experience. But this is not everyone’s cup of tea – hence my score.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Bit out of the way but if and only if you are into cars then visit it. Its got loads of beautiful cars from different times in perfect condition. Two batmobiles, includng the really old one with the blade that shoots out frrom between the lights. harry potters car, Mr Beans. Lots of really cool cars from the states like the cars in 'Grease' if youv'e seen it. No queues, wear a coat on a chilly day, if you like your cars worth it, if not dont.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have to say from some of the comments that have been written, some people need to do their homework before they go to attractions. If you look at the website it clearly states that they charge £10 to use their car park and that it is small. The museum was started from a collector who has kindly put the cars on display for the public. It also states which cars and themes they mainly are. To give this business a poor score because certain people have not done their homework is just rude. Why some have moaned that it doesn't not cater for children is just ridiculers! Its a museum not a playground!

I took my boyfriend here on the 4th January and it was brilliant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is such a range of cars new and old, weird and wonderful. Each cars has information with it-some could have been in a bigger font but had everything you needed to know on there. The only thing that I will say let the collection down was there was a Ferrari F40 which was a replica and it was clear if you know your Ferrari's it was a replica.
Yes, the warehouse was very cold but its a warehouse what do you expect? Wear a warm coat. Loved the fact you could go and see what cars they were working on and the majority of custom cars were done there. The low-riders were great. If you wanted to know more about each car a member of staff (sorry don't know his name) was happy to tell you more about it.
The theatre was good we watched a film about the legacy MG Motors.
The coffee shop was nice and cosy. Loved the tables made from massive tyres. Was very relaxed atmosphere. The lady serving coffee was very nice. The gift shop was small but had a variety of gifts.
Was a great day out and very easy to get to- being so close to Hayes train station. We will be going again with friends later on in the year. The website has everything you need to know on there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expensive Couple of Hours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We were very disappointed by our visit today. We had Tesco days out vouchers but at £75 for a family of four very expensive. It was hard to decide if man selling entrance worked there. He was as miserable as sin and not welcoming at all. There was no guide book available. The warehouse was freezing. The information on the cars is in tiny writing on A4 sheets many of them low down on the ground. There is nothing hands on for children. We were not even there two hours. The gift shop is pathetic. The toilets were in a poor state. There is no parking. Outside are a collection of vehicles in a state of disrepair. Would not recommend or return.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Motor Museum also viewed

 

Been to London Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Motor Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.