We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fir Tree, Bishop Auckland DL13 4NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Quirky!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This review is written from a point of view of using a KGB deal. We didn't pay much, therefore our expectations were set appropriately.

Highs to start:
The staff there are really friendly, keen to help, and pass the time of day.
Our room was clean, though tired and in need of redecoration.
The beds are really comfy, and we slept very well, with no traffic noise.
Using the KGB deal, the value was excellent.
The steak night (Steak and a drink for £10) was great value, and the steaks were of good quality.
Breakfast included was adequate, with a range of cereals, fruit, toast, yogurts and drinks.You can also upgrade to a cooked breakfast for £5 supplement.
Bar prices not too expensive for a hotel.

The lows:
The staff there really try to deliver, however the service needs to improve. The bar staff are also the receptionist and the waiters in the restaurant, so sometimes, the bar is left unattended for quite a while.
Its been mentioned else where, but the showers! I was showering, and after less than 2 mins, the water turned to a trickle and then stopped! When mentioned at Reception, they said that this is something they are working to resolve - they know there's an issue. The bath saved the day however as there was never a shortage of hot water.

Summary
We would return at the right price - you just need to remember you are not paying Marriott prices, so don't expect Marriott service and facilities. the majority of the people at the hotel when we were there were also on the KGB deals, and in the large accepted the hotels quirks in good humour!

If you fancy a meal out of the hotel, we recommend the Bay Horse Hotel in Wolsingham (about 10 min drive away) excellent food, massive portions, and good value. (Tip here is NOT to order a starter - you'll be full after the main, especially if you have the burger!!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair L, Duty Manager - Laura at Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello

Thanks for your review, all of the rooms for improvements have been taken on board, I hope you return again sometime when the deals are back up and running.

Kind Regards
Laura and all of the staff at the Helme Park Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    75
    25
    23
    26
See reviews for
26
114
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

What the hotel lacks in style it makes up for in its warmth, friendliness, accessibility and the welcome of the staff who could not have been more helpful.
An excellent base for touring the North East, and a cosy place to spend a cold winters evening. The food is good and plentiful, the rooms perfectly adequate and the bar area comfortable. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair L, Duty Manager - Laura at Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hi Maggie,

Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel, it is great that you found the location excellent for what you came away for, and the staff are thankful for your praise. Thank you for recommending our hotel, All the Best

Laura & All the Team at Helme Park Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just had a two nights stay at this hotel and we found the views from the hotel most pleasing although this was not the case from our room. All the staff were very friendly and provided an excellent service with a smile. Indeed some of them were very young but we could not fault them and their attitude is a credit to their generation. Over the years we have travelled and stayed in many hotels at home and abroad and have developed a standard that is sometimes difficult to please but this hotel meets all our requirements. Our compliments to the chef also as the food was very good and beautifully cooked, presented and served with a smile. We hope to return and upgrade to a room with a view. Anyone with any doubts - especially reading some of the other reviews - please visit and find out for yourselves. The Girlings Lincolnshire

Room Tip: Wi -Fi reception bad on the Wenslydale side and the views not as good as the opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair L, Duty Manager - Laura at Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Mrs Girling,

Pleased to hear that you have arrived home safe and well. Unfortunately with us being fully booked that weekend we could not offer you one of our rooms which has the endless views of Weardale! I hope everything else in the Wensleydale room was ok for you both.

I am thrilled that the staff made you feel comfortable and provided you with the service that you and all of our other customers deserve when you come away for a relaxing weekend. We do have a few staff which are early twenties and look younger than they actually are, however like you said they are a credit to their generation and a keen to work and progress in the hospitality industry - nothing is a bother to them :)

I have passed your compliments on to the chef and he said come back anytime and he will have pleasure cooking for the 2 of you again! Hopefully we will see you sooner rather than later, thanks once again for your time in reviewing our hotel.

Laura & All of the staff at the Helme Park Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Firstly sorry for the late review :) family had a great Christmas meal here and Santa even made an appearance much to the delight of the children in our part thanks to Alex I think :) anyway we have stayed here many times for family birthdays and as always nothing has been too much trouble food excellent rooms nice and clean and views to die for:)
thank you Laura and the team
c charlton and family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair L, Duty Manager - Laura at Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Christine,

Don't worry about the late review, it is always nice to hear from our customers! I am pleased you had a lovely Christmas Meal and bless the children they were ecstatic when santa came out afterwards and gave them all presents, yes it was the chef who had the joys of dressing up - not something which he is asked to do everyday but hey the perks of the job :)

We look forward to seeing you and the family soon, i am sure there will be a birthday or an event in the near future which we can help you with.

Speak Soon
Laura & All of the staff at the Helme Park Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Four of us arrived at the Helme Park Thursday 24th Jan, and it was booked through KGB for a birthday treat. It was touch and go initially as to whether we would get there due to adverse weather conditions in the Durham area, but the reception called us on the morning of the 24th before we set off to advise us that the roads were clear, and it was safe to drive over, which we thought was lovely of her to keep us informed.
Anyway, our friends stayed in a lovely room at one end of the corridor, whilst we were at the other end in an equally lovely room. The views were breathtaking, more so with the snow covered fields and trees etc.
We have read some of the previous comments on trip advisor regarding some of the rooms, and yes, in some parts there is room for improvement, but in general we have stayed in higher priced hotels which were so much worse than here. The bed was so comfortable, there was lots of wardrobe and drawer space, which is a must for us, and plenty of bathroom space. Maybe our bathroom could do with a new bathroom caddy as it was all rusty and had seen better days, shower pressure was not very good, but these things can be remedied, and hardly worth mentioning as it does say that a lot of the rooms are going to be refurbished etc, so this can only be a good thing. The meals were fantastic, you really must dine there, we were really impressed with main meals and also full English breakfast. What can we say about the staff!!! Well they were all really lovely, and all of them were helpful, friendly, even when it got slightly busier on the second day we were there. We stayed in the bar till late both nights we were there, and had a lovely time.
Please be aware if you decide to go for a drink in the nearby Fir Tree Village, ask the reception to order a taxi for you, as we decided to walk to the village pub The Duke of York, in the snow, which was difficult, and after staying at the pub till around 10 ish asked the bar staff to order a taxi for us. When said taxi arrived, he had taken us part of the way back to the Helm Park which was literally a mile and a half away, before informing us that he would have to charge us for him coming from Crook to pick us up!! This journey cost £8.00, which we paid as we had no choice by then, but after returning to Helme Park we were told that this should not have happened, and we should not have been charged for taxi having to drive from Crook.
Of course if weather had been good we could have easily walked on path there and back, but we had a wonderful time irrespective of weather, taxi, and some small niggles.

All the best to Sam, Lisa and the lovely new lad behind the bar, Alex the chef, and everyone else whose names we cannot remember, but who were all fantastic. Well done!

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the Teesdale which really did have breathtaking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair L, Duty Manager - Laura at Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello there,

Nice to hear from the 4 of you, hope you enjoyed the birthday cake, i know that myself & Sam certainly did! Thanks for offering us a piece :)

I always aim to keep our guests in the know, especially when the weather was knee deep in snow, i am pleased that you found this useful.

We are aware that some of the bedrooms are in need of updating, and this is in our plans for the end of this year as well as the coming year, however our prices are reflective of this. Hopefully if you visit the hotel again you will see the updates we aim to make.

I am pleased that on both occasions you enjoyed the food, i will pass this on to our Chef as it is always nice to receive compliments. It is also great encouragement for myself and the staff here at the hotel when we meet such nice people and receive such pleasant compliments, it is fab to know that our service is appreciated! Thanks once again!!

Best Wishes from
Laura, Alex, Mike, Sam, Christine, Helen, David, Georgia & Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just back from a great weekend at Helme Park which we used as a base to visit local attractions. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the food was excellent. We also used KGB but would happily return and pay the rack rate. As Caron W quite correctly points out it is not a 5 star hotel but a very good 3 star so don't hesitate to visit knowing that is the case. As far as cleanliness is concerned, I had no complaints at all and this as an area that I would have issues with if that wasn't the case. To top it all, the hotel organised a great Burns Night Ceilidh which was great fun.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair L, Duty Manager - Laura at Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Jim,

Nice to see you arrived home safe and well after your visit to our Hotel.
We are overjoyed that you had a fabulous stay and it is great to get compliments about the staff which work so hard to make it as comfortable as possible for all of our guests.

A pat on the back to Christine who organised the Burns Night Ceilidh at the Hotel as the weather was completely against her on the night! :) However all who attended had a great night!

We hope to see you again soon, don't hesitate to pop in for a coffee if ever you are passing the hotel - its great to see a familiar face!

Best Wishes from Laura & everyone at the Helme Park Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I'm sure this once was a fine hotel back in its day but my stay wasn't the bestl to say the least, we were upgrade (if that's the word to the bridal suite) very tired dirty room it was a flashback to 1990, The curtain rail was hanging off the wall ready to wall on someone,A TV the size of a small house,the main door that wouldn't lock properly (our housekeeper left the room open all day.!!!)
I say housekeeper she didn't clean the room just made the bed.

But worse was the bathroom very old and unclean,no-way would i sit in the jacuzzi bath with brown gunk coming out the pipes and a massive crack in it,also the main gripe was there was no towel's after i washed my hands!!

Breakfast was 8-10am it was like the Mary Celeste at 8.40am not a soul around.
The young girl who arrived late was nice and apologized and the young man on the evening did his best, reminded me of carry on abroad when the one guy did everything......
The food was good though shame the overpriced beer wasn't.

If your on a KGB deal its just ok

i'm only writing this review as my biggest problem was with the door being unlocked i wasn't expecting the dorchester, but we could have come back to nothing, no car the lot gone!

Never again I'm afraid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair L, Duty Manager - Laura at Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello Andrew,

Thanks you for your review, since the review the curtain rail has been fixed, we did not realise this until you left, thanks for telling us.

The televisions in the rooms are small, however work fine and are adequate for what most people need when they come on a short break.

The door should be locked at all times, regardless of whether or not the room has been cleaned, theses are issues which have been brought up in our monthly staff meetings, and the housekeeper checks all doors now at the end of her shift as a way to resolve this.

The Jacuzzi bath in this room is cleaned every 6 weeks from an outside company as we do not have the equipment to clean the inside of the spa properly, if you had reported this issue to reception we would have called the company in immediately and got them to come and solve the issue as that is what they are contracted to do. Every room has 2 bath sheets and 2 hand towels folded on the bed, with a bath mat in the bathroom, i have spoken to the housekeeper about this as it is not usually an issue.

Breakfast is served 8 - 10am Monday - Friday and 8.30 - 10.30am Saturday and Sunday, so i can only apologise for the member of staff who was supposed to be serving breakfast that morning. All of our staff take pride in our timekeeping and when the member of staff is identified a verbal warning will be issued.

I can only apologise for the stay you had on behalf of myself and the staff in which you encountered during your stay, all issues of the above review which are in our control have been addressed.

Thanks alot
Laura & all of the staff at the helme park hall hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fir Tree, Bishop Auckland DL13 4NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helme Park Hall County House Hotel And Restaurant
Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant Bishop Auckland, County Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.