We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service with a Smile!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fir Tree, Bishop Auckland DL13 4NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service with a Smile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had afternoon tea for 8 and were delighted by the selection and quality of food. It was priced very competitively at £6.95 per person.
Our hostess, Laura, was outstanding. She greeted us with a smile and that never left her lips, regardless how many times we asked her to bring more sandwiches or pots of tea! Nothing was a bother for her

Well done all and thank you for making my birthday very special

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    75
    25
    23
    26
See reviews for
26
114
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Heather and staff are doing a great job in turning the place around. Dinner very good as was breakfast. Smart bedroom although the shower needed some power! Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were invited to this hotel as party of a wedding that was happening here. We decided to stay the night. Overall we were let down by the overall experience. The bar service was very slow and prices were very very expensive the round of drinks in which we ordered kept changing prices we felt that the bar staff had very little knowledge of the workings of the bar and this theme ran through the entire workings of the day. I noticed that the hotel is under new management therefore I only assume new staff? However the hotel should be looking to get experienced staff in on a busy day. The accommodation was basic but clean and affordable. Breakfast the following morning wasn't to a high standard we felt no care had been taken at all. Checkout was slow and the lady in question was rather rude to us. As a couple we felt let down by the overall experience this hotel offered. Perhaps we caught them on a busy day when they was a lot of newbie staff on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

food excellent staff were helpful and curteous room overlooked wear valley, simply gorgeous overall great value for money

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

just stayed here for 6 weeks on a work contract found the hotel very pleasant rooms all had en suite breakfast was pretty good staff all good and helpful overall a very good stay and the views were fantastic thanks to all the staff for putting up with us it made our stay very pleasant

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We have just spent a weekend here with 18 members of the Citroen Specials Club, touring the North Pennines and Helme Park Hotel offered everything we needed.
The recently refurbished dining room had a modern ambience, and the lounge/bar was relaxed and friendly with stunning views across the Wear Valley. The bedrooms were all ensuite and clean with comfortable beds. The decor in some rooms had a nostalgic feel to it but we understand they are all being upgraded.
Meals were excellent and the cuisine was varied to suite all tastes. Special diets in our group wer catered for. Heather, the Manager, and all the staff showed warmth and friendliness and really went that extra mile to provide all our requirements.
Best of all was the reasonable tarif. In the current economic climate the budget price offered by Helme Park is too good to miss! We certainly would like to come again.

Room Tip: Best views in rooms overlooking Wear Valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bude
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

stayed for two days. very disorganised. No hot shower and staff not willing to fix this. lukewarm cooked breakfast served on cold plates and cold toast no sugar milk jug but no milk. uht milk in room had gone off. Old towels with holes in them. Was und.er the impression that the hotel had been refurbished. Best bit of the stay was the view

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fir Tree, Bishop Auckland DL13 4NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helme Park Hall County House Hotel And Restaurant
Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant Bishop Auckland, County Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helme Park Hall County House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.