We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in Southport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lynwood Hotel

Lynwood Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lynwood Hotel to your Saves list
Lynwood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 A Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A weekend in Southport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Lynwood is a lovely Hotel and absolutely spotless throughout ! The breakfast was out of this world with a great choice ! There was a cosy bar were we had a nightcap, we will definately stay at the Lynwood the next time we visit Southport !

Room Tip: Room 5 is the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redsole, Owner at Lynwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review for us, we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
26
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Andrea made my wife and I very welcome at this property that is more a guest house than a hotel. It is well placed for the restaurants in Lord Street and not too far from the seaside attractions of Southport. Breakfast was fine. Our room though was tired and in need of redecoration. The shower room was a real disappointment as the electric shower had little pressure and the toilet would not flush. We expected better for £75.00 per night B & B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redsole, Owner at Lynwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are so sorry that you were dissapointed in your room, We are proudly a 4 star Guest house and strive to make all our guest stays a happy and comfortable one.We have a ongoing refurbishment programe for all our rooms , so hope if you some back to Southport that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at Lynwood, on our arrival we were met by the proprietor, Andrea (my apologies if I have the wrong name!). Her welcome was lovely and warm. We explained that we were off to a function in nearby Formby, and enquired about local taxis, immediately, and without hesitation, she offered to book the taxi for us. The hotel is absolutely immaculate, the bed linen wonderful and soft, but best of all, the luxurious bath sheets! Top quality!
We sat in the lounge for a while in the afternoon, this is a lovely room, full of character, warm and cosy. The bar is an added bonus, and we enjoyed an aperitif whilst waiting for the taxi.
Breakfast was cooked to perfection; a nice touch was having fresh orange juice waiting for you on your table. A good start to any one’s day!
Overall, we were very well looked after, the next time we visit Southport and require an overnight stay, we won’t even bother looking for a hotel – Lynwood House is the one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redsole, Owner at Lynwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Me and the wife decided to take a night away to somewhere different. So looking through hotels, we decided on this place. It was a very reasonable priced hotel. we were greated by Andrea who made us feel very welcomed. The room we stayed in was the superior room. It is exactly as described. Furnished very nice. Cosy and warm.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who was wishing to get away for a short break.

Room Tip: Take the superior room, its the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redsole, Owner at Lynwood Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are so happy that you both enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much for the lovely review you have taken the time to post.We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondsee, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

4 of us from Austria stayed 5 nights at the lynwood.The rooms were exellent and very clean.
The breakfast in the morning was exellent.We even got breakfast one morning at 6a.m because we had to fly back early.Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redsole, Owner at Lynwood Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your great review, We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us again at Lynwood House.We look forward to you returning to stay with us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

On arrival we were greeted by Simon who was very friendly and welcoming, He explained what shows where on and how to get to the attractions that wanted to see.He showed us to our room which was perfect for just the 2 of us and we where very happy with it and the room was decorated lovely. there was a cosy bar where the drinks where cold and refreshing. the breakfast was very nice and we had a choice of cereal then we had toast and then a beautiful fry cooked to perfection,certainly one of the nicest fry's i have had in a very long time with tea or coffee and fresh orange juice. The last day we where given plenty of time to check out and our bags where kept safe until we where ready to leave. i would certainly stay here again and look forward to coming back to Blackpool.
Thanks Simon for making our stay comfortable and one to remember !!
From the Shelley and Joe the young Belfast couple !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redsole, Owner at Lynwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are please you enjoyed your stay with us , hope to see you again when you come back to Southport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed ast Lynwood House 10- 13 July while we competed in the National Association of Flower Arrangement Societies (NAFAS) National Show which was held in Southport this year.

The hotel was witnin walking distance of the Exhibition Centre where the Show was held so this was ideal. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast each morning was excellent and enjoyable experience.

The proprieters were extremely friendly and accomodating. I am chairperson of the Northern Ireland branch of NAFAS and traditionally we hold a small chairperson's party (wine, nibbles etc) at the hotel where the chairperson stays - not all NI competitors stay at the same hotel. I approached our host about this possibility - no problem whatsoever and we were allowed to use beautiful lounge room. I should say this was a low key affair atended by 10-12 mature ladies and no discomfort was caused to other guests.

All in all an extremly enjoyable break, enhanced by good accomodation and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lynwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Hotel

Address: 11 A Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star award winning Lynwood House is a sanctuary where the quality of service and old fashioned hospitality makes a perfect setting for a relaxed holiday or well deserved break.We have proudly won propriter of the year 2012 in the Southport Ammbassador Awards for the 2nd time, thank you to all my guests for nominating me again. Conference and Golf facilities are both in easy reach... and we are just a short stroll from Lord Street's famous tree lined boulevard with its classic buildings and gardens, home to Southport's excellent restaurants and shops. The resort justly deserves the title of 'Golf Capital of Europe' with 15 golf courses all within an hour's drive from the town. Southport also makes an ideal touring base from which you can explore the north west's many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lynwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynwood Hotel Southport, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.