We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! One of the best restaurants ever been to!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barking Frog - CLOSED

The Barking Frog
manchester road, Southport PR9 9BD, England
1704545132
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A coverted sandstone bank with high ceilings and a warm Mediterranean feel , the restaurant offers tastes from all around the world ,brought to you by a first class waiting team cooked by experienced chefs.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow! One of the best restaurants ever been to!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wow! Truly amazing is all we can say!

The service was amazing, the staff where unbelievably friendly and went out of their way to ensure we where happy.

Driven past this place many times, and never thought it would be half as good as it was, not much to look at from the outside, but on the inside it is amazing!

Food quantities are great, and the food quality is superb!

Overall amazing value for money, quality of food and just the right amount perfect!

We where served mainly by Lyndsey who was very friendly, very helpful and cheerful. We genuinely felt like valued customers who have been going there for years.

We will be back!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    41
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at the barking frog. We held our daughters christening meal with 40 adults and 9 children. The food was excellent, service wonderful, highly professional. We had a two course meal for £11.95. all was cooked and presented to a high standard, nothing was too much trouble. We will definately go back again and reccommend people go for a lunch or evening meal. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frogybaker, Owner at The Barking Frog, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Many thanks Evette, really pleased you had a great day and everyone enjoyed the food . All the best to you and your family .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal at The Barking Frog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arranged a meal for 6.30 on a Saturday for 6 adults, 4 children and a baby.We were welcomed for a drink at the bar while we chose from the extensive menu plus specials. Everyone of us enjoyed our starters and then main course selection from pizzas through duck to steaks, Some sweets for those not already full and coffees, It was a lovely evening and we did not leave until around 9pm. We felt that the total bill, including drinks ,wine and the tip was around £260 which we felt was very good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frogybaker, Owner at The Barking Frog, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review and I am so glad you had a enjoyable evening with us . The restaurant has been working very hard to give people value for money , so it was nice to hear you thought that . Hope to see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Grimshaws love the Fantastic Frog!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have been dining at the Barking Frog for many years and still look forward to our visits there. Our son was 6 when we first went (he's 13 now) and has progressed from spaghetti bolognese off the children's menu to a full 3 course meal - no fast food for him! The food here is fabulous, well presented and it is no trouble for them if you want to change something in a dish you have ordered. All the staff are friendly and work hard to make your visit a memorable one. Rob the owner runs the restaurant superbly with his eye on eveything but always has the time to come and have a chat. My husband and son rate the steaks very highly and the fish dishes are exquisite. Sunday roasts are very popular offering a trio of meats if desired. Christmas dinner there is wonderful with a great atmosphere and although they are always extremely busy, the standard of food and service is always as high as usual. Thank you to Rob and all your staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere Profesional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Iv been to the barking frog many times with my wife. It's a fantastic warm welcoming resturaunt. Tha staff are very Profesional the boss rob has them working like a well oiled machine. The startes and main courses we have had we can't fault and the desert has always got to be the creme brûlée you just don't want it to end ;).
I will definatley be visiting again. Dj Woz ;)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barking Frog also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barking Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.