We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, friendly staff, would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vincent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vincent to your Saves list
Vincent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, friendly staff, would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very good first impression of this hotel. Friendly greeting on arrival, lots of information given and general questions asked as to what plans we had for the evening. Offered to book a taxi for us upon hearing our plans which we accepted.

Room really nice with a very large comfortable bed. Great bathroom and toiletries. Sliding wall in front of the window in place of a curtain was a good touch.

Only downside to the room and the hotel is the lighting. Can only put makeup on in the bathroom as it is too dark in the rest of the room and the bar area is very dim. Not sure why there is a notice up about wearing wedding attire and this not being acceptable in the bar area. Bar area was pretty busy and seems to attract a lot of non residents. Doorman/bouncers get a little surly after 2am though.

Breakfast is decent but could do with a few more choices.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the VINCENT on Trip Advisor!
I am delighted that you had a very enjoyable stay with us, and would just like to let you know that light up vanity mirrors are available from reception so that your next stay can be that little bit easier!
Our McGee Bar is very popular especially on the weekends and can get rather busy with both local customers and hotel guests. It must be all of the tasty cocktails we have on offer from our top class bar staff!
We shall look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    164
    59
    27
    28
See reviews for
82
358
28
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
CHORLEY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

nicely presented sandwiches, little cakes and scones, with clotted cream and jam! Very nice glass of champagne to begin with and good cup of coffee to finish with, All in all a very pleasant experience with good service with a smile,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the VINCENT Hotel’s V-Cafe on Trip Advisor!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us, and hope that whatever the occasion it was a lovely way to celebrate and brighten up the afternoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night bank holiday.
Reception good very friendly welcome from Jordan,very helpful, we asked for Ice bucket and flutes brought straight up and sorted tv when I phoned down as I couldn't work it out.
We booked a corner studio bed and breakfast, room bit tired looking too dark both mirrors in bedroom and bathroom dark so struggle to put makeup on , room really claustrophobic, the bed is two 3ft beds zipped together to make your queensize!
We had breakfast in our room at 10.30am as requested for a £5 charge each, we thought this was fair as the breakfast was excellent.
Bathroom good, deep bath good shower lovely smelling white company products in pump despensers.
We booked dinner in hotel restaurant for 9.30pm we were late arriving at 9.40pm we apologisd and offered to go elsewhere,we were told we could stay if we just had a main course ( make your own mind up on that one!) we conformed and we had steak it was excellent well cooked.
The bar is far too small for the size of this hotel ,also very brown and dark! On the two occasions we went in there were no seats available. We like to use hotel facilities rather than go out but here we felt a bit lost after dinner.
Overall location good ok stay won't stay again as the rooms are too dark and couldn't wait to get out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the VINCENT Hotel.
I am very happy to see that you had a friendly and helpful reception from our team, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast! I hope that you had a good nights sleep in our award winning comfy beds.
I am sorry that a couple of elements about the room were not up to your standards, but would like to let you know that light up vanity mirrors are available from reception to help putting on makeup if you find the mirrors in the room a bit dark.
I do hope that you may change your mind in the future and if so we shall look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I booked a room as my sister had chose this hotel to stay in after her wedding. From the reviews on Trip Advisor we were looking forward to our stay. The reason it gets any rating at all was because the building itself was lovely and the rooms stylish and comfortable.
All this was ruined by the awful service we received by every staff member we had the misfortune to encounter;

- the doorman made a point of telling us that we could not use residents bar in wedding attire before even saying hello or welcome (I was not aware that a suit was exclusive to weddings only). The same doorman also made the mother of the bride change her footwear twice to then wait by the lift door and still refuse her entry to the bar after her trying to comply with his rules. All this despite several bridesmaids already being in the bar area still with their bridesmaid dresses on??? Ruined our night

- on checking-in reception staff seem to view it as an inconvenience that we had even arrived, were abrupt and rude and failed to tell us the times for breakfast or check-out

- the following morning we were lucky and just managed to make the last of the breakfast service. This did mean that it would be a rush for me to pick up our car from the wedding venue and get back to the hotel before check-out (which we were only told at breakfast by another guest). We ended-up being 14 minutes late for check-out as a result. Reception wasted no time in ringing our room and were extremely rude to my wife on the phone despite there being no cleaners in sight to make a start on our room.

The customer service at The Vincent was woeful. None of our party were drunk or behaving in an unacceptable manner and to be treated as we were ruined the end of a great day. I would expect better service at a £60 per night B&B, never mind at the prices we payed to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having to get to southport very early on a Saturday morning, this left us with the dilemma, do we have breakfast before we leave at 8.00am or at a fancy venue we spotted last time we visited southport, a no brainer! Having turned up at 10.30am, we looked over the extensive menu, my hubby chose the smoked salmon kedgeree, my choice the poached egg with gammon & hollandaise sauce served on a muffin. Excellent presentation and really delicious flavours, the staff were really friendly and helpful. Next time we think we'd like to stay over, they have a gourmet dinner menu Sunday to Thursday for £13.95, sounds tempting!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the VINCENT on Trip Advisor!
We are delighted that you chose to save yourselves and have breakfast with us in our lovely V-Cafe and we shall look forward to your return to Southport for a stay in our award winning comfy beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Loved it.. I can't stop thinking about the sushi we had. Staff are so friendly and welcoming. Room was lovely with an extremely comfortable bed. Private Cocktail bar (although the bar maid didn't crack a smile it didn't spoil our stay) and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the VINCENT on Trip Advisor!
Our V-Sushi is simply amazing and so tastey! We even cater for those non-sushi lovers with our Gringo Sushi which contains meats such as duck, beef and even sausage & bacon!
I hope that it isn’t too long before we can welcome you back to the VINCENT for some more treats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

As we only live in Bolton we have never stayed overnight in Southport, but as we were having a full day at the Southport Flower Show we decided to have an overnight stay.
What an excellent choice the Vincent was.
We loved the hotel which was great,very very clean, really lovely staff ,excellent position in Southport ,near to shops and for us a nice walk to Flower shop and not to far back with all our purchases.
We ate in the hotel in the evening ,my meal and that of my sister and her hubby was excellent, but my hubby made the wrong choice and staff were very concern that he had not enjoyed it and we were not charged for it even though we had not complained.
I could recommend this hotel to any of our friends .
PS
Dave the front doorman was lovely ,very jolly and he certainly enjoyed his job

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your brilliant review of the VINCENT Hotel on Trip Advisor!
I hope that you thoroughly enjoyed the Southport Flower Show and got to have a wander around Southport town to find the little boutiques and book shops all hidden away to find!
I shall pass on your lovely comments to our staff in the restaurant and front of house who made you feel welcome and looked after during your time with us.
I hope that it won’t be too long until we welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincent

Address: 98 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Southport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#6 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincent 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Vincent Hotel The Vincent Hotel, Southport is a unique lifestyle hotel for the North West of England. Situated on Lord Street, Southport’s Parisienne Boulevard, the Vincent takes comfort and personal service to new heights – all within a fresh, stylish and contemporary interior. We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincent Hotel Southport
Vincent Southport, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vincent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.