We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG, NEVER AGAIN!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pontins Southport Holiday Park to your Saves list
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OMG, NEVER AGAIN!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have just got back after spending a weekend at this prison camp! Jeremy Kyle should relocate his studio here, he would have a field day!! I know that this is a budget holiday camp but there is no excuse for the filth and lack of facilities. We upgraded to a club apartment which meant the price included the cost of the electricity. The apartment itself was basic but generally fairly clean. The floor could have done with a wash! The kitchen was clean and had new pans and oven trays. Unfortunately there was only 1 socket in the kitchen which made it very tricky when cooking. The cooker could not be used at the same time as the hot water. The mattresses were very uncomfortable and you could feel the springs. The duvets and pillows were very poor quality. One of the legs on the sofa bed kept falling off. I informed reception of this problem, was told someone would come straight away but we did not see anyone all weekend! The apartment was lovely and warm. It was very disappointing that the pool was closed and we had not been informed prior to arrival. The communal areas were filthy. The arcade carpet was disgusting and the floor around the bar area was very sticky. There was very little for the children to do there unless you were prepared to pay through the nose e.g £2 for a go on the trampoline, £4 to play in the games zone and then the arcade which was 50p or £1 a go. We went down to the entertainment on the first night which was packed with children running wild and very drunk parents. The table behind us was sent flying by a drunk dad who fell off his chair, knocking the table over, which was full of drinks, and then landing on top of his daughter who he then blamed for the whole incident! Drinks are only served in plastic cups. A member of bar staff informed my husband that they cannot give out glasses as there are lots of fights. He then went on to say that the previous night a man had to be removed from the bar because he was fighting and was on steroids!! The language from many of the guests was disgraceful. We escaped for the afternoon on Sunday and drove to Southport which was lovely.
I have stayed at holiday parks in the past and as a child and had a great time but Pontins Southport is in a league of its own!!! If you are looking for a break in depressing surroundings, are prepared to spend a fortune on activities for your children and are not particular about the type of people you are surrounded by (It is like being on holiday with the residents of Benefits Street!!!) then go to Pontins, Southport. The place needs knocking down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Southport.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishment of our Apartments and grounds and it is disappointing when standards of cleanliness or maintenance are not met.
We offer great value for money holidays and guest figures and re-bookers are continually increasing and we have provided thousands of families with enjoyable holidays at our new look Park. We have loads of new facilities to keep everyone entertained and the vast majority of our guests have a great time.
Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy yourselves but thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    358
    399
    252
    1,136
See reviews for
1,362
120
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Where do i begin....... stayed for two nights 2 adults and four children ranged 4mths to 8 years.we got a group on deal. Thought i was getting a value break, even upgraded... would hate to see what the budget room was like.

We arrived just after 4 for check in took about 15mins to park up left everyone in car went to check in no queue very suprised till am told go to main hall the queue was out the door took over half an hour to check in. Got keys found chalet to find room hadnt been cleaned someone walked by and said would get cleaner. They came did a quick tidy ( we still had to do it) made beds before we went out to our shock on lifting bed to fit two cots in mattress was covered in sick. Complained no one came. Slept on very uncomfy sofa in living room. On bath time we lost all hot water (wasted electric) due to bath tap not working went to complain noting even tthough they put it down as an emergancy. Curtains dont close enough so people can see in not good with just women and kids. Files or bugs of some kind in kitchen draws. On way home picked up spoons from take out before buying cutlery for the next day. Soap in bathroom was unsquezeable leaving one bruised hand.

I enjoyed my dance around the kitchen not... thanks to the damp and condensation due to cold and radiators. On and in the bathroom. Not good with those who have difficulty with walking like my mother.


Evening entertainment was alright but we only saw the first night as got seats. you really have to either stay all day or get there really early. Which would explain drunk people wild kids and bad manners. I am not a snob really but it was not my type of scene.

Cost lots to do anything there for very short times. Arcade machines not working, wild children left to own devices whislt parents get drunk.

We spent our time away from pontins.

On check out. A box was put out i asked member of staff who i complain to she gave me a number. Never even quired why. On coming home i went on website that says you have to write. Well ill write, ring and email. I want what money i paid out back in my pocket and not a holiday there again.

Its such a shame as a family we were so looking forward to our little break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for your review of your recent stay here at Pontins and we are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy our product but we feel that we offer a great value for money holiday that the overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy. We continue to be very busy and welcome thousands of guests on Park each week and it has been great to receive many compliments and our highest recorded number of re-books on Park.
It is always a concern when a guest does not have a good time and we are sorry that our park did not fulfill your needs or expectations. We have looked at your operational issues and passed the comments to the relevant departments so that they can take action as necessary.
Once again thanks for taking the time to review your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just returned today from a 2 night groupon offer with the husband and 3 kids ages 4 to 10. I read some reviews in advance and I entered the park with trepidation. We were checked into a club apartment at 2pm (highest grade). It was absolutely spotless and scrupulously clean with everything either new or almost new and the apartment was double glazed and stayed nice and warm. The children were delighted with the entertainment and enjoyed watching acrobatics, wrestling and a comedy magic duo which they cried laughing at. We had a fabulous time and although the plastic glasses, ladies loos, the stairs leading to the upper floor apartments and carpet in the arcade were far from great I cannot knock the place. The bluecoats were fab with kids. Free bouncy castle, toys and face painting while you wait for check in was a great and thoughtful touch. Breakfast ( free on one day with club upgrade) was very nice. Pontins are left with the legacy of old style, two storey rows of apartments which can look old fashioned and are a bit of a magnet for carrying noise but our apartment shows they were really trying their best and we appreciated their efforts.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your time at Pontins Southport and we are very pleased with the review you have given us.
It is very encouraging to receive such comments as all managers and Staff on Park have worked hard to improve our product for our guests and it is very rewarding to receive your praise.
We have invested heavily in all Apartments on Park and have replaced all floors, beds, curtains, bed settees and furniture over the last 18 months and we feel that our accommodation is of a good standard.
We still offer great value for money and provide great entertainments and activities for all the family but this has been expanded this year with more improvements planned very soon, watch this space.
We have entertained thousands of guests each week and have expanded our catering operation to include a self service half board service which is proving extremely popular. With all you can eat breakfast for only £4.95 and 3 course dinners for only £7.00 you can’t go wrong coming to Pontin’s.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My friend and I, together with her 5 year old daughter, had booked a long weekend [Fri 14th - Mon 17th Feb 2014] at Southport Pontins for a change of scenery and a bit of a break for us all. What a disappointment we had. It was a very blustery weekend and our first complaint was that the window didn't shut properly in our flat so there was a cold draught blowing in. We complained three times but nothing at all was done. The electricity meter absolutely gobbled up the money - we spent just under £10 over the 3 nights despite being out as much as possible. The floor was freezing cold, it was just covered with lino - not a single rug or anything to help make it feel cosier and the 5 year old soon had filthy socks from it.
On the second evening I was doing some cooking, picked up the small sharp kitchen knife and the blade just fell off - this could have been very dangerous. They did give us a new one about 4 hours later to be fair but that's hardly the point [excuse the pun]
We were looking forward to swimming but the pool was closed for refurbishment and just about every other activity had to be paid for which made it quite an expensive holiday overall.
On the first evening we decided to treat ourselves to a take away from the chippy - the portions were miniscule! You get more chips in a McDonald's happy meal and the size of my friend's batter [allegedly there was a bit of fish hiding somewhere] for £3 was not much bigger than a fish finger.
The so-called double sofa bed would just about cope with 2 midgets, but the hard ridge running down the middle where the hinged part was meant a good night's sleep was very difficult and the paper thin walls allowed us a full blow by blow version of the arguments going on next door.
If you are thinking of coming here - take my advice and think again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins Southport and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishing all rooms and it is not acceptable when you encounter cleaning and maintenance issues in your accommodation. We are sorry for these problems and will look at ways to ensure these issues do not happen again.
We have lots of entertainment and activities on Park and we are sorry if they were not to your liking. Our world famous bluecoats take great pride in entertaining our guests and they are backed up by some exceptional visiting cabarets.
We take note of your other issues and we are looking at making more improvements in the very near future and we hope to have a Park that has the best facilities in the area. We welcome up to 3000 guests each night and we hope to provide enough variety and activities to please everyone and we are sorry that you where not satisfied.
However we thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I know this was a budget weekend but this was not the best. When we arrived we were met with a barrier like something like a concentration camp, the rest of our party had already arrived so we went straight round to our chalet which was cold and extremely damp, it had apparently been cleaned but we had to clean the floors and surfaces. The kettle was clogged with limescale and the fridge did not work. The front door on our chalet didn't lock and when they came to repair it we were informed that all the doors had been replaced (you would have thought that they would have tested the lock to see that it worked correctly!!!!). The double duvet in our room had a hole in it and had to be replaced. We went through almost £14 in electicity because we had to leave the heating on all weekend to attempt to get rid of the damp (which failed).

The entertainment was pretty good to be honest,however if you wanted to sit down you needed to be in the room for about 4pm, and it wasn't wise to stand still for too long in the bar area otherwise you would stick to the floor.

I cant blame Pontins for the type of person staying there, but as its so cheap its full of people with no consideration for others, ie 1 person holding up to 20 seats in the fun factory for others, a young boy urinating up the wall opposite the reception, and the amount of litter left in the fun factory at the end of night was disgusting.

There is an arcade but most of the machines are either faulty or not working at all, we even witnessed a man punch the 2p change machine so hard in toppled over and almost crushed a child.

The swimming pool was closed for refurbishment but we were not informed of that until we arrived and we had to use the local swimming pool 3 miles down the road (which was excellent).

In all fairness we enjoyed the weekend and just feel that there could be more effort regarding the accommodation.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Southport.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishment of our Apartments and grounds and it is disappointing when standards of cleanliness or maintenance are not met.
We offer great value for money holidays and guest figures and re-bookers are continually increasing and we have provided thousands of families with enjoyable holidays at our new look Park. We have loads of new facilities to keep everyone entertained and the vast majority of our guests have a great time.
Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy yourselves but thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Never ever ever go to this place. People say you get what you paid for of that was the case I'd be happy. All we got was an hours wait to check in. Then 1 room for 8 adults and 4 kids when we asked for 3. Then the rooms oh my Lord the room. First the outside was moldy and falling to bits, we go in and find a tidy room till we take a closer look. Baby vomit left to rot on the windowsill a floor that had neither bee brush or moped between guests. Food stuck in the gap of the kitchen table and the Pièce de résistance snot smeared down the fold out couch. Then we watched a kid taking a leak on the bark in the play ground and the member of staff just laughed. Im calling the environmental health tomorrow. This place needs tearing down. They say the have refurbished, there's not enough bricks and paint in the world to fix this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for your review of your recent stay here at Pontins and we are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy our product but we feel that we offer a great value for money holiday that the overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy. We continue to be very busy and welcome thousands of guests on Park each week and it has been great to receive many compliments and our highest recorded number of re-books on Park.
It is always a concern when a guest does not have a good time and we are sorry that our park did not fulfill your needs or expectations. We have looked at your operational issues and passed the comments to the relevant departments so that they can take action as necessary.
Once again thanks for taking the time to review your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend away at pontins I'm usually easy pleased first thought was ok long queue to check in in the middle of an arcade had fish and chips fish was full of bones but still not too unhappy room was ok clean nice bathroom stank of paint though but ok the entertainment for the kids was rubbish my 4 yr old didn't even want to join in not like him the large bingo room full of parents getting as hammered as possible yes you're on Holliday but several fights broke out security throwing mostly women out my wife was asked what she was staring at very concerning as the girl was very big gave an atmosphere but not blaming a bad stay on 1 individual the place is so understaffed it's a joke parents hammered kids smashing up the arcade swinging from small kids rides trying to brake them trying to knock ten pence's from the games only 1 staff in arcade no1 was even telling them off drinks spilled all over the place rubbish everywhere bar and floor sticky as you like just completely lawless unreal discusting dirty very low standards of hygiene in the main area next day calmer park was ok went on go karts but there's not that much to do all that said I'd avoid the place like the plague I wouldn't stay again if they paid me !!! Horrible

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins Southport and we take your points on board. We do realise that our type of holiday is not for everyone and we do apologise if you did not enjoy yourself here.
We have invested heavily in all aspects of the Park and this is set to continue in the future and we have exciting plans for the rest of the year and the start of next season.
It is important we receive constructive criticism of our holidays and we thank you for passing on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New pontins was born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels.Our Managers and Staff are proud to work at Pontins and proud of our recent improvements. All rooms have been refurbished and refurnished and provide a comfortable base for your holiday. We have greatly increased our facilities on Park with loads of free stuff and some activities with a small charge. New this year is our state of the art games room featuring XBOX and PS3 consoles and high speed PC's to satisfy all the gamers amongst you.We have also improved our food service with great value meals in the restaurant at £5 for a 3 course meal and only £3.95 for our famous eat as much as you want breakfast.Then of course we have 3 bars and entertainment venues hosted by our world famous Bluecoats providing everything from bingo to exceptional visiting cabarets including finalists from the X Factor and Britains Got Talent.Plus there is so much to see and do in the surrounding area and we feel that Southport Pontins is a great choice of venue for a great value and entertaining holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport
Pontins Southport Holiday Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pontins Southport Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.