We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pontins Southport Holiday Park to your Saves list
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Southport
n/w
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went to Southport for 2 finals weekends and had a great time as usual. Chalets were clean, staff very friendly, Bluecoats great as always. Loads to do.
One gripe, and we are Pontin's number one fans, but the swimming pool falls badly short of Prestatyn's standards.
It always looks dirty I have to say, but I think that must be partly due to the colour of the tiles or something, as we always swim in it and have never been ill! It must be checked daily, so I don't worry too much about that.
HOWEVER! The water is freezing. Always is. It really spoils it. Whereas at Prestatyn our kids will stay in for hours, they can only handle 20 mins in this pool. Everyone we spoke to at the pool was complaining about it. Babies were screaming with the cold. One lifeguard on the first w/e told me his partner took their child to a pool miles away as the child could not cope with the cold.
On the second w/e, when we went in, I asked the 3 lifeguards who were all sitting together at the side of the pool, if the water was warm. 2 of them were quite friendly, one was a bit offish.
We got in, and the water was actually a bit warmer than 2 weeks previously, but nowhere near as warm as Prestatyn.
When I was leaving, I again approached the lifeguards who were still all together, messing on their mobiles. I said, that the water was much warmer,and thanked them.
One LG said, "It won't be tomorrow"
"Why?" I asked.
"Because it is being cleaned" he said, and that'll make it colder.
"So, if the whole park is closing the day after, why not do it then?" ! I said
"Can't" he said. And proceeded to be quite offish. It was as if he wasn't pleased that we actually hadn't got half frozen during swimming!!!!
We visit Prestatyn about 8 times a year and the water is NEVER cold. If they can do it, so can Southport.
I found it rather alarming that lifeguards were messing on their phones while they were meant to be at work.
I have never seen a LG on their phone at Prestatyn. They are always watching the pool.
They should not have a mobile with them when they are doing such an important job.
I feel rather sad complaining as we love Pontins. But I give praise when praise is due, and do feel this is the one area of Southport Pontins that lets it down and is the reason that in the past we have always chosen Prestatyn over Southport. (Now we love Prestatyn too much anyway, but in the past that's what put us off)
Apart from that we had a fab time. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your holiday at Pontins Southport and we are very pleased with the review you have given us.
It is very encouraging to receive such comments as all managers and Staff on Park have worked hard to improve our product for our guests and it is very rewarding to receive your praise.
We have invested heavily in all Apartments on Park and have replaced all floors, beds, curtains, bed settees and furniture over the last 18 months and we feel that our accommodation is of a good standard.
We still offer great value for money and provide great entertainments and activities for all the family but this has been expanded this year with more improvements planned very soon, watch this space.
We have entertained thousands of guests each week and have expanded our catering operation to include a self service half board service which is proving extremely popular. With all you can eat breakfast for only £3.95 and 3 course dinners for only a fiver you can’t go wrong coming to Pontin’s.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    321
    365
    229
    1,018
See reviews for
1,236
111
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool , england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

stayed monday to friday with my little girl and her cousin my nephew. after reading reviews was apprehnsive but it only cost 150 so cant really complain. well entertainment was fab of a night. pool was clean and kids enjoyed it. bus was handy to get to southport centre as it stops right outside. one night when all the drinks machines were empty security opened a shop for me to buy some coke. very helpfull! only complaint is when we arrived after 4 pm our room was still getting cleaned and we had ti hang round . also bring ur wellies if your going in winter as the site floods in rain. good fun for the price tho

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for your review of Pontins in Southport and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishing and refurnishing our accommodation and we are very pleased with the work so far and we plan more improvements in the near future.
We offer good value family holidays and we feel that our entertainments and facilities offer great choice and variety and we have extended our activities greatly this year.
We offer great value food and drink on Park and offer a Nisa shop that is well stocked and is reasonably priced.
Once again thanks very much for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Well, where shall i start ey! the room was proper laugh like, dead cosy and stuff. loved it. the electricity was very cheap, fiver for 3 nights yayyyyyyyyy. cant wait to come back. loved the go karts they were brill. The scampi and chips was out of this world. our stay was in August so it was very warm in the room. our room was a right party house, will deffo be comeing back ! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for your review of Pontins in Southport; we appreciate you taking the time to write about your time here.
We are pleased that you had a good holiday. The new Pontins was born in February 2011 and since then we have made many improvements. We have invested heavily in refurbishing and refurnishing all apartments and feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices.
We provide fantastic entertainment from our world famous bluecoats and this is complemented by many fabulous visiting cabarets.
We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. We have also opened a state of the art computer game zone which is proving very popular this year and provides hi-tech gaming at reasonable prices.
Our food and drink is good value and we offer an excellent choice for half board. Prices in the restaurant range from £3.95 for our eat all you want breakfast through to £5 for a 3 course set dinner. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar and we are glad that these prices contributed to you having a great time here.
Once again thanks for your review, it is easy to write a negative review and it is most welcome when a guest takes the time to write a positive review. We entertain over 20,000 guests a week during busy periods and the overwhelming majority have a good holiday with no issues and we would encourage anyone who has had a fantastic Pontins holiday to take some time to write a review.
Once again thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed in the basic accomodation.
Generally very gruby,had to move microwave every time we needed to use it as there was only one socket in the kitchen, grill was ineffective.
Electric was via pre-paid cards available from reception- quite expensive and the heating was poor had to sit with duvet over us to keep warm.
However the twin beds were comfy which was it's only saving grace!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your review of Pontins Southport and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishing all rooms and it is not acceptable when you encounter cleaning and maintenance issues in your accommodation. We are sorry for these problems and will look at ways to ensure these issues do not happen again.
We have lots of entertainment and activities on Park and we are sorry if they were not to your liking. Our world famous bluecoats take great pride in entertaining our guests and they are backed up by some exceptional visiting cabarets.
We take note of your other issues and we are looking at making more improvements in the very near future and we hope to have a Park that has the best facilities in the area. We welcome up to 3000 guests each night and we hope to provide enough variety and activities to please everyone and we are sorry that you where not satisfied.
However we thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Aprox 600 of us went for Zorros Roadshow for 3 nights and had a brilliant time. Having read the reviews on here I went with my own sheets and a plastic cover for the bed and cleaning equipment. Need not have bothered as chalet 277 (basic chalet) was clean as was bedding. Electric was expensive £20 for 3 nights but 3 heaters were on full most of the time. Theres seems plenty to do around the place especially for little ones.
Now for some of the bad points. Captain Cod needs to be shut down, the food was disgusting. The staff look dirty and their uniforms looked like they hadnt been washed in weeks and need training in public relations.
The Victoria pub, Food was ok but on sat night no cups or milk for cuppas, same on Sunday morning. The chefs looked scruffy and grubby, clean and ironed uniforms doesnt take alot of effort and especially when they are bringing out food it should be priority.
The Chalets although they were clean the windows and exteriors were disgustingly dirty. If the cleaners havent got time to clean windows and doors then employ a window cleaner full time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent holiday at Pontins. We certainly appreciate your positive comments about the Park and also take note of your negative feedback.
The New Pontins was born in February 2011 and we have seen massive improvements across the board and this will continue both short and long term. We offer great value holidays that the vast majority of our guests really enjoy which is shown by the really busy year we have had and the high proportion of returning guests.
We are continually improving all aspects of the Park from accommodation to food and better and new activities to keep everyone entertained and are confident that we really do offer something for everyone.
Please keep a look out for improvements through our website and look out for special offers and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Staying for a long weekend at Pontins toghether with a group of boys from Norway (footballteam). We were happy up front with the cost of the stay and the pictures available.
The stay was for us a disaster. It was dirty everywhere, the cleaning was reduced to a minimum. It hadnt been a janitor around for years, a lot of the interior was hanging aroing, tabels unstable etc. The meals was ok. Pontins are a typically weekend stay for people to enjoys a lot of drinks and having their children running around without supervision. We came with a group of really nice guys, but first a drunk grown up english gorilla wanted to beat up one of our lads and later the same day a group of english boys tried to wind our guys up for a fight. The place is guarded with security at nights, and its for no reason!! A crappy place and not a nice group of visitors and troublemakers. Stay off!

Room Tip: If you really need to stay there, make sure your flat is newly redecorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of Pontins Southport.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishment of our Apartments and it is disappointing when standards of cleanliness or maintenance are not met.
Your comments have been directed to our housekeeping team for action so this does not happen again.
We offer great value for money holidays and have been at full capacity over the summer months and have provided thousands of families with enjoyable holidays at our new look Park. We have loads of new facilities to keep everyone entertained and the vast majority of our guests have a great time.
Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy yourselves but thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I really dont know where to start. Pontins apparently provide three types of apartment with "Club" being the best you can get. I stayed in a "Club" apartment so please remember this when reading this review. The entrance door to the apartment was almost impossible to get into because the lock was damaged. Once locked from the inside you could not get out of that door at all. To get out we had to pass a 9 year old child through the bedroom window, hand her the key and guide her on how to open the door !!! Surely this is not compliant with health and safety or fire regulations and this sort of thing surely has to be checked by Pontins staff on a regular basis.

The apartment itself was filthy. The bathroom floor was so dirty that i had to get on my hands and knees and give it a really good clean so at least after a shower (which is another story) we had a clean floor to stand on. The toilet was filthy and stained. All of the taps and the drainage from the bath were surrounded by black mildew and mould. They had not been cleaned for months. Pontins seriously need to change their cleaning staff - in fact they should employ a professional cleaning company to go into every apartment and thoroughly clean and sterilise everything so it is suitable for human habitation !

The shower was hilarious in an ironic way - the nozzle that was stuck to the wall could not be moved and therefore you had to pushed up against the wall to get under it. If you were clever enough to master this you were then completely stumped at the next bit .... to get the water out you had to keep your hand on a button on the wall which left you one hand to wash, shampoo etc etc. Ive never been to prison but im sure that prisoners must enjoy better facilities than this.

The heating in the room was terrible and the only bonus was the fact that we had paid for "premium" accommodation and therefore our electricity was supplied free. If we had had to buy electricity on a card we would have spent a fortune just trying to take the chill from the room.

Kettle dirty, didnt look in the oven (!) and there was not one bit of crockery or cutlery that matched.

The whole site is also constantly waterlogged with puddles the side of pools everywhere and it was not because it had been raining badly over the last week or so.

In a nutshell the whole site is completely run down and that includes the public amenities. The toilets were quite disgusting. I never found a hand drier that worked the whole time i was there.

The best thing for Pontins in Southport would be demolition. Do not waste your money going there, get yourself a tent in the middle of a field and you will have a better time.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - we had club class which is the "best" and it was disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your review of your recent stay here at Pontins and we are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy our product but we feel that we offer a great value for money holiday that the overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy. We have sold thousands of rooms this year and entertained over 100,000 guests on Park and it has been great to receive many compliments and our highest recorded number of re-books on Park.
It is always a concern when a guest does not have a good time and we are sorry that our park did not fulfill your needs or expectations. We have looked at your operational issues and passed the comments to the relevant departments so that they can take action as necessary.
Once again thanks for taking the time to review your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New pontins was born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels.Our Managers and Staff are proud to work at Pontins and proud of our recent improvements. All rooms have been refurbished and refurnished and provide a comfortable base for your holiday. We have greatly increased our facilities on Park with loads of free stuff and some activities with a small charge. New this year is our state of the art games room featuring XBOX and PS3 consoles and high speed PC's to satisfy all the gamers amongst you.We have also improved our food service with great value meals in the restaurant at £5 for a 3 course meal and only £3.95 for our famous eat as much as you want breakfast.Then of course we have 3 bars and entertainment venues hosted by our world famous Bluecoats providing everything from bingo to exceptional visiting cabarets including finalists from the X Factor and Britains Got Talent.Plus there is so much to see and do in the surrounding area and we feel that Southport Pontins is a great choice of venue for a great value and entertaining holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport
Pontins Southport Holiday Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pontins Southport Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.