We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and good nights sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Southport Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Southport Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Southport Central
Ocean Plaza | Marine Drive, Southport PR8 1RY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great value and good nights sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed on their £29 per room night deal. Very comfy rooms and beds, clean, all facilities faultless. All staff we met were excellent, especially breakfast waitress and reception. We stayed three nights and ate in twice for dinner, good food and value for money. Breakfast is self serve and waited combined, extra portions always offered by waiting staff. Disabled room was very good for our parents.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    201
    44
    11
    2
See reviews for
215
264
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Once you get used to the reservations system for Premier Inn Hotels there are some AMAZING bargains to be had if you can book in advance. I use Central for people attending leisure courses because there are great room rates, good parking, very close to the beach and Pier. The beach is literally across the road from the car park, and so is the Pier.

If you are wanting to have a good meal and enjoy a few drinks then you have the option of around 6 restaurants across the car park, ie 2 min stroll. If you have something special in mind then there are really good restaurants within a 5 min walk or the basic fare taxi ride if you don't want to drink and drive.

Lord Street and the shops are within easy strolling distance, as is Ocean Plaza which has many other larger stores. The main station is a 10 min walk.

There is a cinema, and bowling alley across the road also, and if you are a bird watcher then the Nature Reserve and the reclaimed beach are just for you. The Formby Red Squirrel Reserve is 15 mins maximum by car, as are all the golf courses.

The Premier Inn hotels are designed so that you know in advance what you are getting. Clean accommodation with wifi free for 30 mins or approx £3 for 24 hours.

I always find the Hotel staff brilliant, and have never once had an issue with their service or welcome and their attitude is always very helpful. The same cannot be said for the bar staff I'm afraid. Twice I have actually complained about the slow and lazy service.

The Travelodge opened a few months ago, and I used that once and very much doubt I would return unless the Premier Inn prices were high due to local events or golf matches - as even though you may save a few quid there is just NO comparison - the Premier Inn wins hands down.

If you make the staff aware of any issues then they do all they can to rectify them asap. I cannot on any occasion ever fault the reception staff in their dealings with me. The lift means that it is easy to get cases to rooms although occasionally if you are towards the rear of the hotel there may be 2 stairs to negotiate - so mention this to staff on arrival if you have a mobility issue.

I have to say that I have used this hotel for approx 16 people on 12 occasions in the last year or so and no one has complained about it being noisy - although I believe at weekends this has occasionally been an issue. I have never had any problems and I reserve more rooms than many.

I will continue to use this venue because I have tried so many of the other "Independent" hotels and been mortified by the poor quality and service, and this hotel means I have confidence I will have no problems with any reservations.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room or have a specific request then phone the hotel direct the morning you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

just came from another high rated hotel to stay here for one night and wow we were pleasantly surprised great hotel will come again,food and staff service was excellant,car parking a doddle and great location for all of southports amenities

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Little disappointed with the welcome we got on arrival, but overall a good welcome from everyone else. Breakfast was good and also the dinner we had the previous evening, was just as good. Little noisy on the corridors 1-2 am and early morning, 7.30 am, even though there are posters everywhere stating that you were entering a 'quiet zone' but outside noise was very good. Personal preference, would prefer more pillows in the rooms and more than 2 teabags for a 24 hour stay is needed please!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

we have booked this family room 3 times now. Good clean basics , all you need as a base with children, food , cinema, walks, shops. fair ground , train trips, pier etc.
All lovely. Would recomend to all

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This Premier Inn is as good as it gets in my book. We went to Southport a couple of weeks ago on other business, and used Premier Inn as a base. The Hotel is new, fresh and in a superb place to allow you to visit Southport. Huge FREE car park with is shared with several eateries, and a 10 pin bowling alley. The staff at Premier Inn were polite, and had an excellent knowledge of the surrounding area and attractions. On the Thursday night. we ate in the attached Brewers Fayre as it was pouring down outside. Excellent value ' Curries from throughout the world '. The wine was of a very good standard, and not overpriced. We will stop at this hotel again when visiting the local area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor to the rear of the property. I heard NO noise during the 2 night stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Seeing an 'Under New Management' sign outside, I ventured in for a pint - or two. Two girls serving behind the bar and two women ordering food and drink for their families. I waited 15 minutes for a pint of Lager (probably the most expensive in town). It took about 10 minutes to drink it before I made a sharp exit. It was the first time I had visited the Premier Inn/Brewers Fayre since I last wrote to you. Nothing has changed regarding 'bar service'.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Southport Central, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Southport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southport Central

Address: Ocean Plaza | Marine Drive, Southport PR8 1RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Southport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#4 Business Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Southport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel Southport
Travel Lodge Southport
Premier Inn Southport Central England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Southport Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.