We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havin Turkish Restaurant

Havin Turkish Restaurant
11-15 Coronation Walk, Southport PR8 1RD, England
01704547575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 239 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: $25 - $31
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Seriously Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Found this excellent restaurant by sheer chance. Good interesting Turkish food, cooked over an authentic charcoal firepit. Well presented generous portions and a good winelist. Reasonably priced with good mid week offers. Just sorry we don't live locally or we would be frequent visitors

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    37
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Yummy food but very quiet at the moment....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited for the first time in December. I loved the food and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We were the only ones in the restaurant as it is fairly new, so it seemed large and barren but we made our own atmosphere. I hope it does well and 'catches on' in Southport. I will definitely go back in the future.


    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Those who have travelled to and loved Turkey must visit, I've struggled to remember a better Turkish meal whilst there, those who haven't and are in dire need of a break from their "usual" restaurant or have fallen into a take away rut go and try the two course special and you'll be pleasantly surprised, if in doubt go for the Havin Special kebab, but banish all thoughts of what you know as a British "kebab", they are poles apart!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Very good, authentic Turkish food. Fresh ingredients, well presented and served with a smile. Good choice for vegetarians too. Just needs a few more customers to get the atmosphere right - and certainly deserves them. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It has potential to be a great place to eat.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our family visited on Christmas eve and although we had trouble booking elsewhere, Havin slotted us straight in. I think this is because it is new and not a lot of people know this restaurant as yet.

The menu seemed lovely and seeing the food being cooked over the coals is a great way to get the cooked fresh message across but my own meal was average.

I chose the Calamari starter which was not good at all. The rings were overcooked and had obviously been left to rest for a while as they were only warm and very chewy. I suppose in future, I would order something a little more Turkish!!!

My main was a mixed kebab dish which was lovely but while some was piping hot, other pieces were only warm and I think the left to rest principle comes in again here. It was very tasty though.

The staff were friendly and helpful although the service was slow seeing as though we were the only ones there.

I will try Havin again though, perhaps on a busier time when they are expecting crowds and maybe give them a little while longer to get the act together before my final judgement.

Oh, the toilets were very cold!!! The restaurant is welcoming and well appointed though!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havin Turkish Restaurant also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Havin Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havin Turkish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.