We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Metro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Metro
Save
You added The Metro to your Saves list
3 Portland Street, Southport PR8 1LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Southport B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Customer Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Don't make the mistake of staying in the big shabby old hotels in Southport - The Metro is a new small hotel just off Lord Street - it"s smart, modern, clean and best of all the customer service is second to none!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    16
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
29
55
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in room which overlooks the front terrace. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. It was very clean as it is pretty recently done. The bar is friendly and welcoming (although they could benefit from selling real ales) and the breakfast was lovely. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just had a 2 night stay at The Metro Hotel it was a very friendly and clean environment. The staff made us feel very welcome. The bedroom was beautiful and I would also recommend the cooked breakfast it was to die for. We will be booking again very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We found this hotel after being sensationally let down by the disgraceful Scarisbrick Hotel. We were greeted by not only friendly staff but it was clear that they enjoyed their job. They could not do enought for us and made us feel really valued.The food was delicious, the hosptitality was again above any standard that I have received before. The rooms and the internal decor were really tasteful, it was clear to see that the management had really thought everything through, the bed was really comfortable and the en suite was fab. The rooms although a little on the small side were comfortable, we slept above the bar but there was no loud noises. The outside of the hotel was lovely, and its a shame the weather was bad as the external seating area looked really inviting. I cannot recommmend this hotel enough, I cannot find any fault. The staff was superb, the food was exellent and the atmosphere was so friendly that I cannot wait to go again. The prices were also excellent and very competitive.

Room Tip: The restaurant and food were fantantasic, you would be hard pushed to better it any where in Southpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a gem of a find in central Southport close to Lord Street.
Having searched other hotels for a suitable location we were fortunate in coming across 'The Metro' which proved to be all and more than mentioned by previous guest's. The owners and their staff were welcoming and helpful and faultless in every sense.

We used the restaurant for breakfast and evening meal which were first class. This hotel is one that I have no qualms in recommending to others. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had room 4 and although front facing was spacious and a quite aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we have just had three nights at the metro,i wish we could have found it sooner,the staff are the best and very helpfull.the rooms are perfect ,we could not fault anything .we will return as soon as possible.c& j burgess..

Room Tip: we had room 8 very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was part of a group of friends who rode to Southport on our bikes. After a rather damp journey we were greated warmly by the staff and owners at the Metro. Our first experience was the bar which was very comfortable and inviting. After refreshments we were shown our rooms which we found to be lovely, nicely decorated, comfortable with good bathrooms. Once scrubbed up we went back down to the bar and sat at one of the outdoor table to take in the evening sun. Dinner followed and what a pleasant experience that was. The food and wine were excellent, presented well and cooked to perfection. After a good nights sleep we had a sumptuous breakfast before setting off once again on our bikes for home. To sum up, very good accommodation, brilliant food and lovely staff. What a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro

Address: 3 Portland Street, Southport PR8 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away at the trendy corner of King Street and Portland Street, just a stone’s throw from Lord Street, is Southport’s newest and most stylish place to eat, drink and sleep. Our Staff are welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. First class service in superb surroundings, combined with outstanding food, is of the upmost importance to us. Whether you visit us for a drink, for dinner or to stay in the hotel, our aim is to WOW you. Visit The Metro to experience it for yourself, we promise you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Metro Southport, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.