We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Richmond House Hotel

The Richmond House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Richmond House Hotel to your Saves list
The Richmond House Hotel
28 Bold Street, Southport PR9 0ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 35 Southport B&B and Inns
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shocking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I would not reccomend staying here. The staff are friendly but the downside is no-ones ever around for breakfast, There was advertised free parking but it was pay&display unless you wanted to walk a very rough area at night. They try and make you feel like your getting a deal by "upgrading your room" even though we booked an en-suite and then spent the last 3 nights in a grubby standard room. The beds are broken I cut my foot on a spring, The shower doesn't work properly in the en-suite or the hot taps in the room. Could definitely do with a makeover, would reccomend for drug addicts

Room Tip: choose somwhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    3
    5
    29
See reviews for
10
32
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed for one night and was impressed with the b/b hotel with my husband and 11 year old daughter . Rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was very nice , the hosts were very accommodating
If you are looking for a no frills hotel,in the center of southport just for a base , with a great hearty breakfast and very easy on the pocket this is the place to be.
Cheap parking across the main road is only £3 for 24 hours.You will need to take your own toiletries ,but what do you expect when the room costs are so low .
A Great basic budget hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Friendly, warm, well located, clean and incredibly cheap - what more could you wish for? Albeit the room was a bit small and dated but you just can't complain for that money. I'd return if I were to visit Southport again.

Does what is says on the tin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to go to my sister's 18th birthday in Formby for two nights in the heavy heavy snow.

It is in a great location, 5mins from train station, Lord Street, Ocean Plaza (filled with restaurants and cinema etc).

For £25 a night it was FANTASTIC!

It was lovely and toasty warm.

It was immaculately clean.

The bed was like sleeping on a cloud.

The linen was spotless and looked brand new.

Rik was really lovely and even brought breakfast up to our room because I was on a crutch.

Breakfast was lovely!!!

For £25 a night you really can't go wrong.

Yes there are little things like if people are noisy on the stairs or slam doors you can hear it (as in any hotel) but you can't hear people in the next room and we had people either side.

Yes it is basic-but what do you expect?? You're paying £25 a night, you get what you pay for but for £25 you get MORE than what you pay for!!!

It is plainly obvious that this place has been slated in the past by one group of people and one specific person who was expecting The Hilton (numpty!)

The parking wasn't an issue as they have their sister hotel round the corner and we parked there.

There is no way in the world anyone could say it was dirty, it was immaculate.

We saw no 'undesirables' in the area and if we had then so what? EVERYWHERE has different people in it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a wonderful warm welcome on arrival. We were shown to our rooms. we had booked 2 rooms one for myself and my mother and the other for a fiend and his son. On arrival they had changed our room to a family room which was closer to the ground floor a my mum has walking difficulties. The room was very spacious with a nice little en-suite, which was lovely and clean. The room was lovely and warm which was great as it was freezing outside as we had just had the first major snow of the year. The beds were extremely comfortable, better than some more expensive hotel beds i have slept in. The breakfast was lovely. Nice fried breakfast, fruit juice, tea or coffee, toast and cereal and the breakfast room was clean airy and bright. It was an absolute bargain. Located near the centre of Southport it was perfect for our stay. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great place to stay.The owner is very friendly,the rooms are very clean and tidy.Good breakfast and any requests you ask for are given.Would stay here again and would definitaly reccomend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Tidy bedrooms. friendly staff. easy to get about. 5 mins walk to the station and 5 mins to cinema. great place to stay will come back again one day. very cheap. breakfast is nice and is very close to some good restaurants

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richmond House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Hotel

Address: 28 Bold Street, Southport PR9 0ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Richmond House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Hotel Southport, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richmond House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.