We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wont be going again !!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Garden

Oriental Garden
11 - 13 Nevill Street, Southport PR9 0DE, England
01704 544033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 225 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine Dining Chinese Restaurant in Southport. Buffet available on Sundays. Our restaurant is child friendly, and is located between the Monument on Lord Street and the Marine Lake Promenade. Our friendly and efficient staff will be pleased to make your visit to Oriental Garden an experience to remember.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“wont be going again !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family of 10 visited this restaurant on the 1st sept for a leaving meal for my son. We prebooked our table we arrived on time at 7.30 in the evening we were seated right at the back of the restaurant. We all chose the all you can eat buffet for £14.99 per head the food was beautiful could not fault it at all but the service was terrible we felt as though we were being a nuisance to the staff from the minute we arrived the time between course was ridiculous the male staff tutted if we asked for more food and when they came to collect the menus they just came and pointed at them for us to pass them no manners whatsoever we wer more annoyed as this was a leaving meal for my son who has gone abroad to work so obviously we wanted it to be a memorable occasion but that was not the case we will never step foot in the place again !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    11
    12
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“STAY WELL CLEAR !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My family and i have always eaten here over the last 10 years.....but since the "takeover" weve been here twice and have noticed the difference. The quality and size of the portions has deteriated , the restaurant was freezing and only half lit , the restaurant was empty and lacking in atmosphere.We were rushed to eat and finish , the waiter/owner/manager seemed to me like a Chinese "Basil Fawlty".Ive read some of the positive reviews and wonder if they went to the same place as me !!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overseas Visitor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our family have been visiting this restaurant for years when it was the "Grand Palace" and the food had always been excellent with very good size portions. Since it came under new management and changed it's name to "Oriental Garden" we have noticed the prices steadily going up and portions being reduced. My daughter lives in Canada and each time she comes home a visit to the "Grand Palace now Oriental Garden" was a must. So on her recent visit we were all very much disappointed with the whole experience. Unhelpful waiter, half sized portions, lack of atmosphere. no wonder the restaurant was virtually empty. At this rate I wonder how much longer it will stay open for business. Very diappointed!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food great value - but rip off drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Buffet is really good value at £6.50 per head but drinks are a ridiculous price - £6.80 for three small cokes! We asked for a jug of tap water and were given a glass of water, we asked for three glasses of water - after asking twice it took our three year old grandson asking again before we got ONE glass! If they didn't charge so much we would have happily ordered more instead of asking for water. A lot of people were asking for water - you'd think the restaurant owners would get the message - then they would sell more and customers would be more satisfied. You can't fault the food except if they had hoi sin sauce and sweet chilli sauce available on the buffet it would be even better - and syrup for the lovely bannana fritters.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were not hungry enough for the buffet so we ordered from the set menu though having seen people keep ordering meals who were having the all you can eat offer seemed to be really good value

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Garden also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Oriental Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.