We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We choose the Royal Clifton because of the location and the view.We did not regret our decision.
The service was very good as were the rooms being spacious and confortable.Our Breakfast buffet had whatever one wanted.I very much liked the character of the building.

Room Tip: Get sea high sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    234
    142
    83
    71
See reviews for
131
314
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Picked Clifton solely on reviews and style of building, have to say we were not disappointed at all. The room was forward facing and the views were good, Blackpool tower on a clear day. It was spacious and well presented with plenty of storage space too boot , very clean and tidy, the 2 chairs were a good touch. Nothing worse than sitting on a bed. Loads of facilities on site though sadly the salon was shut for reburb so the wife was a little disappointed. Breakfast is buffet style with a good selection and very tasty. Overall an enjoyable stay and will definitely go back. someone commented on the rooms being quite warm, bathrooms have heated towel rails and ours was constantly on and extremely hot. This would be my only gripe.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife got married at the Royal Clifton on the 12th April 2014. I must start by saying every member of staff were incredible! They would break their necks to go the extra mile for you. The food we had in our wedding breakfast was delicious and so was the buffet food they provided in the evening reception. A special mention must go out to our wedding planners, Kelly and Sharon who were unbelievable in helping us have the most memorable wedding day! And a huge mention to Clifford who is a top, top man! We have no complaints with our room, they were perfect. Breakfast the next morning was really nice as well. If anyone is planning a wedding, I would say, seriously consider the Royal Clifton. You will be well looked after and you will have the most memorable day!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Having been here previously and was very impressed so we decided to have a short Easter break. The service at reception has been excellent and nothing was too much trouble. A lovely room, cleaned daily and very spacious. Reasonably priced drinks at the bar. Fantastic leisure facilities and a great base for lots to do in the surrounding area....like golf!! This has now become a firm family favourite......thank you!!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just returned from a lovely break, we even ended up staying a extra night as we're enjoying ourselves that much. Clifford and his wonderful reception team and bar team couldn't do enough for us they were all lovely and friendly with my little girl she didn't want to leave. Room lovely spacious and very clean, plenty of towels and storage space. Swimming pool lovely and clean and changing rooms kept very clean. Plenty of parking and things to do we are returning in May for another break carnt wait

Room Tip: Room 249 lovely and overlooks the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

over all i really enjoyed my stay at the Clifton the facilities were great had a relaxed morning in the spa area. food was good plenty on offer for breckast and survice was fast and prompt. The location of the Clifton was great as we did not have to use the car once we arrived as there were plenty of shops and cafebars to visit on foot lots to see and do and Southport is going threw a lot of rejeneration work and it truly look fantastic would recomend any one to stay at Clifton as they have weel chair access as well. i will be back there soon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed for one night, Thursday 10.4.2014. Got a freebie from my car insurance. The room was a little dated, however very spacious and clean. The bathroom was fine, plenty of hot water for the shower, lovely fluffy white towels. We had an adjoining small room with a single bed which was ideal to use as a dressing room. The weather was brilliant and this may have been the reason the rooms were a bit on the warm side. We did use the conservatory bar, really enjoyed a couple of toasted sandwiches late afternoon. The price charged for food and drinks we thought was reasonable for a hotel. You could get a three course evening meal in the conservatory bar for about 13 quid. We chose to have our evening meal and breakfast away from the hotel, however everything from fish and chip shops to fine dining was close by along with Lord Street for shopping. We really enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel Southport, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.