We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    233
    141
    83
    71
See reviews for
131
314
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Me and my partner stayed on valentines day night as I break, although we didn't eat or use the bars and restaurants at the hotel, I would like to say the room was excellent, clean and cosy.the bed was so comfy and I found the staff very friendly and helpful.me and my partner are hoping for another chance to come and have a romantic break very soon, pending babysitters.x

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have some fabulous Family rooms if you decide to bring your children on your next visit, we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Booked this hotel for a two night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Upon arrival, loads of parking space and very friendly staff. The hotel has an old world charm about it with high ceilings and tons of space. I love the feeling it gives. We had room 120 on first floor with a view to the front of the hotel. The room was well equipped. Got to say the peach bathroom suite was rather dated but was clean and very serviceable. Plenty of hot water in a decent shower over bath.
The room had a small seating area with separate tv, tea and coffee as you might expect and a very comfortable double bed. If you're used to a king size it might feel a squeeze though.
Breakfast fine, plenty of choice and not over crowded. Leisure facilities used, gym, pool etc..... just fine. Nice and clean....just the job.
Alcohol prices good in conservatory bar. All staff very helpful and competent.
The hotel is well placed forgetting into town, restaurants and bars all at hand, even Morrisons close by.
All in all a very relaxing stay in a grand old hotel.

Room Tip: Was quiet when we stayed so difficult to say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Royal Clifton Hotel I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it relaxing, I will certainly pass on your lovely compliments to the team and I do hope that you are able to come back and visit again very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Arguably the noisiest hotel in the world. The floorboards throughout the hotel are an absolute joke. I really can't express how noisy they are.

It's an extremely old fashioned and dated hotel, however it is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.

For the pirce, it's reasonable, just don't expect a good night's sleep.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Clifton Hotel. I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed I can assure you that if the staff were made aware of this they would have moved you immediately. The hotel does date back to 1800 and is full of character and the odd squeaky floor board and I am very sorry if this kept you awake. I am pleased that you found the staff helpful and I will pass on your compliments to them. Once again thank you for your comments.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

just used our Tesco coupons on a three night stay at this hotel. the first night we were very hot, and the tv in our room wasn't the best. we mentioned this at reception and they immediately offered to changed our room. nothing seemed to be too much trouble and we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. we found it to be warm ,clean, good food, lovely pool etc area. we certainly wound stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I was delighted to read that reception ensured that you stay was as comfortable as possible and I will certainly pass on your compliments to the team, we hope to see you again very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a great weekend at the Royal Clifton with my good friend Pat. The weather could have been better but the quality of the hotel stay was excellent. Large clean well maintained room, lovely leisure centre & fabulous food

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford haven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Overpriced for a poor quality experience. The noise in the corridors was excessive at night and the quality of breakfast was dreadful. Due to popularity of resort it is obvious the hotel does not need to keep high standards. Suggest using another hotel if you go to southport

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and you feel that our standards are not high. I can assure you that we do have many compliments regarding the team at the Royal Clifton who strive to ensure that guests enjoy their stay with us. I would be very happy to hear any further comments that you would like to share with me regarding your visit if you would like to email me andreab@royalclifton.co.uk I would be more than happy to discuss this further.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel Southport, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.